LivingSocial "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

LivingSocial Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Mar 13, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
39%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
LivingSocial President and CEO Gautam Thakar
Gautam Thakar
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Merchants did not understand their responsibilities(in 49 reviews)

  • "No common sense from upper management on how to run a business(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sr Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    I Am Loyal, Hard Worker But A Smart Worker A Try Hunter in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LivingSocial for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get to work from home, great product, social media is hot in the world

    Cons

    The new structure that the company changed to is not working

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2015-05-22
  2. "Great company, minor flaws!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LivingSocial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, great co-workers and growth potential. Flexible work hours, great bosses and fun atmosphere. You get to really get close to your co-workers and they welcome new ideas.

    Cons

    Lack of accountability. Co-workers can be very childish. Managers need to grow up; Workforce is too young. The company is going downhill.

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2017-03-14
  3. "Grow Grow Grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LivingSocial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun faced paced work from home environment.

    Cons

    Grew too fast, wasted $, it all blew up.

    LivingSocial2016-12-18
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Bringing back the boom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LivingSocial for more than a year

    Pros

    LivingSocial cares. You see a lot of old media, but working here has been the best move for my career and future. Through all of the changes, I have been given opportunities and new responsibilities I would never have been given before. If you asked me a few years ago if I would be where I am today, I couldn't have imagined it. The culture has taken a great turn from where it was, and I a feeling the team spirit in ways I haven't seen. The communication has been great and improving, transparency has been very apparent, and the senior team is very engaged with their teams now...way more than ever before. We have regular team standups, biweekly all hands, and regular emails from the company. Beyond day to day life, the work life balance is great. I have ability to work from home if I need to and the benefits and choices for healthcare are fantastic. The best thing about LS though is definitely the people. I love my team, my manager and my colleagues. Coming to work is fun. The turnaround has been amazing in the last 2 years.

    Cons

    Sometimes, I feel like I have taken on too much new responsibility. Exhaustion sets in every once in a while.

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2016-07-27
  5. "Business development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Account Manager in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LivingSocial for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home. Set your own hours. Work with local businesses. Corporate in DC and not where I live.

    Cons

    Micro manage a lot. Set goals that you can't reach

    LivingSocial2016-09-13
  6. Helpful (7)

    "DyingPrivate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LivingSocial full-time

    Pros

    Free snacks, ping pong, flexible schedules, and working from home.

    Cons

    CEO is incompetent and should swap out his casual jeans and sweaters for a black hooded cloak and scythe. He is the most un-inspirational leader you could ever meet. He and his senior leadership team are hacks and some have been promoted from within instead of bringing in proven legitimate C-level VPs from the outside to right the ship. This "Senior Leadership Team" at LS has been encouraging talented people to leave for the last year to make their continued layoff numbers not look quite as bad. In the end the only "transparency" is what they are trying to do, which is strip everything down and sell off. Why would anyone invest in or buy this hemorrhaging failure of a company?

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2016-03-22
  7. "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LivingSocial

    Pros

    Team is extremely tight-knit. Work from home options for some. Reasonable base salary. 401K, health care, commuter benefits.

    Cons

    For a national company, the LivingSocial name is not a household name brand. Sales goals have gone up to an unachievable number. Challenging is great! But unachievable is demotivating. No job security; layoffs yearly.

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2015-12-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "An Elaborate Game of Telephone Disguised as Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LivingSocial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Fun People, Smart Engineering Group

    Cons

    As my description says, the work there for the day-to-day employees is generally that of what message has been transferred from one manager to the next and how that message has been changed along the way. There is no clear direction to how the company is going to exactly move forward besides "innovate". All the goals are completely nearsighted in a way that with every decision made, it will sacrifice some of the customers and their relationships in the process. Continually doing so will leave them with no one left. As far as innovation, its more trying to come up with the next big thing, constantly shifting engineering to focus on the latest and greatest rather than shoring up what they currently have. They have hired senior managers to essentially muddy the water more, not delivering real results while the people doing real work suffer by being laid-off. There is no accountability for those on the higher pay spectrum, in particularly the senior staff.

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2016-01-07
  9. "Great money and freedom, but unstable company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LivingSocial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    outside sales rep- freedom from working from home and setting your own hours, able to make 6 figures easily.

    Cons

    Unstable company. Also daily deals are not as popular as they once were, so it's a harder sell.

    LivingSocial2015-10-30
  10. "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LivingSocial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility, opportunity to make a lot of money, work from home

    Cons

    CEO doesn't seem to know what he is doing. Communication between depts is terrible. Company doesn't know what direction to go in and does not have an identity.

    Continue reading
    LivingSocial2015-10-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews