Lloyd's Register Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Lloyd's Register CEO Alastair Marsh
Alastair Marsh
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance (at least 5 words)(in 70 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good pension, attractive flexible working, pleasant office environment at Southampton GTC, global network within LR(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, learning experiences, training

    Cons

    Global and industry uncertainty contribute to volatile market.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good company with long history and strong culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, safety first culture, listen to employee opinions.

    Cons

    UK staff seems having more advantages. Annual pay adjustment is minimal, not enough to cover healthcare cost increase.

    Continue reading

  3. Helpful (7)

    "Buy a company, cronyism occurs, business bought falls apart, rinse and repeat"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Manager and Product Owner in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hmmm....good benefits maybe? Other than that...can't think of any.

    Cons

    A company who believes they should exist because they are "Lloyd's Register", but they are irrelevant to customers. Leadership in London does not understand this. if it was a publicly traded company, it would go out of business.

    Continue reading
  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (6)

    "Opportunity to do better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDS Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with, ok benefits

    Cons

    Not doing enough to maje accomoddations for working from home during difficult times and then waiting until last minute to make adjustems or to simply allow us to work from home where we have abilityy.

    Continue reading

    Lloyd's Register Response

    March 27, 2020HR

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us, we love to see that you enjoy working with good people. We know that right now we are working in unprecedented and fast-moving times. We have never faced a challenge like this before and we are following all the advice from governments and health organisations around the world because our priority is to keep our people safe while continuing to provide the safety-critical support that enables our clients to continue to operate their essential assets, services and infrastructure. Governments are needing to act incredibly fast and we complying with their requirements, and in many areas, our actions have been proactive and in advance of the government advice. We are doing the best we can and we are working together with all our colleagues to keep them safe, while continuing to undertake the essential work that our clients expect and society needs. Your feedback will really help us keep improving, so please join in on our ELT Q&A calls and get involved in discussions on Yammer. People are at the heart of what we do and we want to do everything we can as work through this difficult time together. If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to come to us. My email is claire.desouza@lr.org. Claire

  5. Helpful (1)

    "You Get Out What You Put In"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor in Westbrook, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Teams have a great culture and cohesion.

    Cons

    Large organization that is driven by utilization. Top-down implementation of culture is missing, and managers are often defensive when receiving soft-skills feedback. Departments are silos and cross-selling could improve.

    Continue reading

    Lloyd's Register Response

    March 6, 2020HR

    Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We love the pros you have shared about our teams having great culture and cohesion, that is really good to hear. We are disappointed that you feel our culture isn’t being implemented from the top, this is feedback we will review and learn from. A great culture with positive leadership behaviours is really important to us, and we will certainly consider better ways to deliver feedback to our managers. We want to improve collaboration across our teams and we are working hard to improve this, but change can take time. It would be great to discuss your feedback in more detail so can keep improving working life for our people. Please feel free to reach out to me at anytime, my email is emma.worsley@lr.org. Emma

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Client Services Team Lead"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Team Lead in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse, Empowered, Respectful, Different, Challenging

    Cons

    Too hierarchical Too many processes Managing different timezones to get something done Software developers have developed systems that are not practical for service delivery work Hardware that are too old

    Lloyd's Register Response

    January 31, 2020HR

    Thank you for leaving a review and sharing your feedback with us. It is great to see your positive points about LR. We can understand your frustrations with processes and systems. We have invested significantly in new technology and processes to enable LR to be a strong and sustainable business but we understand that it can take time for this change to come into effect especially during these transition periods. We hope you have completed View, our employee opinion survey, as these results are reviewed by our leadership team who take actions against the concerns raised. We want to create a good environment for our people so your opinion is important to us. If you would like to discuss these concerns further please feel free to reach out to me directly or to your local area HR lead, my email is claire.desouza@lr.org. Claire

  7. Helpful (7)

    "Worst place to work LRBA"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lloyd's Register

    Pros

    There aren't any pros at this company

    Cons

    Management doesn't listen to the employees. There is favoritism especially with the manager. Unhealthy working conditions. Not a good place to work. The benefits are average. They have to give 12 sick days because they work you to being sick. In want there b very long and I don't regret leaving, your setup to fail. The gossip and talking about each other is the worst.

    Continue reading

    Lloyd's Register Response

    January 31, 2020HR

    Thanks you for leaving a review, we appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to see you haven't enjoyed your time with us. You have raised a number of issues such as management and the benefits we offer and we would like to address them. Colleague opinion is important to us, and so we hope you have completed View (our employee opinion survey) where we address the concerns raised by our people. Our culture is really important to us which is why we have our Be the Change programme which is designed to challenge thinking and improve our culture. We also aim to offer competitive packages for our colleagues, and when we can, to enable our colleagues to share in our success through payment of a bonus. I can see you have left the business now but if you would like to chat this through in more detail please feel free to reach out to me, my email is claire.desouza@lr.org. Claire

  8. "Great Employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, work-life balance is promoted. Wellness program has renewed focus. Industry leading benefits.

    Cons

    Minor disconnects between parent company (UK) and regional offices.

    Lloyd's Register Response

    January 30, 2020HR

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We really appreciate your positive comments and it is great to see you feel you have great colleagues and a good work life balance. We will take on board your comments about disconnects between our London office and the regional ones. We hope you share your feedback in View, our employee opinion survey, as our executive leadership team review the results of this on a regular basis and create actions from it to address the issues raised. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to reach out to me anytime, my direct email address is claire.desouza@lr.org. Claire

  9. Helpful (6)

    "LR has too many managers to succeed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lloyd's Register full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are slow to roll out changes so you have time to prepare for what's coming ahead. The benefits package meets the industry standard.

    Cons

    LR seems to be so big that they can't get out of their own way. They acquire small, nimble companies and let them languish in limbo until their customers go elsewhere, often to companies founded by former employees.

    Continue reading

    Lloyd's Register Response

    January 30, 2020HR

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We work hard to offer competitive packages and are glad to see you feel they meet the industry standard. We understand the importance of change which is why we have invested significantly in new technology, new businesses and processes to enable LR to be a strong and sustainable business for the future. It can take time for this change to come into effect in a global business such as ours. We understand that this has had an impact on our teams, however your feedback will help us continue to improve. I can see you have left now left LR now, but if you would like to discuss this further please feel free to reach out to me anytime, my direct email is claire.desouza@lr.org. Wishing you all the best for the future. Claire.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good support and benefits"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lloyd's Register full-time

    Pros

    good work life balance and benefits

    Cons

    senior management going through transition

    Lloyd's Register Response

    December 18, 2019HR

    Thank you for leaving a review! It's great to see that you enjoyed a good work life balance and the benefits whilst you worked for us. Our business has seen a period of change over the past year as we responded to challenging market conditions which unfortunately did have an impact on our employees. We really appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best for the future. Claire

Found 422 reviews