Lonely Planet Reviews | Glassdoor

Lonely Planet Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
Luis Cabrera
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet part-time

    Pros

    The people are great, very flexible hours and fantastic support system. The projects are interesting but may get mundane depending on the cycle.

    Cons

    Very little room for growth. Especially with the recent restructuring, many employees (senior and junior) were laid off.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more potential for growth. There could be more support from the higher-ups.

    Lonely Planet2017-05-27
  2. "Freelance Travel Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Writer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lonely Planet for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to write for Lonely Planet. Get to travel. Get to own your creative voice.

    Cons

    Pay is minimal to start with. Tough pool that you pitch against.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing

    Lonely Planet2017-03-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Product Manager in Nashville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lonely Planet for less than a year

      Pros

      - There is a lot of good energy because of the great brand - You have access to a lot of data - Salary was good - Team was friendly

      Cons

      - There is a lot of turnover because of lack of management - They don't have a clear digital vision

      Advice to Management

      Move to digital with all the effort

      Lonely Planet2016-11-16
    • Helpful (5)

      "Appalling treatment and business practices"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Lonely Planet for more than a year

      Pros

      Employees are generally kind and helpful. Brand is well known outside US.

      Cons

      LP has fired multiple teams of people over the last several years with no notice and no explanation. Imagine waking up to check your company Slack and email only to discover that it no longer works. That is how LP does business. There is no regular communication from senior management. They do not communicate to employees a vision, a strategic plan, objectives, or goals. They do not provide employee reviews or any written...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire a professional HR department and empower the HR VP. Get training on standard business practices.

      Lonely Planet2016-10-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "While trying to stay competitive in a increasingly digital world, LP has slid downhill quickly in the past few years."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Author in Oakland, CA
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Lonely Planet for more than 8 years

        Pros

        People jacked up by travel and adventure.

        Cons

        Uncertainty. Decreasing budgets, near constant changes in strategy, poor author appreciation and attention.

        Advice to Management

        Make it about people again. Not just content.

        Lonely Planet2014-05-28
      • "It's a great team to work with"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Lonely Planet for more than a year

        Pros

        - The staff treats me like one of the team, although I'm a freelance contractor - Editors are strict but I end learning a lot from them and improving my writing - It's a prestigious publication with a strong set of guidelines and values

        Cons

        - I wish their monthly budget for freelancers was higher, although they never request more work hours than the ones they can pay

        Advice to Management

        Now that Daniel Houghton is no longer the CEO, I don't know what to expect but I sincerely hope there will be an improvement. The next person in line must not treat the company like a content mill or a click-bait platform (sometimes it's hard for writers to fight against it, although there's a high standard for every written piece).

        Lonely Planet2018-08-07
      • "Lost its Way"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Freelancer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Lonely Planet for more than 10 years

        Pros

        If you're passionate about travel, this is one of the few guidebook publishers still making waves. Some wonderful people have worked for LP, and, if you're lucky, you may stumble upon them or deal with them. Perks for in-house staffer have often been generous and/or sensible.

        Cons

        Woeful lack of communication from the top, cluelessness and confusion from middle management, an overall sense that the ship is sinking and taking former LP values with it.

        Advice to Management

        Get a real plan and communicate it to your employees and freelancers. Reinstate some real values and vision and stop letting in-house people feed at the freebie trough, which muddies the waters. Stop implementing major changes unless you are actually ready to follow through and have all your procedures and systems in place -- forcing freelancers to sort out the mess created by management only leads to bitterness and corner...

        Show More
        Lonely Planet2017-01-31
      • "Great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Lonely Planet

          Pros

          great company, great culture everything was likeable.

          Cons

          The company is smaller than what you'd expect no other cons as such

          Lonely Planet2016-11-28
        • Helpful (5)

          "Clueless and dying"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Editor in London, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Lonely Planet

          Pros

          The company still has plenty of kudos, and brand recognition is excellent. Travel is obviously part of the package. Opens doors.

          Cons

          As a freelance editor and writer Lonely Planet was a huge chunk of my life for over 10 years. More and more ridiculous demands are being made of us and the bureaucratic overload is appalling. A near-endless number of manuals and styling guides make getting anything done nigh-impossible. The atmosphere is toxic in the London office with Destination Editors hiring their non-qualified mates to do plumb jobs and taking freebies...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Hire some publishing professionals. You had a terrific pool of talent. LP's internet presence is still poor and way less respected than it was in the days of the Thorn Tree, 10 years ago.

          Lonely Planet2016-02-25
        Found 9 reviews