Long & Foster Reviews | Glassdoor

Long & Foster Reviews

Updated 1 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
P. Wesley Foster Jr.
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training program at corporate too(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great company offering a lot of support for sales associates(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Real estate is not an easy business(in 18 reviews)

  • "They are among three top broker who are very comparable(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Services Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long & Foster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is always looking for opportunities to grow in all their markets so there is always changing and creating new challenges.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits are pricey.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to make sure strategies are pushed at all levels, Some of the legacy leadership just keep doing things the old way.

    Long & Foster2019-02-14
  2. "The Super Team of Judy and Mitch Milstein"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Realtor 

      I have been working at Long & Foster full-time

      Pros

      Large Company with a great technical staff to assist you.

      Cons

      Too large can sometimes be less personal

      Long & Foster2019-02-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Property Management sector is atrocious"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Long & Foster part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      None, I left within 2 months of them acquiring my previous company

      Cons

      After purching our company, 90% of former employees quit due to incompetent management. Obviously don’t care about clients or employees.

      Long & Foster2019-03-01
    • "Great experience."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chantilly, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Long & Foster full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The overall environment and location.

      Cons

      The schedule and the hours.

      Long & Foster2019-01-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Unorganized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Long & Foster full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The only pro I could really offer is the benefits package. The benefits were great but outside of that there is nothing.

      Cons

      The title of my post says it ALL, the property management division of this company is unorganized! Those of us who are strong employees are run into the ground with long hours and NO PAY! After working a 10 hour day, you still have to come home and open your computer because there are soooo many things that need to be addressed. For so long no properties were inspected and with that, comes bigger problems. If you ask...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Shape up or ship out!

      Long & Foster2018-12-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "No raises for 3 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ashburn, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Long & Foster part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Offered part-time work, some flexible hours

      Cons

      Was told that the company does not give any raises until you hit three years. No matter how well you perform, you do not get a raise. I also never receive a review even though I asked for one. So to avoid the no-raise for three years conversation I was not given any review the entire time I worked there.

      Advice to Management

      Review part-time employees yearly as well as give raises every year instead of only every three years. You lose good people with your current rule. Those that excel should receive raises.

      Long & Foster2018-12-16
    • "N/A"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA

      I have been working at Long & Foster for less than a year

      Pros

      great company I love it here

      Cons

      no cons its all great

      Long & Foster2018-11-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "Pyrimad scheme"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Long & Foster

      Pros

      You make your own schedule.

      Cons

      No guidance or structure at all. Extremely misleading when introducing the career to potential realtors. They make sure to only speak on all the pros and success stories. My broker told me all kind of things from kids dropping out of college and becoming successful realtors without student debt and people making over 300k their first year and blah blah blah. Anytime I or any new agent in the office would ask our broker...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop ruining peoples lives

      Long & Foster2018-12-07
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Real Estate Agent in McLean, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Long & Foster full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Everyone is there to help you.

      Cons

      There are no cons. Only positives.

      Long & Foster2018-10-31
    • "Branch Administator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Administrator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Long & Foster full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent work environment Great Employees & Managers Lots of training & development Good Pay & Good Benefits

      Cons

      Separation between corporate office & local branches

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work

      Long & Foster2018-10-17
    Found 181 reviews