LoopUp Reviews | Glassdoor

LoopUp Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
LoopUp Co-CEOs Steve Flavell & Michael Hughes (no image)
Steve Flavell & Michael Hughes
47 Ratings
  1. "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers are amazing! Management is also open to updating the technology stack.

    Cons

    The pay is below market rate. No 401k matching.

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2017-05-29
  2. "LoopUp: A great company and a family for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are thinking about applying for the BDA position at LoopUp... do it! The first time I interviewed with LoopUp, it was very professional and I felt like the company was genuinely interested in who I was and the type of skills I could contribute. As a psychology major, I was nervous about working in a sales position. I didn't know if I had what they were looking for, but LoopUp is not your typical company. They are looking for a variety of people from different backgrounds and stress the importance of diversity. When I was first hired 9 months ago, I was given exceptional training and was welcomed into the LoopUp family with open arms. Over the past year I have built great relationships with peers and mentors from all over the world. Another thing I love about LoopUp is the fact that teamwork is highly encouraged. Here, hard work does not go unnoticed and individual success is also celebrated. If you are looking to join a company that has great benefits, career progression, and a happy and healthy work environment, this is the company to work for.

    Cons

    Honestly, there isn't anything negative to say. My experience has been overall pretty great.

    LoopUp2017-05-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time

    Pros

    Really great company that treat their employees very well. Great place to start out in sales straight out of college.

    Cons

    Although LoopUp is a publicly traded company on the London stock exchange it still feels like a start up.

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2017-05-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing opportunities for entry-level employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LoopUp is truly a wonderful company to work for. They provide all employees with excellent training, pay, and benefits, especially for entry-level positions. Career progression is based on merit; everyone you work with has been in your position before. There's also a great emphasis on teamwork.

    Cons

    Really nothing. I've been with the company for five months and I'm extremely happy.

    LoopUp2017-04-24
  5. Helpful (7)

    "A fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    LoopUp has created the perfect environment for fresh graduates looking for a challenge right out of college. The company is growing fast and there are plenty of opportunities for hard workers to really make a name for themselves. The strength of the company culture is one of the main reasons LoopUp has been so successful and grown so quickly. The staff are so passionate about the company's mission. They will go above and beyond the call of duty to make new employees feel welcome and included. One of the main reasons that I think LoopUp is an ideal starting point for new graduates is because of how much time is invested in new employees. Upon joining, recruits go through a two week induction period, in which they learn about the industry, company and role. This is followed by periodic training sessions on a wide variety of specialist topics. The end result is a young team of highly skilled and motivated individuals. LoopUp rewards hard work and dedication. Since I started I have seen individuals given opportunities that are above and beyond what you'd expect. Whether it's helping to open a new office, relocating overseas or starting a brand new role, there is the sense that the sky is the limit if you put the work in.

    Cons

    As with any small/medium company, you should expect to work hard! This is only a negative for those who expect to make quick career progression with out putting the work in. New employees need to join LoopUp understanding that they are a big contributing factor to the company's growth and success. They will be treated accordingly and be expected to step and to make a positive difference. This is not the company to join if you want to fade in to the background.

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2017-03-02
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Good Luck..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LoopUp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to learn Salesforce if you don't already have knowledge of the CRM platform I guess?

