Longos "good hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Longos Employee Reviews about "good hours"

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Longo
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good hours, decent customers, structure and supports were fair(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good pay, work life balance and everyone you work with generally has a welcoming and good attitude(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only part-time, long wait for full-time(in 6 reviews)

  • "Long hours (I had morning shifts from 6am to 4-5pm)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Meat Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Department Clerk in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Friendly co-workers - Good hours - Yearly bonus - Benefits

    Cons

    - Management - A lot of stuff isn't taught right away.

    Advice to Management

    - Be more understanding to the part-time students. - Don't be condescending when someone doesn't know something.

    Longos2019-03-04
  2. "Really good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Longos part-time

    Pros

    good management good hours great people work there

    Cons

    No benefits for part-time worker

    Longos2018-11-13
  3. "Good if you're a student, bad if you're trying to make a living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time

    Pros

    I worked at Longo's for 5 years - left a full time job for (what was advertised as) a full time position in a department. They told me I had to work part-time until my 3 months were up. 5 years later....some weeks I'd work 40+hours, most weeks I'd be lucky to get over 28. When ever I asked for full-time, I was told there wan't enough hours. Then we'd have a new hire. Very frustrating. Pros - Flexible hours Good...

    Show More

    Cons

    Very hard to advance within company Lot of close/opens - You'd work 4-10pm then 6am-2pm the next day Hard to get 40+hours (friend hired FT working 'extra hours' was getting 38h.)

    Longos2018-04-29
  4. "Balanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Longos for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours, decent customers, structure and supports were fair

    Cons

    Nepotism everywhere, if you are family or just Italian, you will become a manager no matter what

    Advice to Management

    Calm down. Seriously, it's just groceries. Stop expecting minimum wage workers to care as much as you do.

    Longos2018-03-26
  5. "Longos Starbucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Longos Starbucks Barista in Aurora, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good pay for part time workers, with yearly raises -Friendly coworkers -Good hours

    Cons

    -Often insufficient coworkers for shifts, with the purpose of cutting costs

    Longos2018-01-15
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Mississauga, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Longos part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours, good coworkers, as far as retail goes not bad customers

    Cons

    Management was very cliquey, head office are a bit egotistical.

    Advice to Management

    It's a grocery store, relax. Managers got stressed very easily!

    Longos2017-09-06
  7. "Decent part-time job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Longos

    Pros

    -Good hours -Management was pretty organized

    Cons

    -The work gets very repetitive -Can get very long shifts on the weekends -On-call shifts (sometimes you get called in and sometimes you don't have to go in) made it hard to plan your schedule

    Longos2017-04-18
Found 129 reviews