Long View Systems "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Long View Systems Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Good Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Alberta in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time

    Pros

    Technical trainings and lots of free training materials Staff Events - the Christmas parties are nice Knowledgeable people - lots of very good technical people Community Involvement Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Salary is subpar compared to industry standards Orientation for new hires needs to improve Work / Life Balance is not good for site managers on a fully managed services clients

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-07-06

    Long View Systems Response

    July 9, 2015Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Long View Systems. While we can appreciate your view on the salaries we offer, we also focus on many other areas that add to culture and our staff’s happiness. Also, we have recently made changes to our orientation program for new employees and will continue to review this on an ongoing basis to make sure it is adding the most value. We are glad that the training and staff events we offer and the other pros you mentioned make your experience with us a positive one!

    Continue reading
  2. "Finding its way again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Have been with the company for 8 and a half years and have been in a variety of roles some better than others but always something interesting. Long View is a company where there can be some great opportunities if you are willing to do the work and grow your skills. There is a great benefits package, an amazing Christmas party and lots of team related events to make sure you don't feel forgotten. General Meetings give the workers a good idea of what is happening with the company. We have some incredible tech that we work with and some very smart people to leverage when assistance is needed.

    Cons

    Pay could be better and we seem to be a bit heavy in the areas where we aren't making money. We don't practice what we preach when it comes to our own internal environment, this is one area where we need better leaders and more money spent. We got too big too fast and said yes to many projects that we should never have touched. Because we are so big there is many who ended up coming aboard that were not a Long View fit because we needed bodies. Incentives... they just need to go because they don't work for a good chunk of people. If you are a floater or not interested in training or certs or specializing LVS probably wont be a good fit. Also true if you are a workaholic, because while we do say we want people to have a good work life balance there is no checks and balances in place to make sure you don't burn yourself out or get over utilized, seen it many times.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-04-17

    Long View Systems Response

    April 22, 2015Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for the time you took to write this thorough and thoughtful review. We really do appreciate your feedback and will take your suggestions to heart. If you haven't already, may we suggest you speak with your PS Advisor or Manager to discuss your concerns and suggestions more in-depth?

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (16)

    "People culture is dead. It's all about the profit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Long View Systems

    Pros

    Free lunches, access to technologies that help you do your job, training opportunities (depending on getting manager support - which is subjective).

    Cons

    If you listen to the messages from recruiters, you'll hear about a culture that is family oriented, puts their people first and allows work/life balance. It sounds great as a sales pitch to get you in the door but it's not reality. -Compensation - incentives wrong most of the time. Be prepared to fight for what is owed to you. Often this can take several months to clean up. -Inconsistent internal communication; a feeling of secrecy between leadership and staff. -No policies - everything is subjective and can change by leader. Do your best to guess at what is expected. . -Department silos create chaos and duplication of effort -The comment on old boys club is true, but it is more like a high school popularity contest. You are either with the "in" crowd or not. Decisions tend to favor the "in' crowd. -Gossip/water cooler talk seems to consume a lot of peoples time.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-01-11

    Long View Systems Response

    January 19, 2015Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for raising your concerns. Please speak with your People Services Advisor so that we can work together to resolve them.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Seems to be going downhill, fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long View prides itself on offering career progression and work-life balance - which (in my experience) they deliver on. I love the staff, and am usually happy to go to work int he morning.

    Cons

    In my opinion Long View is Top Heavy. I feel like we are constantly tightening our belts, cracking down on expenses, and shortening leashes - yet at the same time they are constantly promoting senior leadership. The average consultant feels underpaid (compared to market value), yet there are more than 1 executive per 100 employees. And that's not counting the numerous "Directors" and "Managers" do. We are also Internal role heavy. In the past year I have seen a number of internal support teams grow significantly, but their contribution hasn't (People Services, Resourcing, Finance, etc.) These are cost centers that don't earn any profit for the company.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2014-12-10

    Long View Systems Response

    December 15, 2014Corporate Recruiter

    Your feedback is appreciated. We take all comments seriously and will take yours into consideration. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Refreshing Culture and Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I was choosing whether or not I wanted to work at Long View, I talked to multiple current and former employees, did a ton of research, and of course listened to the sales pitch by the recruiters I met with. To be honest, it sounded too good to be true, but I was at the point in my former job that anywhere would be better so I decided to accept my offer. My first few weeks here I was still skeptical, as I thought everyone was putting on a show for me because I was so new. However, that feeling never went away. I've never seen a company where so many people have a smile on their face when coming to work. Their multiple social events are always a blast because they are full of happy, content people. Management truly believes in work-life balance, and it's so refreshing to feel safe in knowing that you can put your family life first, and your employer is okay with it. You have so much autonomy in your job, you are not micro-managed and often have the option of working from home if you wish. They really are a family- oriented company, and if that's your #1 in life then you should really check out Long View.

    Cons

    If your number one goal is your career is to make as much money as you can, this is not the company for you. They pay employees very averagely, if not border-line below average. Although they support career progression, you need to go above and beyond and be almost aggressive to move into a higher level role. If you're looking to get into a company and move into a new position within the first 6-18 months, again, not the company for you.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2014-07-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Culture is getting weaker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work is possible, some very strong leaders, Don & Gord genuinely care about staff. Opportunity for growth if you can get through the 'trail by fire' approach

    Cons

    Exec too far removed from current staff, too much of "The Old Days" talk. Lots of who you know type of activity, not all teams treated fairly. Generally underpaid staff. I agree 100% with the other review that talked about the psychological elements of Long View and that they make you feel that you are lucky to work for them. Work Life balance is seriously lacking, many staff feel compelled (guilted really ) to be available at all hours even if it's not needed.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2013-04-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great people to work with! Except... Overworked, underpaid, and a "Treat them Mean, Keep them Keen" Philosophy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - For the most part, very nice people. - Good parties/ staff events. - Good health benefits. - Working with good clients/ vendors. - Some flexibility with working from home. - Good desktop tools.

    Cons

    - Long View's HR and Marketing departments have been modelled using plenty of psychology to ensure employees feel it is a privilege to work for the company. - Hiring process typically takes 18 months. - Favouritism is engrained in the company's foundations. (Part of the psychological manipulation.) - Work / life balance is a focal point of discussion, though rarely seen in practise. - Low compensation, unpaid/ unacknowledged overtime, no bonuses. - Managers are not always trained, nor are they suitable for the role. - Some holes in skill sets required to run the business effectively.

    Long View Systems2013-03-08
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Going downhill, they use you till they lose you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Long View Systems

    Pros

    Great people, team willing to help out Free lunch one or more times per week Good deal of learning opportunity Career growth, but don't expect to get paid much more (or anything more)

    Cons

    Clients are more important than employees Weak team meetings Wage increases are a struggle Poor work life balance Managers do not promote work life balance or attempt to curb high hours Sales employees are seen as more significant than consultants Manager does not believe in their people and often undersell them

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2011-04-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Vancouver office 2010"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Consultant in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Long View Systems

    Pros

    Positive corporate culture. Good benefits. Lots of opportunities to learn and develop. Good people.

    Cons

    Very poor work life balance. Average compensation. Unreasonable amount of uncompensated work hours No standardized training for new employees.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2010-11-02
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Junior/Middle Management View Point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Practice Lead in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Long View Systems

    Pros

    Great culture amongst the employees and a fun bunch of staff, free meals atleast once a week and free, pop, beer, and coffee. Escellent Christmas party at Jasper Park Lodge.

    Cons

    Very little standardization or process in the company. No way of doing something is ever the same twice and senior management all tell you different ways of doing things. Long hours and you are expected to always be available if a client has a problem. So don't expect a work life balance and do expect to get called in on your son's birthday.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2010-10-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews