Longos "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Longos Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Longo
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good hours, decent customers, structure and supports were fair(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good pay, work life balance and everyone you work with generally has a welcoming and good attitude(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only part-time, long wait for full-time(in 6 reviews)

  • "Long hours (I had morning shifts from 6am to 4-5pm)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Front end representative responsible for customers and handling cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Woodbridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly working environment where you can grow your people skills and become a more organized worker

    Cons

    Lack of full time options for students looking for steady work

    Longos2019-05-26
  2. "New"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Ajax, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Longos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full-time,nights,not too far from home

    Cons

    Have to learn quick, long time on feet

    Longos2018-09-11
  3. "Good if you're a student, bad if you're trying to make a living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time

    Pros

    I worked at Longo's for 5 years - left a full time job for (what was advertised as) a full time position in a department. They told me I had to work part-time until my 3 months were up. 5 years later....some weeks I'd work 40+hours, most weeks I'd be lucky to get over 28. When ever I asked for full-time, I was told there wan't enough hours. Then we'd have a new hire. Very frustrating. Pros - Flexible hours Good...

    Show More

    Cons

    Very hard to advance within company Lot of close/opens - You'd work 4-10pm then 6am-2pm the next day Hard to get 40+hours (friend hired FT working 'extra hours' was getting 38h.)

    Longos2018-04-29
  4. "Longo’s Starbucks barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Longo’s Starbucks Barista 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Longos for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, part time coworkers are really nice, rewards card given to employees which can earn you points, kind customers

    Cons

    No barista training provided, no free coffee, full time employees act like they own the place and look down at you

    Longos2018-02-23
  5. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You can make a lot of friends - Everyone tries to get to know you

    Cons

    - EXTREMELY long shifts (10 hours average in my department) - Hard to become full time - Repetitive - Managers can be very harsh over little mistakes - You will lose your personal life

    Advice to Management

    We don't work as well given 10-12 hour shifts

    Longos2017-07-26
  6. "Better than nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Longos part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great working environment

    Cons

    Only part-time, long wait for full-time

    Longos2017-07-02
  7. "Decent part time and full time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Full time is paid exceptionally well considering other grocery stores - Work is easy and not often rushed

    Cons

    - A fair amount of politics for people trying to get into management

    Advice to Management

    - Make sure to put more thought into which department managers you hire, they make or break a store

    Longos2017-01-27
  8. "Over 6 years experience here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos

    Pros

    As long as you use their punch card system correctly, you will be paid on time and in full every two weeks.

    Cons

    "full time" personnel are only given 32 hours and five days a week while part-time employees who may receive 32 hours do not get full time benefits. the work culture promotes a massive divide between salaried team-members and those who receive an hourly wage. Employees are instructed to lie to customers about product freshness...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While growth is important, cutting corners and strangling the lowest level employees is not the way to build profits in the long run.

    Longos2016-12-08
  9. "Starbucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond Hill, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Longos

    Pros

    Full time benefits Friends from team Full time mean red guaranteed always all the hours

    Cons

    They treat you unfairly They make you do more work then what you get paid for Management is rude and wants you to do everything at once (cleaning tables while you're busy serving drinks for customers They cut down part time hours any time There's a lot of drama from all departments no matter what age

    Advice to Management

    To become a manager you start with trust and then leads with communication and cooperation if you have no trust and treat staff poorly then all the cooperating and communication is gone. Start making your team have a enjoyable workplace to go to so they'll enjoy it.

    Longos2016-02-02
Found 129 reviews