Local Motors Reviews | Glassdoor

Local Motors Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Local Motors CEO & Co-founder John B. Rogers, Jr. (no image)
John B. Rogers, Jr.
35 Ratings
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Don't waste your time!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time

    Pros

    Very few since the company has changed direction. Pros used to include: Vacation Time, fun work environment.

    Cons

    First and foremost, everyone who has ever worked for LM knew what they were getting into. To the poster below who tried to reiterate the fact that LM is a start up.... NO KIDDING!!!! EVERY employee who has ever signed on to work for the company... they understood that they were getting into a "start-up", they understood that a "start-up will have growing pains... They understood that changes happen...Local Motors starting going down hill when they lost the family mentality and moved to a team mentality. As soon as the company got bigger than 100 people, the leadership started caring less about their people and more about how they could profit themselves. It says a lot about the company when there isn't a SINGLE employee left who has worked there from the beginning. (Excluding the CEO) -Some left on their own, some were asked to leave, some left and came back and some were let go with nothing more than a pat on the back. Nothing like giving 5, 6, 7, 8 + years of your life to a company, that you believed in, only be laid off and given nothing in return. The company is putting all of its eggs into the "Olli' basket. They want to move their headquarters to a city that they won't be able to pay their employees to live in. A city where the cost of living is so high, that it is crazy to think how they will pay their mortgage let alone the salaries of those who work there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop biting off more than you can chew. Start caring about the few people that are left.. After speaking with quite a few of the employees that were recently let go... it is apparent that you never cared for those that you fired. They were just minions doing the dirty work to get you where you needed.

    Local Motors2017-02-15
  2. Helpful (20)

    "Fun, interesting concepts without the business savvy (or PLAN) to execute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As mentioned in several other reviews (accurately), the pay was good and the vacation policy was great. The place was very light on adult supervision, and that could be a blessing, but was ultimately a curse.

    Cons

    I was one of the 40-50 people laid off a few weeks back. Essentially, the company is running out of money and the angel investors who have always floated the company told the CEO that enough is enough. Time to slash and burn, which they sure did. In recent years, the company was never even close to profitable. In fact, there was hardly any revenue at all. Looking at it objectively, this company had strong marketing and PR, but simply didn't have the talent (in many areas) to literally get vehicles built and sold. It's hard to run a business without a product.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    So much has been said in recent reviews, and while opinions differ on who, exactly, is to blame for the demise of Local Motors, the ultimate responsibility lies with the CEO. His vision for the company -- small-batch micro manufacturing, 3D-printing in vehicle production, using co-creation to bring vehicles to market -- does not work. It has been proved over and over several times for the past eight years. It's a flawed concept, and that's why the company can't get a large institutional investor to ramp up operations. They know the "plan" doesn't make money. My advice to the CEO, other execs and employees left is to cut bait before the ship is completely submerged. The employees who remain are spending more time looking for a job than they are working.

    Show More
    Local Motors2017-02-07
  3. Helpful (20)

    "All The Things That Mattered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shop Manager in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors for more than a year

    Pros

    LM was a very trendy place to work

    Cons

    Lacks leadership, direction, a plan. During investor summits we were forced to lie and rely on smoke and mirrors to fool people into giving us money. 44 million is what we raised during one of the summits I witnessed. When Jay said he was going to sell his 3d printed car to the public by 2016 I'd had enough. The car was a rolling guillotine. When we built the first few of them at trade shows in front of a live audience we always had a double behind the curtain. At SEMA I was told if anyone asks to say we are a tech company that specializes in designing building and selling vehicles. This was a total lie. The same thing should be said about The Olli. It's a self driving bus that needs a driver holding a remote similar to an x box controller to operate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in snake oil

    Local Motors2017-02-06
  4. Helpful (23)

    ""Its a Startup Financial Machine""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You just have to show up to work, agree with the CEO and CMO's vision and collect a paycheck, its that simple. If you get in the right department and become a high level employee, you dont even have to show up to work! its awesome! The culture and mission of the company attracts some very, very talented employees that are placed into regular positions. The work life balance is great except during tradeshow and investor summit time. You have unlimited vacation so whats not to dislike except for the massive layoffs that happen every five years or so?!

