KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Livefyre

Is this your company?

Livefyre

Add a Review

Livefyre Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 37 reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Livefyre Founder & CEO Jordan Kretchmer
Jordan Kretchmer
28 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company! Phenomenal people

    Mar 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Incredibly cool and fun product - Warm family(like) environment - Honest and direct communication between departments and management to staff - Stunning office, beautiful rooftop deck, close to all methods of transportation - Scrappy and positive outlook by team members - Kitchen rivals Whole Foods in its food, coffee and snack options

    Cons

    - Normal day to day start- up struggles, with too many things to do and not enough time in the day. - Needs a more concise plan for career paths and advancement

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    5 of the best years of my life.

    Sep 4, 2015 - Director, Customer Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a bunch of people who truly cared for me, and that I will always truly care for. I had people give me a shot when nobody else seemed to want to. And not just a, "oh, we feel sorry for that poor guy...here, sit in a corner, handle this mundane task, don't screw anything up, and we'll pay you a bit." It was a very BIG shot, one that has laid an incredible foundation for my career, and one that I thank the good Lord above for very often. I have people who are still interested and invested in my success, even after I've moved on. There will always be an indescribable amount of love and appreciation for my time with Livefyre. Through 5 years of crazy start-up life, I gained new family members. What more do I need to say? Oh I guess I could say one more thing. The health benefits are incredible. I caught a pretty gnarly case of rhabdomyolysis after an endurance event and was admitted to the hospital for several days. The amount it cost in total, and the amount I'm actually paying after insurance is borderline comical. So, the medical benefits are legit, if you were wondering.

    Cons

    I will always mourn the death of Free Willy Fridays. Those things were absolutely magical in their prime, but no Orcinus orca lives for ever. Not even my man Willy. Ask the OGs that witnessed it in its heyday, though. It was the real deal. With that said, it is my conviction that Waffle Wednesday will always be magical, though. Holly's waffle game is strong.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Exciting company with great people and technology

    Jan 5, 2015 - Sales Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been in the workforce for a while.. over 15 years. And have been at some awful startups. This is not one of them. As a sales person, I had a great time, was not micromanaged (lots of autonomy) and had a great product to sell. I made some good money and worked with some of the best people ever. So take previous reviews with a grain of salt. If it was bad, I would definitely sound off. It was not. This is no B.S. review. I was there for over a year and a half and just recently left for my own reasons. But I had a great time at Livefyre and would recommend it to any sales exec. On to the Pros: - Incredible platform - Collaborative, smart workforce. Truly friendly people willing to help you close deals - Hot company. Yes, it's not all perfect, but this company (I believe) will exit successfully - Great office, good food

    Cons

    - Lead gen.... Guys, hire more lead gen reps right friggin now! Hopefully you've already done this. It's all about top of the funnel. - CEO.. We know you're busy spreading the word, but spend more time in the office in 2015 - Hiring.. Sometimes hiring is rushed at Livefyre. Focus on hiring the right fits, especially in management roles.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Industry leading technology, Cutting edge work environment....

    Sep 11, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a cutting edge start up environment, with a product that is clearly an industry leading technology. Here are is a list of benefits to a role with Livefyre: 1. Company culture is amazing and it's documented in and article from San Francisco Business Times that has ranked it a top place to work in the Bay, two years running. 2. Industry leading platform that has the largest companies/brands in the world intrigued and lining up 3. Executives have given the sales teams an incredible boost to commissions with incentives on closing business, as the company has grown. 4. Extremely well run support team that ensures happy clients and significant partnership growing opportunities. 5. Sales support is solid - top notch sales architects with the skills to creatively find solutions to client need 6. A product that everyone needs, plenty of low hanging fruit for territory penetration

    Cons

    This is a start up, a company that has tripled in size in the last 2 years. So the cons are likely areas where employees have a loud voice to participate and solve the problem. Having experience with a number of start ups, the logistics of supporting field teams is primary and Livefyre is really good at the organizational part. Know that the cons are normal for an extremely fast growing company, and the folks are heard on how to improve.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It's a place to work.....

    Feb 22, 2015 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at livefyre for a year and some change. I had a great time. Fantastic engineers, active learning environment, all the blah blah blahs that you get in startuplandia.... You can learn a great deal here and there's still some good people left, but things have and are a changin'....

    Cons

    I'm not going to go agro or list a bunch of things that are wrong, but there are. Long story short there is no "culture" here anymore, and there is no loyalty. The company and moreover CEO are in "buy me" mode and so are doing whatever they feel is necessary to attain that. You will be told you are irreplaceable one day and be gone the next these days. It's sad, especially to watch a bunch of people (20 - 30 in the past couple of months) who gave their heart and soul to the org and the job get dropped no notice, and to "save money" Immediately after a huge funding round. Eh, these are rich men playing rich men games. No matter how much they preach about whatever the heck it is they are preaching about goals, values, culture, etc. It means nothing. Know this.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rocket Ship is Taking Off!

