Lonely Planet Reviews

Updated May 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Lonely Planet President and CEO Luis Cabrera
Luis Cabrera
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Terrible culture, so much backstabbing and underhanded dealing among the staff which is only outshone by the lack of empathy by upper management(in 7 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership was weak during my time, but that may have changed now with a new CEO(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great and always improving"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lonely Planet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an engineer, I have a voice in the company and the direction of our product. We are free to work remotely at will. There is a collaborative culture and great camaraderie. Focus on continuous deployment and high quality work with a leading edge tech stack. Competitive compensation.

    Cons

    Benefits around time-off could use standardization across the company, which would benefit the US locations quite a lot instead of meeting regional minimums in each location, which hurts US employees comparatively, and communicates a lack of value for, and lack of thought into, employees' standards of living. Remote teams are rarely connected face to face, below the senior level.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2019-06-14

    Lonely Planet Response

    June 18, 2019

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. It's encouraging to hear that you value the culture at Lonely Planet, as maintaining a positive working environment is something that is really important to us. We encourage you to get in touch with someone from the HR team to talk about your other comments, as we're always looking for ways to improve by learning from our employees. - Lonely Planet HR Team

  2. Helpful (6)

    "Great brand, but sinking ship."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet full-time

    Pros

    Amazing brand and getting to talk about travel all day.

    Cons

    The leadership and HR is horrible.

    Lonely Planet2020-04-22
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Worst Place Ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lonely Planet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leaving a job has never been so easy.

    Cons

    An exodus has started at this company and there is no question why. Benefits are terrible. They don't care about employees or users. It's all about "Increasing Revenue and Controlling Cost". And employees are just another cost. After years of my whole team not receiving pay increases, we were told a new employee evaluation system was being put in place and our pay increases would be looked into. 6 months later we were told we weren't going to be eligible for raises or promotions. I've worked in the same small office as the CEO for over 6 months now and he has never introduced himself to me and I'm pretty sure he doesn't even know my name.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2019-12-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of freedom."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Franklin, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Lonely Planet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment with a good balance of fun and innovation.

    Cons

    Senior leadership was weak during my time, but that may have changed now with a new CEO.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2019-05-30

    Lonely Planet Response

    June 4, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Maintaining a positive working environment is important to us, so it's great to hear you enjoyed your time at LP. We appreciate all the feedback, as we are continuously looking to improve. - Lonely Planet HR Team

  5. "Moving in the right direction"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lonely Planet full-time

    Pros

    We are encouraged to take risks and move fast. Very ambitious thinking from the top, open to challenge industry and company dynamics. We are the only brand in the market with such a strong legacy and reputation. People that work here LOVE Lonely Planet.

    Cons

    You can still feel corporate inertia that remains rigid in its thinking. The sense of urgency and excitement of change is not spread across all offices.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2019-05-28

    Lonely Planet Response

    June 4, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this review . It's encouraging to hear of your positive experience working at Lonely Planet and that you believe others also love working for our brand. Employee satisfaction is really important to us, so it's great to hear. We really value employee feedback so please get in touch with a member of the HR team if you would like to discuss anything. - Lonely Planet HR Team

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do not even consider working for the US based side of the business"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lonely Planet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to work for a venerable, if faltering, brand in the travel industry.

    Cons

    Policies for and management of employees is wildly inconsistent across locations. Remote employees are an after-thought at best. There is zero real path for career development despite recent "plans" to fix it. Because the company is constantly in crisis and churning on strategy changes, employees are blamed more than supported. Don't even think about asking for something as simple as a cost of living adjustment to your salary.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2019-05-21

    Lonely Planet Response

    June 3, 2019

    We appreciate the time you've taken to write this review. Supporting our staff and their careers is something we value highly, so it's disappointing to hear that this has been your experience. We encourage you to get in touch with a member of the HR team so we can talk to you about this. - Lonely Planet HR Team

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Lost potential"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great brand and co-workers. Wonderful mission. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Senior leadership is incompetent. They have no strategy to capitalize on it's editorial content. Lonely Planet is a trusted source for travellers and has the potential to be the goto authority for travel in a age of growing skepticism against public reviews such as TripAdvisor, Google, and etc. There is no clear focus or attempt to synchronize the print and digital aspects.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2018-12-12
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Constant pivoting of direction made progress nearly impossible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet

    Pros

    Talented people. Creative minds. You get to travel from your desktop. Laid back atmosphere. Friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    As other reviews have mentioned, there is a severe lack of experience at the highest levels of management, leading to a lot of distrust among employees and constant pivoting of where the company should focus. Most of the good leaders end up leaving out of frustration. The inability to recruit high level management has left important positions empty, creating more strain on other departments.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2018-05-18
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great Brand/Product, Terrible Place to Work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet full-time

    Pros

    Lonely Planet has a strong world-wide brand, a legacy of great quality content, incredible art direction and digital design team, and passionate talented employees.

    Cons

    I experienced a passive-aggressive and secretive culture, internal distrust and closed-door meetings, brutal politics, lack of clear direction, lack of communication, lack of feedback, and a low level of process and operational maturity. Management lacks outside experience, maturity, and ability to coach/develop talent.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2018-04-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Do not recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet full-time

    Pros

    Great people, pto, work from home, and nice office atmosphere.

    Cons

    Confusion throughout all teams. No one seems to be on the same page regarding processes or content. Management needs to be more involved.

    Continue reading
    Lonely Planet2018-03-02
Found 92 reviews