Looker Reviews

Updated May 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Looker CEO  Frank Bien
Frank Bien
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not to mention a great office environment with plenty of perks in beautiful Santa Cruz(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work life balance at a prestigious start up(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typically Santa Cruz liberal people here, and that's the way they like it(in 15 reviews)

  • "It's growing really really fast, so there are of course some growing pains(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've ever worked!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Recruiting does a great job selecting wonderful people to work here.

    Cons

    Chat Support is kind of a crap job but no one talks about the negative aspects that much.

    Looker2020-05-13
  2. "DCL"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth and education

    Cons

    Parking in Santa Cruz sucks

    Looker2020-03-04
  3. "Strangely Great...."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time

    Pros

    -Free food galore! -Great pay -Great time off -Amazing work life balance -Incredible place to work within the industry

    Cons

    -Growing company just bought by Google, so transition is apparent and can be a challenge. -seems like there isn't a definitive career path for the Customer Success dept.

    Continue reading
    Looker2020-01-13
  4. "Positive Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Looker full-time

    Pros

    Loved the product and leadership team in setting the direction of the company.

    Cons

    Grown a bit too big.

    Looker2019-11-20
  5. "Great company, great people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Couldn't say enough good things about this company! They value their employees, value work/life balance, provide lots of perks like free fitness classes, free meals, etc. They take care of their team! And in turn, everyone works very hard.

    Cons

    Could be more clear about career development options and roadmap for professional growth. Base salary and commission bonuses are not that competitive compared to similar positions in the industry.

    Looker2019-10-04
  6. "Salute to a job well done"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at looker for about 2 years. This is a truly phenomenal environment that has hired an amazing set of leaders to guide us through rapid growth. With the Google acquisition I'm sure many things will change, and our Glassdoor entry will become inactive. So for posterity, this place was amazing. Long live the spirit of Looker!

    Cons

    all good things must come to an end

    Looker2019-08-30
  7. "Looker is Unique"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun culture. Everyone is very positive and willing to help you learn from the get-go. Time To Shred is equally valued as Kitchen Table time. Dogs everywhere!

    Cons

    Resources aren't organized....yet. Onboarding takes longer than anticipated.

    Looker2019-08-16
  8. Helpful (17)

    "How did Looker get so many things right?"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Values - Looker's values are real. Most companies put up their core values to check off a box. Looker interviews for them, highlights them and gives out awards for people who exceed in living the values, including a healthy work-life balance and loving our customers. People - 15 years of working in tech and I have never seen so many smart people working together with a strong passion for what they are doing. Sure, you find a couple of execptional people in every company, but Looker has a ton of them. Customers - Most customers seem to love Looker, some to the extent that they are raving fans. Goals - Looker has exceeded its goals for 6 years now. Part of that is seasoned management that has been around. They don't waver. They stay the course. Goals are high but achievable. Leadership - they have been around and know what they are doing. Nobody is panicking, nervous or burning midnight oil.

    Cons

    Hiring - I feel bad for every qualified candidate reaching out to me on LinkedIn. There are just sooo many people applying for jobs at Looker, it is hard to give everyone the attention they deserve. And even if you make it to the interview round, the standards are high. My recommendation to anyone interviewing at Looker: Make sure you show that you are a good person. That will matter more than your achievements or qualifications. Don't be afraid to start at a lower level. Internal promotions happen.

    Continue reading
    Looker2019-05-15
  9. "Looker is a fantastic place to work. The product is amazing and they really care about their employees"

    5.0
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Looker

    Pros

    Work life balance at a prestigious start up

    Cons

    All good things must come to an end

    Continue reading
    Looker2019-07-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A phenomenal organization!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SE Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Looker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Communication from senior leadership is phenomenal. I've never been in an organization that defined and consistently communicated strategies to align our teams behind organizational goals. - Easily the most motivated and intelligent group of people I have ever worked with - Extremely "chill" work environment; work at your pace. You have work to do - get it done! - Phenomenal product - Really believe in and support our clients - our support is called "Department of Customer Love" which really shows our focus; our clients - We really live our values - Management really looks out for their people; they believe in the team and push them to be great. - Team follows this lead (above), and thrive on the desire to succeed as a team, then they will shine as individuals. - Hiring; we go out of our way to be good at hiring and constantly strive to improve our processes and actually try to provide feedback to candidates

    Cons

    Feedback from management can be a bit thin at times, but its on you to step up and ask for feedback, and to strive to do more and succeed.

    Continue reading
    Looker2019-06-13
Found 86 reviews