Little Lukes Childcare Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Little Lukes Childcare Center Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Little Lukes Childcare Center CEO Darci Powers (no image)
Darci Powers
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "The kids are great and a lot of days are fun(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication is not always the best between center directors, upper management and staff(in 5 reviews)

  • "I feel like the preschool rooms need new and better toys(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful Team & Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Little Lukes is an amazing place to work! The support from everyone on the team and the collaborative working environment is incredible. I love that we are always looking for ways to be better fo our children, families, and staff!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons; I love Little Lukes!!!!

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2019-05-13
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Preschool Teacher in Oswego, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good pay for certified teachers and therapists - kids are awesome - teamwork

    Cons

    - the hours are not flexible

    Advice to Management

    Employees are the backbone of the company, please treat them with empathy and more people may just want to stay

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2019-07-30
  3. "Little Lukes is wondeful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everybody is so nice and will have your back no matter what.

    Cons

    The system that we work with isn't as organized as it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome!

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2019-05-07
  4. "A lot of variety!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing Graphic Designer in Oswego, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable environment. Flexible schedule. A lot of variety in daily tasks.

    Cons

    I have no complaints. :)

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2019-05-06
  5. "Loved Kids, Hated Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute in Baldwinsville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Little Lukes Childcare Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my co-workers, the children, and their families. The thing that brought me back daily was being able to see their smiling faces, and being able to talk to their parents during drop-off or pick-up! I knew that my co-workers had my back, and would help with anything that arose in the classroom.

    Cons

    It felt like a "gotcha" job. Administration was uninformed, and did not provide any support in the classroom. We struggled often with students who threw chairs/toys at teachers and other students, hit and punched teachers, and were a general danger to the classroom environment. Administration did not provide any guidance with students like this, and unfortunately this happened often. Even when multiple... children and staff were injured, nothing was done and the student faced no consequences. I did not feel supported by administration, and often feared being fired for the smallest things. I was paid minimum wage, receiving ~30 hours a week which was nice. However, we had to purchase our own uniforms...If you require a uniform, you should provide them to employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be those who have been in the classroom before! Those who are speech therapists do not understand classroom management skills, and management needs to have a backbone and provide clear advise and guidance within the classroom.

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2019-05-16
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, flexible hours, fun environment

    Cons

    The office is a little cold :)

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2018-08-10

    Little Lukes Childcare Center Response

    May 6, 2019marketing/recruiting director

    Thank you for your 5-star review of Little Lukes! We are reviewing our HVAC systems for better control in the different office zones.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Special Education Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time

    Pros

    The pay was really good.

    Cons

    The management at Little Lukes is awful. I felt personally bullied by higher ups and never secure with my job.

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2018-08-23

    Little Lukes Childcare Center Response

    May 6, 2019marketing/recruiting director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your employment with Little Lukes. Please contact our Regional Director, Tim Alberts, so we can learn more about your thoughts. We take pride in our team of administrators and educators and welcome employee feedback.

  8. "Great Marketing Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Little Lukes Childcare Center

    Pros

    Good team, Flexible Schedule, Did a lot of content writing and marketing

    Cons

    not that fun of an office

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2018-05-22

    Little Lukes Childcare Center Response

    June 6, 2018marketing/recruiting director

    Thanks so much for your review. Appreciate the feedback. :)

  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time

    Pros

    The kids are pretty great.

    Cons

    The hours can be tough.

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2018-02-18

    Little Lukes Childcare Center Response

    March 5, 2018marketing/recruiting director

    We appreciate your review! Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree, the children are the highlight of our day as well! :) Being open 6:30am-6:30pm does have some challenges but also an opportunity for change if your family's schedule changes. Some staff are "openers" and ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Little Lukes Childcare Center full-time

    Pros

    - has great deal of potential - some very wonderful people

    Cons

    - poor organization - unresponsive administration - frequent payroll mistakes - nearly impossible to communicate with HR - gossip and rumors - inadequate staffing - inefficient filing systems - inconsistent policies across centers - mixed messages -poor communication - unclear directives - health insurance deductibles are unreasonable

    Advice to Management

    Regroup, reorganize, rethink.

    Little Lukes Childcare Center2018-02-21

    Little Lukes Childcare Center Response

    March 5, 2018marketing/recruiting director

    Thank you for the thoughtful feedback on our team at Little Lukes. We apologize you didn't find our team to be the right fit for you. We have shared your feedback with our executive team and HR staff to review. The employer contributions to health benefits for center-based staff ...

    Show More
Found 71 reviews