Local Motors Reviews | Glassdoor

Local Motors Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
34%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Local Motors CEO John B. Rogers, Jr. (no image)
John B. Rogers, Jr.
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Remember It's A Start Up. Know what you're getting into. Educate yourself."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Local Motors full-time

    Pros

    Lots to do, lots of changes, lots of inspiring, smart people work here. The leadership works insanely hard, although not many people recognize that.

    Cons

    Cons- team members (current and former) who are misinformed, gossipy, and overall negative like to spread the negative. They lack the education and ability to look above their pay grade and do not recognize that there is, in fact, a lot of strategy and hard work going on behind the scenes throughout the entire C-suite team (most never truly take a break and work far more than anyone can see and definitely don't... receive the appreciation they should).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This advice is to those who have moved on or are considering finding a new job (as so many posts from former employees seem to imply is happening) talk to the RIGHT people. Talk to people who know the strategy. Accept the fact that you are in a start up and there are going to be a lot of changes, a lot of hard pushes and that we have an opportunity to do something great here. The recent refocus and restructuring may... not be the last of the changes. Can you accept that? If not, that's okay. This is a HARD job. But don't force your negative views onto the rest of the team and is ready to buckle down and get the work done. Management- It's okay to let your team know when there is struggle. They appreciate transparency and will respect you more if they feel they are in the know.

    Show More
    Local Motors2017-02-10
  2. "Fun, fast paced, aggressive timing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Local Motors full-time

    Pros

    They value their employees, endless opportunities to work on a broad spectrum of tasks decent benefits. Leaders in 3D printed vehicles. Working on the edge of technology. Great place to learn a lot, in a short period of time.

    Cons

    Usual small company issues in a start up phase. Formal communication not always timely. Systems and methodologies change more frequently then longer established companies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward. Consider 401k matching.

    Local Motors2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Won't allow friends or family members to go to work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to keep getting other people's money and never make a profit

    Cons

    No communication from top and constantly changing near term goals that can never be achieved

    Local Motors2019-06-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxon Hill, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, pto, fun place, staff.

    Cons

    Company does not have a clear direction on where they want to go or product to make.

    Local Motors2019-05-03
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Happy every day that I took the leap and moved on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation for some members, good pay, brand is well known and mas made cool products in the past.

    Cons

    Boring products, a toxic management team, engineer bashing and an irresponsible HR department. Since moving on from Local Motors I have witnessed and enjoyed a new world of opportunity. I have learned that other companies value employees and the development of employees, hire nice, talented leaders as managers with years of experience and focus on developing products. Work gets done smoothly and effectively, work... is enjoyable and not something to dread. Local Motors problems center with the management of the company, they hire many egotistical managers that are new to automotive management and make decisions within the company without the advice of engineers. This leads to LM to develop buzzword products without releasing them in a workable state. Management made poor choices to acquire or develop hardware which led to under performance because decisions are based on how good the products look, not how they function or the real-world effectiveness. This way of operation has led to some long-term consequences for Local Motors and some of its employees. This company does not celebrate its engineers or development, they are viewed as replaceable entities and not assets. As a result, engineering has zero say in the development of products, receives very little help towards the development of products in terms of any resources. Engineers are lured in, chewed up and spit out. Every team seemed hostile toward engineering during my time at the company. HR defended themselves and the upper management. Certain upper employees were untouchable and could get away with anything they wanted including hostility, harassment, rumor spreading and general workplace bulling. HR was incompetent, always turned their backs and isolated themselves (literally by the way they arranged their desks) to concerned employees. Many lower level HR employees have moved on to better things. Luckily, the global automotive industry is small so word spreads quickly about particular employees, especially in the management side, to avoid. Many lower level employees that have moved on have helped develop some ground breaking products across many industries. It is only a matter of time before they flip the switch again to something completely different automotive buzzword to appease investors, go for another round of funding and repeat the process in its entirety. This process can only be stopped by removing upper management, decreasing the number of management positions and bring in a few talented leaders from the automotive industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    During my tenure I was unfortunately stuck in a period where there were too many chefs and a few Indians. There were so many employees and forms of management that they took lavish retreats leaving the company abandoned. It looks like some key members of upper management have been forced to move on, which is a good thing and it is showing, the company seems to be getting better.

    Local Motors2019-04-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Changed in 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company was very employee friendly and the vast majority of the employees were as close as family. We did many non-work activities together during off work hours.

    Cons

    The main direction of the company changed randomly. When I started we were building the second generation of the rally fighter. During my employment we moved to 4 different main goal ideas and never reached any of them.

    Local Motors2019-02-26
  7. Helpful (8)

    "It's not a start-up; they've been around for 10 years and they're still lost."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time

    Pros

    The unlimited vacation is definitely a big perk. The people are awesome! I worked with some really good people who I'm still friends with and talk to after leaving.

    Cons

    The management has no idea what they're doing. They are in over their heads. Everyone who is in a managerial position has never been trained and don't have any prior experience for the positions they hold. Which explains why they keep on promising these insane deadlines and promises, due to their lack of knowledge. Local Motors has always over promised and under delivered no matter what we say. It's almost like they... don't learn from their previous mistakes. Also they refuse to listen to anyone who wants to help and improve. If you speak up to raise concern it's seen as an attack against the company or the CEO. I was told plenty of times to keep my mouth shut even though I was just asking to learn about the strategy that management had planned. Speaking of which you never get to see the plan for production, no matter how many times it was promised to be sent out or shown to the company for the last 2 years. You would expect more from a company that's been around for 10 years, not sure how it's survived this long! Thanks to our one and only "secret" investor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to your employees. They want to know the what's going on, but time and time again the employees have been lied to and mistreated. Stop with the bs, own up to what you have and maybe hire people who actually know what they're doing.

    Local Motors2019-03-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time

    Pros

    Great Team, very knowledgeable in the field

    Cons

    Management has unrealistic goals and time frames

    Advice to Management

    Engineers know more about materials than "managers"

    Local Motors2018-03-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by some amazing people

    Cons

    Job description didn’t match the reality of the job

    Advice to Management

    Don’t promise things you can’t deliver on.

    Local Motors2017-11-04
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Still FAKING it. But not so fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay isn't bad. They made a couple real products.

    Cons

    Read the other reviews and you will not believe that anyone with money to invest would spend it on such an unorganized company with no sensical plan to develop and manufacture a safe, working product. They have spent nothing on safety or quality & reliability testing. If they could produce the little busses, someone is likely to be injured or worse. The vast majority of the engineering and assembly staff is long... gone and the management staff is mostly made up of inexperienced opportunists that are way over their heads.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give back the investment funds that remain and get back to work at real companies that have a workable plan and obtainable goals.

    Local Motors2017-11-06
Found 42 reviews