Longos Barista - Starbucks Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Barista - Starbucks

Longos Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Longos CEO Anthony Longo (no image)
Anthony Longo
55 Ratings
  1. "Bring back family values towards your staff it has been lost!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great owners they do try

    Cons

    Management team needs to bring back the family values it will boost moral big time loose the I as it not in team

    Advice to Management

    Mngmnt team is loosing staff backing moral has been lost!!

    Longos2018-05-24
  2. "Good if you're a student, bad if you're trying to make a living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time

    Pros

    I worked at Longo's for 5 years - left a full time job for (what was advertised as) a full time position in a department. They told me I had to work part-time until my 3 months were up. 5 years later....some weeks I'd work 40+hours, most weeks I'd be lucky to get over 28. When ever I asked for full-time, I was told there wan't enough hours. Then we'd have a new hire. Very frustrating. Pros - Flexible hours... Good product Good benefits

    Show More

    Cons

    Very hard to advance within company Lot of close/opens - You'd work 4-10pm then 6am-2pm the next day Hard to get 40+hours (friend hired FT working 'extra hours' was getting 38h.)

    Longos2018-04-29
  3. "good part-time job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Longos part-time

    Pros

    good experience for your 'first' job when you're a high school student

    Cons

    impossible to move up within company.

    Longos2018-04-07
  4. "Balanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front End Cashier in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours, decent customers, structure and supports were fair

    Cons

    Nepotism everywhere, if you are family or just Italian, you will become a manager no matter what

    Advice to Management

    Calm down. Seriously, it's just groceries. Stop expecting minimum wage workers to care as much as you do.

    Longos2018-03-26
  5. "Adequate First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accommodating to Students, Friendly Coworkers, Great Learning Environment, Sometimes Work is Fun (decorating pastries, baking, etc.). Before new legislation laws in Ontario, used to offer bonuses and annually raises to students. Sometimes managers put out snacks (cake, pastries, deli meat, etc.) in the lunch room for employees.

    Cons

    You are expected to do a lot of work - even when making minimum wage. Management expects top quality employees, but do not compensate you as top quality employees. Favouritism is evident and is sometimes detrimental to your work ethic (you’ll find yourself doing a lot of work while a coworker is chatting with a manager about personal things).

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees equally and fairly. Respect equal pay for equal work. Students should not be paid less than others when having to do the same work. Managers should act as they want their employees to act as well. If employees shouldn’t be gossiping, managers shouldn’t be either, etc.

    Longos2018-04-07
  6. "great founders of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Longos full-time

    Pros

    good benefits pay is ok small discount on purchases from Longos

    Cons

    minimal growth within company bad management and questionable h/r tactics prefer hiring outside vs internal promotions

    Advice to Management

    take employee concerns serious.

    Longos2018-03-19
  7. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos full-time

    Pros

    A well run company with good top management . A very friendly team environment lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Management is approachable and ready to discuss issues.

    Cons

    Understaffed to keep up with the pace with which the company is growing.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the Business and IT processes could be improved.

    Longos2018-02-15
  8. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and focus on innovation and the customer.

    Cons

    Pace of the business can be challenging

    Longos2018-02-12
  9. "Longo’s Starbucks barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Longo’s Starbucks Barista 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Longos for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, part time coworkers are really nice, rewards card given to employees which can earn you points, kind customers

    Cons

    No barista training provided, no free coffee, full time employees act like they own the place and look down at you

    Longos2018-02-23
  10. "Not paid nearly enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Longos part-time

    Pros

    i think the only pro is some of the people you work with are nice

    Cons

    they are cutting costs left right and centre which means when you go in you are automatically doing the work of 2 or 3 people a day. they reduce hours but increase the workload. people can't physically manage working at this grocery store any more. at least not in my department or store. every time i go into work it is something knew that arrises and makes the shift just horrible. at this point you can get a job... anywhere else for the same $14 minimum wage but do less than half the workload and save yourself from unnecessary stress

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    look at your employees not just your numbers

    Longos2018-02-04
Found 133 reviews