    Jul 8, 2015 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at Livefyre for several months now and have intentionally held off on leaving this review to give the company a thorough amount of time on which to base this review. In short, I actually really love coming to work everyday. In the last several months, senior leadership has brought on a new sales leader and product leader. Both of these people are AMAZING! And, they just brought on a CMO that everyone is really excited about. The right leadership team is in place; I truly believe that. The people at Livefyre are great. Across the board, everyone is just really nice. Yes, very smart, blah blah, but the fundamental piece for me is how nice, respectful and team oriented folks are. And, I've found management to be highly approachable and easy and enjoyable to be around. The product is amazing. The marketplace loves it, it's fun and strategic to talk about and the roadmap is out of control amazing. In summary, I just thoroughly enjoying working at this company.

    Cons

    We are too male heavy in sales and engineering.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Will the real Office Manager please stand up?

    Apr 8, 2015 - Office Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am the current Office Manager at Livefyre HQ in SF. The review posted on March 26th 2015 was not written by me. Since Glassdoor users are trolling Livefyre's page, some of them pretending to be me (not cool -__-) I feel compelled to write a review of my experiences at Livefyre. The office is a wonderful place to work, not just because of the way it looks, or our amazing kitchen, but because I have smart, hilarious, and professional co-workers that I enjoy spending time with in and out of the office. I feel adequately compensated, I have excellent benefits, awesome perks, and most importantly feel valued and respected as a member of the team.

    Cons

    The company is going through a growth spurt and change is difficult for some. Not everyone is in agreement with some decisions our executive team has made. However, I feel the execs have been honest and transparent throughout the process. We have weekly all-hands meetings where we are informed about decisions, our questions and feedback are heard, and we are even given reports with statistical data showing why we're making certain changes!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Past the point of no return

    Jan 20, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Livefyre is great at attracting likable and fun characters, in fact that's the entire interview process. No questions asked will determine your merit or degree of talent, but more that you're going to fit in and not ask any real questions. So if you can ham it up you'll surely get a seat. Fun and incredibly expensive parties Rooftop is cool

    Cons

    When I joined the company it was soaring, but I knew it wouldn't last. There was no strategy or development plan to grow the business, just sell product. Sell, sell, sell. Sell to anyone, everyone. At first it was very encouraging, wow we're making money and getting funding and moving into a new building! A staggeringly huge and expensive floor at the very top, with uncomfortable but sleek looking furniture. Nobody liked it, it was too bright and hard-edged, all the rooms are completely glass so there's no privacy to speak of anywhere. The developers complained about the lights and the CEO held an all-hands meeting where he yelled at everyone for being ungrateful, saying that they're the most expensive lights money can buy! Long story short the company tanked after some things nobody can talk about (NDA), with no backup plan the CEO calls everyone together and starts crying. Crying. He failed, and he knew it. But he had no plan-b, his answer was to be belligerent. And if you were one of the people who didn't fall for his schtick you had a big fat target painted on your forehead.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fast, challenging problems, a place to thrive

    May 30, 2014 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been for several years now. It's the best place I've worked. The growth has been radical, and the technology challenges increasingly fall into the "computationally hard" category, which you rarely see in practice; or, you go some place so big they're already solved. In that, it's professionally demanding. That kind of work, even for the brightest, requires a professional approach and the team expects you to rise to the occasion, because they have as well. But people are always willing to help; it's a strong team ethic. In all that, it's fun. It's a young vibrant company where people are witty, caring, funny, and genuinely helpful. You'll make genuine friends.

    Cons

    The people who thrive at Livefyre are driven and passionate about doing something interesting. They're excitable. They have professional standards and ethics. And Livefyre is a not simply a paycheck and good place to play ping-pong (which it is good for both), but it's a vehicle to something awesome. You're already awesome, but you know you can be even more awesome. If you're just looking for a job with a timecard, a SOP, effusive pats on the back, or to be told what to do, it's not the right place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An amazing mix of tough challenges, great people, and stratospheric growth

    Jun 23, 2014 - Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The perfect workplace doesn't exist. That said, Livefyre comes as close as is likely possible. The work environment is intellectually challenging (in a good way) every day. We are solving tough problems technically, and we get to operate a platform at a level of scale that few companies achieve. The environment is scrappy and fun, and the people who are here truly strive to make the environment, technology, and products second-to-none. The customer base has growth tremendously, and competitors have fallen by the wayside due to the hard work of everyone across the organization. Livefyre has a "all customers should be happy customers" mantra, and this shows in our customer and employee retention.

    Cons

    As I stated in the "Pros", the perfect workplace doesn't exist. The following "Cons" are minor in the scheme of the tremendous positive aspects of Livefyre. The speed at which the company operates can be challenging for some. There have been periods of work/life and leadership imbalance during periods of rapid growth. We have the occasional episode of start-up immaturity as leadership continues to mature. Goal-setting for employees has been hit or miss at times, but has gotten consistently better.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

Work at Livefyre? Share Your Experiences

Livefyre logo
or