Long View Systems Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Consultant

Create your profile to get personalized information

Long View Systems Consultant Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
12 Ratings
  1. "Company with both heart and smarts!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. Leadership is caring, honest, and transparent. I’ve had no shortage of challenging work to keep me interested. Training is available, we have good health benefits, vacation time, etc. It can be a challenge to get a job here, but it’s worth the effort!

    Cons

    All my experiences have been positive so far!

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-06-28

    Long View Systems Response

    July 2, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time out to review your 5 years (so far!) at Long View. We are happy to hear that your leadership team is giving you the experience that we set out to give and that you are staying challenged in your career. Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fun job, but not enough support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and nice to work for a company that isnt so rigid. Opportunity to learn and grow as an IT proffessional is available here.

    Cons

    Sales sells to much and gets to little. Career progression is tough right now as budget for departments is low.

    Long View Systems2019-12-05

    Long View Systems Response

    December 5, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for the short review on us. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying working in our fun environment and that you see the opportunities for learning and development! Would you please speak with your PS Advisor so that we can learn more about your comments in the Cons section? We would like to rectify this if we can and continue to provide you with a great place to grow your career. Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Do Better, Denver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, there will never be a better team to work with. Good benefits for Denver area. Great opportunities for training (as long as you're not under-utilized).

    Cons

    Extremely hostile leadership in the Denver branch. Promising customers services we no longer have the staff to provide. Favoritism that has escalated from annoying to dangerous/unprofessional. Unprofessional and antagonistic behavior coming from one person will continue to poison the entire branch, they have lost over 20 employees this year alone in the Denver branch. Some quit after being bullied, some just found better jobs, and some were terminated without cause/laid off.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-11-14

    Long View Systems Response

    November 18, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are extremely saddened to read about your experience and wish we could have heard from you while you were with us. Would you please call our SVP of People Services, Tasha, at 403-515-6900? She would like to talk to you directly and learn more about your experience so that we can work to rectify the situation that you've communicated here. Thanks for all you did while you were with us. We wish you only the best in your new job.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Long View #aok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, smart people, nice office. Really, really cares about customer service. Long View has always taken care of me and my team members in times of need.

    Cons

    Pay isn't quite up to market and the incentive plan is confusing. As the market has changed with the price of oil the perks have also decreased. Things that brought me to Long View (the golf tournament, the holiday party, the lunches, the MGM's) have also dried up.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2016-07-11

    Long View Systems Response

    July 13, 2016People Services Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts about Long View. Due to a difficult year last year, we have had to make some expense reductions, but have worked hard to not have these changes affect our culture greatly. We're glad to hear that you have felt taken care of during your time with Long View; our people are what will always come first. We will absolutely take your comments under the Con section into consideration as we move into our new Fiscal year. Thank you for being here!

    Continue reading
  5. "Best Company I've Worked For in Over 40 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding management and Leadership. Especially from the CEO. They value their people above all else. One of their core pillars is FUN. Lots of company events and perks for employees. More like a family than a business. Open and honest about the business with employees.

    Cons

    Salaries are what they are but it's the nature of the contracting business with margins and not just on this company.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2016-07-09

    Long View Systems Response

    July 11, 2016People Services Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review; we value your opinion! FUN is absolutely a core pillar at Long View, and it's good to hear you've been able to experience that while working here. We do want this to feel more like a family than a business, and have been working hard on our communication strategy this year to make sure everyone feels like they are part of a common goal, and are hearing the same message as everyone else. We value you, and everything you bring to Long View; thank you for being here!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people here are spectacular. Talented, generous, truly a family. Long View enables you to grow your skill-set in a way that is unmatched. If you are willing to put in the effort, you will be able to experience any technology that Long View supports. Long View encourages and finances certifications/education which is great. CLPs (Career Life Planning meetings) exist to establish appropriate expectations and a roadmap for advancement. Those employees that have survived the last year at this company still remember the excellent, fun, and supportive culture that is possible in the Denver office. I hope, for the sake of those still here, that culture returns. This can be a great option for someone new to IT that would like to build their resume but understand that you will have to work harder than is comfortable and you will be underpaid while you do it.

    Cons

    Management is failing and it is driving away the spectacular people here. There have been very large talent gaps created recently by the continuing significant loss in staff. Management has continued to preach that these losses are not a problem which is mind-boggling. If you are willing to put in effort, they will take everything you have and ask for more. Long View has an incredible team still and yet, they are riding their best and brightest into the ground. The pace at which employees are asked to work (24x7 on-call year round without break; frequent late night projects) is unrealistic and unhealthy. Compensation is not competitive at entry-level despite the value an employee might bring. Benefits are good though. The poor Oil/Gas industry has caused the recent revenue drops at Long View and pressure from that has caused questionable decisions to be made by management that fall from the 4 Pillars (Integrity, Competence, Value, Fun) that were so highly praised only 18 months ago.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2016-03-04

    Long View Systems Response

    March 8, 2016People Services Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post this comprehensive review about Long View - we value your opinion and transparency. You took the time to explain some things that we would love to delve into further with you in an environment that is more conducive to open communication. We'd love to speak with more about your experience - if you want to take us up on this, please feel free to call (403) 515-6900 and ask for our Director of People Services. Thank you for 3+ years you spent with Long View and for writing that you felt like we were truly a family to you. Best of luck in your next opportunity outside of Long View.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Systems Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great to work with. Alternative work schedules allowed me to be available for my family and work from home when needed.