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything started to go bad around November of 2013, when our CEO pushed Local Motors from being a “crowd sourced” company to a “co-creation” platform. a year earlier we lost our awesome co-founder/ head of sales and later our head of marketing, soon after we lost all of our "top tier" talent and stopped major production of the Rally Fighter. The company stopped listening to the public and began to listen to a chosen set of a select few people who know nothing about how to make, design, manufacture and sell vehicles. We opened a new factory in a bad location, our CEO absorbed an outside marketing agency (and CMO) that led a “fake it till you make it” strategy and we stopped building real-world products in order to ride of the tech bubble with the hype of 3D printed vehicles, something we knew nothing about. Post 2014, the company started to get set up for one specific purpose, to WOW investors; from the people/equipment they hire to partners they choose to work with. The company is a startup financial machine; they constantly claim that they are a start-up in order to attract more interest from investors. Every couple of years they re-brand the entire company and change internal strategy based on what the top buzzword of the tech industry search engine is for that particular era. A constant re-branding needs a large marketing department, so this company has a big one and it is run by a very unique CMO (who is very effective at the "fake it" thing). I wont get into the details as the other reviews showcase the CMO and marketing department well. The engineering department is the second most important department as it is responsible for the prototype vehicles. With the way the company is structured, engineering is bypassed and the CEO/CMO gets to publish what is happening in product development, this is a problem. Other figureheads and departments publish information relating to vehicles weight, performance, range, level of autonomy right out of thin air and push this out to the real world. This can be very frustrating when you are an engineer and have to try and meet already published, what looks to be factual, information. There is complicated by the additional problem in that engineers do not have access to the budget or set parameters necessary to accomplish the simplest of tasks (like a widely used CAD program and a standardized sheet format). As an engineer you get to be an overqualified mechanic that gets to assemble prototype vehicles in a short period of time; its fun work but not proper. Local Motors rides off the coattails of other companies and there is little, if any groundbreaking research and development relating to the technology/autonomous/additive manufacturing sector being done in house. In summary, you get to make vehicles that appear to function properly, heavy emphasis on the "appear" part. As an assembler, fabricator or technician your job is to support engineering when the time arises to make another buzzword prototype vehicle. This can mean very long hours, time away from family and trips on the road and working for high level superiors that are taking advantage of, and not fostering your talents and unique skills that would otherwise be in continual development. Lastly, the company has a overwhelming number of employees in upper management. An overwhelming majority of employees in the company has the title "Director, VP, product/project manager" or something similar. Most of these employees come from other companies with little to no senior level experience (including the CEO, CMO, and COO). This company loves to throw job titles around whenever an employee is ready to leave as a bargaining chip, they are not earned over years of time like in other companies. As a result, almost all employees in upper management lack talent, are selfish, overpaid and also quite narcissistic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CEO, Jay Rogers, let the company get to the bad point it is at today, I do not think the CMO is to blame here. All managers within the company should be seriously looked at and all C level employees need to get the boot. Local Motors needs to go back to its roots and build crowd-sourced, cool vehicles with clear transparency and abandon this 3D printed autonomous, "co-created" stuff.

    Local Motors2017-01-29
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Moving in The Wrong Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits. Pay. Bonus Structure. Vacation time. The company also offers Maternity/Paternity Leave. -Although, one of the recent cuts involved a long standing employee who just returned from paternity leave.

    Cons

    The vision of the company is no longer that of the CEO. The vision of the company has been taken over by the CMO... (The CMO has the CEO wrapped around her finger.) If you are on her good side-great, you get to keep your job. If you get on her bad side-you lose your job. She will convince the other executives to cut your position (regardless of tenure, worth ethic or flawless employee record). The company has moved away from its original vision and is headed down a scary path. They have bitten off more than they can chew and are eliminating employees that could have helped the company get back on track. In addition, too many people have the title "Director"/"Chief".. They have lost their meaning. The company has too many leaders, its hard to know where to take direction from.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please take a good long look at the individuals who have been hired on in the past few years. Look at the decisions they have made for the company and whether or not they have made a positive impact. - These "new" hires are making for a grim future for the company. People used to want to work for Local Motors because it showed promise. It was fun, new and exciting. The work was challenging and the leaders were fun to work for. This is no longer the case. Local Motors is no longer the innovative company it once was. Some may say "change is good." In this case, change is NOT good. Stick with what you know....Get back to your roots.

    Show More
    Local Motors2017-01-30
  6. "Accounting Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Manager in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Local Motors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Innovative, Family Atmosphere, Flexible Hours, Fast Paced Environment, COO constantly telling staff, "Yo're doing a great job," and genuinely means it, Human Experience department plan activities for employees to boost morale monthly

    Cons

    Depends on your working style, but I thrive in an ever changing work environment, so if that's not what you're used to, this place is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Implement a work exchange program to keep cohesive processes and procedures company wide.

    Local Motors2016-07-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A truly incredible group of people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Local Motors

    Pros

    It never gets boring, increasing diversity and continuous challenges. Cutting edge technology and machinery that people travel across the world just to see in person. Over all compensation package as a whole is really good between salary/bonus, vacation and sick days, stock options, EV subsidy, healthcare, 401k and all of the extracurricular activities and flexibility (some people tend to fixate on one area or another and forget the whole deal) The employees really do care about each other like a family and come together to help each other at times of need and the company facilitates that with fundraisers and cook outs etc.. that's pretty amazing. The management team has progressed a lot this year and is still growing. It's not perfect but it's on the right track. They must be doing something right with all of the progress and attention the company is receiving, fluff doesn't carry you as far as we have come. More pros? The company has changed directions a few times but it has created more jobs and allowed it to find its path. The Olli is pretty incredible especially given its creation timeline. How about long boarding with the CEO on 3D printed long boards on a Friday afternoon??

    Show More

    Cons

    The company moves quickly and it gets frustrating at times. Regardless of its age, it's still in a start up phase and that means opportunity. If people wish to dwell on the negatives they should remember a) you're getting paid to be there b) not everyone will always agree on things c) if you want to reap the rewards of a start up phase company you are going to have to roll with the punches while things are figured out. No company is perfect, look around and enjoy the ride.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue improving communication and striving for self improvement. Keep trusting your leaders. Don't forget the departments that work hard behind the scenes. Give the leaders adequate autonomy but break up the responsibilities and delegate based on strengths.

    Local Motors2016-06-30
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Business, Sales, execution, and oh so much more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Motors Team Member in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Local Motors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very little unless you don't want to EARN your paycheck. It's a non stop roller coaster ride! Sorry that's about it.

    Cons

    What's the focus of company the day you are hired is old news by the time you go home(that day), nothing makes sense by any stretch of the imagination. If execution of one (1) project could be supported and followed through...the world would likely be changed.

    Advice to Management

    Like the country song says....Let yourself go I could bring up the CMO but I'll save my breath!

    Local Motors2016-07-29
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Once in a lifetime opportunity - doesn't exist outside Silicon Valley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Local Motors

    Pros

    1. At Local Motors you'll be challenged everyday. Boredom doesn't exist unless you choose to be lazy. 2. Smartest / most motivated team I've worked with yet. Veteran team being assembled from all over the country to take this company to the next level. Great hires being made daily. 3. Progressive - in the last 6 months we've added a $250 EV credit and a 8 week paternity leave benefit. I've been at Local Motors for a year and have watched the organization make a big shift that was 100% necessary for a sustained future. During that process LM had to painfully shed its skin through its first major shift in strategy and branding. 100% necessary for a company that wants to go public. It didn't come with its fair share of hurt feelings and turnover. Anyone working in a company that really is like the one described in some of the reviews here would be crazy to stay ;) It was completely necessary and health for the company to go through that. You should find it comforting that you could potentially work for a leadership team that is willing to recognize a failure and change course. Local Motors is assembling a very capable team that you would be fortunate to be part of. Veteran hires being made from all over the country. Come work for a team that's willing to make tough calls in order to be great. No more settling for good. And whatever you do - don't believe the hate on Elle. Trust me - any fortune 100 company would beg her to sign on. I'd bet they already are. LM is lucky to have her.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of sleep - but you can sleep when you're dead Focus - "I'm more proud of the things we said no to than the things we said yes to." - Steve Jobs

    Advice to Management

    Some of the bad attitude/destructiveness that has made it's way here to GD still exists in pockets of the organization. Leadership could be better about proactively squashing it and/or removing it from the organization. I see it accepted at the highest level for the sake of getting things done. It confuses the team and sets a bad precedent. Not acceptable or sustainable IMO. There seems to be a general lack of trust at the top that trickles down. Culture will improve once leadership gets on the same page, stops accepting mediocre performance, and starts publicly protecting one another once group decisions are made.

    Show More
    Local Motors2016-06-18
  10. Helpful (10)

    "I'm the CMO and I believe in Local Motors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CMO in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Local Motors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional Growth: You will grow at Local Motors. You will have many, many opportunities to do, see, test, try, learn, fail. Open: As a company built on an open system, your voice will be heard. Motivated Team: Lots of fun, smart people on the team. I mean really, really smart people. The co-founder truly is the rare visionary. Head of Strategy and Finance are also brilliant. The head of Product Development is one of hardest working, kindest and smartest people I've even worked alongside -- so much respect to him and his team. The new team of Product Management is run by a consummate professional and he's building a world-class team. Supply Chain and Manufacturing are led by fearless and kind people. The GMs are also very sharp. As the head of marketing, I'm proud of the team. I stand by and behind each and every person on the Local Motors team - across the organization.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company moves fast -- it can be hard to keep up with that. You may be asked to do things that are outside your job -- which can be a pro v. a con, depending on how you view life. The organization is constantly trying to improve itself, which can be frustrating and seen as not sticking to plans, but really it's in the spirit of constant improvement. The culture is a constant challenge, but that's every company. Life at Local Motors is not for the faint of heart. It's for the bold, the fearless that want to come to work and be asked to do a lot and change the world. Seriously.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To my colleagues, past and present: thank you for being fearless and fierce -- continue to do so! Also? Take a much needed vacation -- we all work so hard and deserve to enjoy work/life balance more. To the team that works tirelessly across the world, literally all day and night: thank you for making Local Motors work. When you feel confused or frustrated or see a problem, say something so we can solve the problem. We are all one team, one fight.

    Show More
    Local Motors2016-05-24
Found 43 reviews