Longos Bakery Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Longos Bakery Clerk Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Longo
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great First Job, comes at a price"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos part-time

    Pros

    Great first job I’ve been here since I was in high school. The hours are super flexible, you get the time off when you need it. Made a lot of friends there that will be in my life for a long time.

    Cons

    The management relies too much on you. They say they don’t have the hours for you, but expect everything to be done fast. They pick favourites. If they don’t like you they won’t give you the time of day. Very cliquey

    Continue reading
    Longos2019-07-20
  2. "Awful management, Okay work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good amount of hours - Writing on cakes and making pastries -Eating pastries -Good co-workers for the most part (Of course this varies from year to year)

    Cons

    -Awful management -Your time off is not respected -Manager's are very demanding about sales -Very physical work

    Continue reading
    Longos2018-07-26
  3. "Adequate First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accommodating to Students, Friendly Coworkers, Great Learning Environment, Sometimes Work is Fun (decorating pastries, baking, etc.). Before new legislation laws in Ontario, used to offer bonuses and annually raises to students. Sometimes managers put out snacks (cake, pastries, deli meat, etc.) in the lunch room for employees.

    Cons

    You are expected to do a lot of work - even when making minimum wage. Management expects top quality employees, but do not compensate you as top quality employees. Favouritism is evident and is sometimes detrimental to your work ethic (you’ll find yourself doing a lot of work while a coworker is chatting with a manager about personal things).

    Continue reading
    Longos2018-04-07
  4. "Was My First Job In Highschool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Difficulty of job is not high - You get to work with a close group of people - If you're social, you'll love the job since you will be dealing with customers all day long

    Cons

    - Long hours (I had morning shifts from 6am to 4-5pm)

    Continue reading
    Longos2017-11-01
  5. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really loved working at Longos and I'm really glad it was my first job. There's a huge push for a family focused experience (for both the customers and the employees). You get compensated very well for good job performance.

    Cons

    I got over loaded with hours. As a high school student who asked for fewer hours to actually do school work, that was hard. Customers were very demanding and rude most of the time.

    Continue reading
    Longos2014-08-26
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible, great managers, decent pay

    Cons

    no benefits for part time employees

    Continue reading
    Longos2014-01-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "An OK place to work to earn experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Longos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are mostly nice and respectful Every year employees get a performance appraisal and increase in wages There is a profit sharing that will be distributed to all employees as long as the store hits the sales target, prorated based on the number of hours of work Students can get a flexible schedule

    Cons

    There is hardly any opportunity to move up unless you work in the head office No benefit for people who work here under student status

    Continue reading
    Longos2012-06-04
Found 7 reviews