    Cons

    Pay and location wasn't ideal.

    Long View Systems2016-03-07

    Long View Systems Response

    March 8, 2016People Services Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review! It's unfortunate to hear that you felt that your compensation wasn't ideal, and that you considered the location of our office a con. However, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the people that you worked with and found value in the flexible working arrangements that we work to provide for our employees. All the best to you in your next role!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Horrible experience. Possibly the worst of my professional career. Sorry guys."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some very sharp, well credentialed people within Long View. They are resources that you have access to and can learn from when you have the chance to interact with them. Downtown Denver has some location based advantages. Compensation was competitive for the Denver market. I will give them that. They do at least try to improve things as evidenced by the repeated responses to these negative reviews. CLP's (Career Life Plan) do exist, but you get out what you put in to it. Exhausted employees with low morale don't plan well.

    Cons

    Being headquartered in Alberta, Canada, Long View has historically been heavily dependent on Oil and Gas customers. Given that O&G is flailing in the worst possible way as reflected in gas prices, Long View Systems is going through significant turmoil. They are struggling to make up for the lack of project work with managed services and hosted cloud customers. They do not have the resources to competently support managed services. Their cloud offerings are very pricey compared to other options. That said, this is a very difficult place to work. The managed services team is expected to be responsive 24/7/365 with no breaks. Work a 14 hour day and the next day you'd better be at your desk by 7:30a or you will hear about it. Your weekend and evening time will be constantly interrupted. There is no on call rotation. Unless you come in as an Architect or some other high level position, everyone gets the same title of Systems Consultant. Someone with 15-20 years experience gets the same title as someone with 2. Does not matter what you do. You don't know this until you get your offer letter. Very high churn rate. People would be there one day and gone the next. The Denver office is not that big. I saw at least 10 people leave...including the two that provided references for me. This was at all levels and departments. The only people that had more than 1 year under their belts were brought up from the NOC/Service desk. New recruits from outside have a 90% failure rate given the environment (per my manager). Typical silos that you see anywhere. Project/ Architect resources are hesitant to wade too deeply in to operations, Service Desk reps don't want to touch something due to the way costs are billed inter-department, managed services is hamstrung by the contract verbiage meaning work needs to be kicked up to a project resource. Constant chaos and stress. You are only as good as your last billable hour. Technical talent is exploited while Account (Sales) and Project Managers reap the rewards. Voice valid concerns to People Services and get vilified for it.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-12-22

    Long View Systems Response

    January 11, 2016People Services Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to stop by and post a review about Long View; we are sorry to see that you have negative opinions about the company that were formed during your time with us. As you noted above, we are constantly trying to improve as no company is perfect, and there is always room for growth. We would like to delve into more of your thoughts above, and would welcome speaking with you in a forum that is more conducive to personal interaction. Please call (403) 515-6900 and ask to speak with our Director of People Services, as we would be interested in learning more about your time at Long View. Thank you for taking the time to post this review, and we wish you the best of luck in your next opportunity.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Stay Away!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Certifications are paid for by the company which is a nice to have.....the office location is awesome because you can light rail in which is also paid for.

    Cons

    The above pros are not worth signing on to this company. The management is poor and unqualified to do the majority of the jobs they need to be. You will end up doing far to many jobs than you are actually compensated for. Sales doesn't know how to sell anything but oil and gas contracts and in the other spare time they are golfing and taking clients out to fancy lunches/dinners. Meanwhile back at base camp the others are working away for little compensation. At the end of the day they preach about being proactive and all you get is a reactive environment. I am happy to say that the grass is greener on the other side. Don't let the flashy office and false promises confuse you. IT A TRAP!

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-10-30

    Long View Systems Response

    November 5, 2015People Services Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions about Long View. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our Denver office, as well as the fact that Long View pays for certifications and continued professional development opportunities for our employees. We are however, disappointed to read that your experience at Long View didn't end on a favorable note. To hear more about your experience, we'd like to communicate with you in a way that is more interactive than responding via Glassdoor. Please reach out to our People Services Director at (403) 515-6900 as we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you anytime. We wish you well in your next opportunity!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Wow, the company that lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good overall business concepts. Company sets itself apart by offering many verticals that very few companies offer. In the past, the company did a really did a good job of providing some great events for the employees and their families. They really take great pride in providing training within the different departments; making people better at making business decisions, consulting practices and provide a conduit for implementing new business ideas and concepts within the company.

    Cons

    The company prides itself on being about the people. The one aspect that I feel is the core of a great company is the Human Resources department. What is ironic is the one person who drives that aspect in the US is so far disconnected that it makes people wonder if the company truly knows how to hire people who care and support people. Great Career opportunities if you are from Canada. If you aren't, enjoy and utilize the training you receives to find your next career advancement!

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-06-17

    Long View Systems Response

    June 22, 2015Recruitment Communications Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and comments on your recent experience with Long View in Denver. Could we ask that you call the Director of People Services at 403-515-6900 and discuss your concerns further with her? She is looking forward to speaking with you.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews