Lockheed Martin "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lockheed Martin Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 1 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
2,477 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work-life balance

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-17
  2. "The best company to work for in bay area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ee Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are looking for work/life balance and various opportunities to learn new things, then this is the company. LM really invests in their employees.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive based on bay area market.

    Lockheed Martin2019-12-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin for less than a year

    Pros

    They do lots of exciting stuff in Space.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be an issue.

    Lockheed Martin2019-10-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Feel Good About Your Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission driven, feel good with a sense of purpose about your work

    Cons

    Average to low pay, average benefits, long tenure employees resistant to change, many obstacles as gov contractor, minimal to no budgets, besides 9/80 fridays off work/life balance nonexistent

    Lockheed Martin2019-10-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Project Engineer Asc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Project Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Many Opportunities In Different Areas in Company Great Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Not enough time with manager/team too large Too much time on project status

    Advice to Management

    Smaller teams to allow for more manager-employee interactions. Especially one on one time.

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Multi-Functional Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin

    Pros

    Currently on my second program and what I will say is that you will learn a lot. Lockheed Martin is growing exponentially with all the new business and we need folks across multiple functions. The opportunity to move into different areas and locations is one of the main reasons why I wanted to work at Lockheed. You will learn a lot but you have to want to learn and put the time into it.

    Cons

    Proposals keep coming and Lockheed keeps giving into the customer demands with ridiculous deadlines. Therefore, work life balance is challenged. If the company wants to retain talent they need to work with the customer instead of saying yes all the time. Accountability is also a problem when it comes to financial deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate better with the customer when it comes to proposals. Proposals are just one aspect of everyone’s role.

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not for Families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Prairie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits were good. Onsite medical was really helpful.

    Cons

    Treatment to employees was below par, disappointing and shocking. Mgrs and Directors do not follow the see something say something and reprimand those who do. Was told to NEVER mention I was a single parent. There was no work life balance. Sad to see no understanding of families that work for the company or no compassion for workers. This has some how been removed from a company that embraced people and families.

    Advice to Management

    Report misconduct of all employee levels. Sr management could use training on how to talk to employees. Reinstate work life balance and understand that kids will be workers at this company one day so set a good example now for future workers. Provide flexibility or understanding to working families so they love their job and want to stay

    Lockheed Martin2019-10-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience can vary with each business unit, but I’ve enjoyed my time with RMS. Management is effective, but not intrusive. Try to manage as best of a work life balance as best as possible with travel.

    Cons

    Pay raises are minimal at best. Health care is expensive, and not very good. Overtime gate waiver and approval is tedious.

    Advice to Management

    Move OT gate waivers back to on site managers. Give more than a 2% pay raise if you want to keep talent onboard!

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-25
  10. "Needs Better Work-Life Balance for Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits were pretty good, excellent opportunities to transfer within the company and opportunities to pursue advanced degrees in education.

    Cons

    During proposals, life outside the company ceased to exist. You were expected to be available to work an insane number of hours and if you had any other commitments, you were perceived as not willing to give 100 percent. There was absolutely no work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Be more cognizant of people's need for work-life balance and family life.

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-17
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multifunction Financial Analyst in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance was good. The pay was decent.

    Cons

    It was a toxic work environment. I was only there around 6 months, before I left for grad school. But during the time I was there, I saw multiple other people start and leave within weeks.

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-12
Found 656 reviews