Lockton Companies Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Lockton Companies President/Chief Executive Officer Ron Lockton
Ron Lockton
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexible, independent culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockton Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lockton allows you to service clients as you see fit and also provides excellent guidance in how to do so. In addition, the culture and feeling of belonging is outstanding.

    Cons

    Lockton can sometimes be behind the times in the tech and standardization of data space.

    Lockton Companies2020-03-18
  2. "There’s a reason people work here for 20+ years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Administrator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockton Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the best place I’ve ever worked. The company truly cares about its employees, the culture, and the community. Work/life balance is phenomenal, great time off from the get-go, and no waiting period for benefit enrollment. They walk you through everything you need to know about insurance and there is so much opportunity for growth. The people are pretty fantastic as well- fun, down to earth, and wicked smart. There’s an on-site gym, Keurigs on every floor, free espresso machine, tons of microwaves, a beautiful break area, and a really laid back attitude across the company.

    Cons

    The Plaza isn’t always the best location to drive to, but the parking garage makes up for it. Wish there was an actual cafeteria within the building too.

    Lockton Companies2020-05-20
  3. "Can be a great situation or really challenging depending on which unit you're in"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Account Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockton Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, solid benefits, work hard/play hard attitude

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility in changing plans if something isn't working with a particular AAM/AE relationship

    Continue reading
    Lockton Companies2020-05-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Okay experience, but not for everyone"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockton Companies full-time

    Pros

    Good office culture, at least from a social perspective, friendly and helpful colleagues., most of which I can see genuinely cared for my well-being. Pay and benefits are about average for the industry, but should probably be more given the massive double digit growth they've had recently. Privately held, which allows for more flexibility. Very client focused and are very aggressive in the market, which is good but not all the time. Good place to start your career and learn from some very intelligent and helpful colleagues.

    Cons

    Very antiquated from a technology standpoint. Along the same lines they are (at least on the P&C side) not forward thinking at all from business strategy perspective, which hurts their business relationships with carriers (heavy marketing efforts for almost every renewal=little loyalty from a carrier perspective when you're in a bind). Every new account brought in seemed to be a fire drill from day one and if for some reason it isn't, it somehow becomes one over time. Part of this is due to their commitment to client service, which is certainly a good thing, but I also think there is a constant mindset of having to justify your existence to your clients, which leads to a lot of unnecessary busy work. Colleagues tend to over-complicate simple tasks which lead to things not get done in a timely fashion and finger pointing. The culture can be fun, but it grows stale over time. Management talks about being nimble and adaptable to the times when in reality they're fine with the status quo. A select few in the AE ranks have subtle yet inflated egos, which isn't good when there's always talk about the "team". What makes these egos especially tough to deal with is that they're not obvious. I genuinely liked everyone I worked with there on a personal level, but it became obvious over time that a select few, professionally speaking, were only in it for themselves and really didn't care about the career trajectory of their colleagues. Before Lockton I worked with some outwardly arrogant and selfish individuals, and as tough as that was, at least I knew where I stood. My experience would have been much more positive had I gotten the chance to with other individuals, but that unfortunately never materialized

    Continue reading
    Lockton Companies2020-04-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Big Company with a Lot of Heart and Conscience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockton Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company has a very family-oriented feel to it, and empowers its employees to be creative, and to do great work for its clients. Lots of opportunity to advance and make a difference in your business career. A company where you will feel good about bringing your "A" game every day.

    Cons

    There is a lot of talent around you so understand it may seem competitive from time to time. Everyone expects their teammates to bring their best every day so it may not be the right place for some.

    Continue reading
    Lockton Companies2020-04-11
  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockton Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vast educational resources and a strong focus on community

    Cons

    It can be an extremely challenging environment

    Lockton Companies2020-04-08
  7. "Great company. Quality professionals. Extremely well Managed"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockton Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Singular focus on quality people is the foundation to Lockton's great success

    Cons

    Organization this size can sometimes feel segmented

    Lockton Companies2020-04-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Administrator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockton Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun. Nice people. Good training and development.

    Cons

    Some bad apples who are hard to work with.

    Lockton Companies2020-03-27
  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lockton Companies

    Pros

    Positive culture, fun environment, encourage community giveback and involvement

    Cons

    Need more flexibility about remote work. Not consistent in their message, allow flexibility for some not all within the same position

    Continue reading
    Lockton Companies2020-03-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Very unprofessional and unprogressive company."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockton Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Parking is covered and location is off the Plaza.

    Cons

    They company prides itself on being innovative and giving employees autonomy and independence. However, their technology is out dated and cumbersome, and they have very little processes in place to manage their workflow. There is a lot of wasted time spent and band aids put on issues instead of resolving them.

    Continue reading
    Lockton Companies2020-04-01
Found 570 reviews