    Cons

    Everything. LoopUp is one of the worst working environments that you can find yourself within. And this is due to a multitude of reasons. Firstly, let's talk about the corporate culture that exists within LoopUp. The company is highly fixated in a certian "Look" that its employees must have (if want further detail of this "look" just look at the employee makeup of the company on LinkedIn). Moreover, the employees must have a a particular attitude and personality to fit this look. If an employee or employees do not fit this mold, you can expect for them to be quickly dismissed from the company (to go into more detail of this topic and to put it into further perspective, I witnessed three different employees get fired from the company within 2 months, all without any warning and one that was not even given a reason for his dismissal). Yes, and as you can probably guess each one did not fit that "look" that I previously mentioned. Furthermore, the company's sales tactics are quite archaic to say the least (at least for the Business Development Associate role which I can safely assume that if you're reading this review is the position that you've either applied for, considered applying for, or have an offer for). LoopUp primarily depends upon cold-calling as the means of getting hold of top executives of companies and booking dates for the sales team to go and attempt to sell their product to. Now, you may be thinking, "wait, isn't cold-calling a standard practice in sales?" And my answer to that question is that you are absolutely right! But....... That's not necessarily an efficient practice when taking into consideration the type of companies that you would be cold-calling. You will be cold-calling some of the largest corporations that exist on a global scale (and no I am not exaggerating in the slightest). And not only that, but you will be expected to convince CIO's and CTO's of these massive companies that LoopUp is so much better than what they are currently using that they should want to see the product for themselves in person!!! (even though LoopUp itself is tremendously inferior to other conference providers out there, but that's another issue in itself). But wait.. there's more! Not only is that the expectation, but you had better hope that you are given good accounts to work, because if not, forget about it. Unlike other similar Business Development Associate/Representative roles where one of the primary tasks you have is to actually go and research good companies to target, you have no control over which companies you call. And make matter worse, the accounts you start off with are the accounts that you will have until the day you leave LoopUp or get promoted (if you can survive for that long). So if you are stuck working those massive accounts that would take weeks, if not months just to get hold of a potential decision maker, good luck. And unlike the sentiments that the company tries to convey to its employees of teamwork, comradery, and always wanting to see fellow coworkers perform at the highest possible level, if you are falling behind what they consider being at target pace, you will be chewed out alive worse than 100 tapeworms inside a pig's intestine. This leads to my next point. You had better hope that management likes you. If not, your days at LoopUp will be short lived (reference my previous point). If you are one of the unlucky ones that management does not find a keen liking too - especially if you don't already fit that "look" - you had better have a plan B. Relating back to the accounts situation, if you managment likes you, you won't have to worry too much about having to work companies that you will nearly impossible to actually make something out of. Don't worry, you'll prosper! But... if you fall under the second category... I can't reiterate enough at this point. Accepting a job at LoopUp is essentially like going all in at a game of Texas Hold 'em. If you end up lucky enough to win on the flop, great! But if not, game over. Moreover, don't be surprised to find management treat you in the most condescending manner possible (at least as implicitly as they can). You'll receive backhanded compliments, subliminal attacks, and an overall vibe/aura that will make you uncomfortable just to walk into the office on a daily basis. To conclude this review, I would say that LoopUp is a fantastic place to work and a fantastic place to learn sales..... if you're lucky enough to be liked by management and if they want to see you get promoted in the future. If not... oh boy oh boy... may you find solace elsewhere. Look, I'm not saying to look at LoopUp as a devilish environment for anyone that steps through those doors into the office. I just want to let anyone who may decide (even after reading this review) to take a job at this company. Just know what you are getting yourself into and look to have an exit plan just in case after a month you notice that you are desired within the company (and I mean that literally - 2 months...). With that being said good luck and uh.. have fun?

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2017-02-26
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Business Development Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some genuinely good people. If you don't like to get drunk and throw up on the office floors during office parties this might not be a fit for you. (Minorities and women might struggle to share this kind of enthusiasm.)

    Cons

    Co-workers may try to undercut you to curry favors with upper management. The trick to selling here is to escape discussing the product and essentially cut corners to explaining why this product is advantageous. It lowers morale to sell an underwhelming product. What company goes public and not give a piece of the pie to the employees. A party in Vegas does not cut it. Do more for your employees and not just random meetings. An example of this is when CA changed the minimum salary for employees. LoopUp went ahead to comply and increased the salary of workers but then reduced the bonuses hence conning the game and not improving the lives of their employees. Turnover rate among employees is very high. They are really looking for contract workers but lie to recruits. It's pretty much a HIRE TO FIRE. Micro-management is a major problem here. They expect you to work more than your 8 hour work shift. Meaning you're underperforming if you keep a normal 8 hour shift. (No over time pay) If you've read all these things and it didn't discourage you. Imagine making $41,000 for 2 years to get a promotion to make $47,000. The monetary compensation isn't worth the hassle. There are better jobs out there. However, if you're really desperate use them for a few months and get out of there ASAP.

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2017-03-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not what it appears to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LoopUp full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people (at least in SF office), good sense of teamwork

    Cons

    Low pay, comissions uncapped but hard to achieve, lots of cold-calling

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2017-02-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Fantastic place to learn sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - BDA 

    I worked at LoopUp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    LoopUp is a fantastic place to learn sales. Everyone is very supportive and drives each other to greater success, and is given a fair chance. You will be right in the middle of extremely gifted salespeople calling throughout the week, and it's amazing to hear. The way the teams are structured keeps the competitive drive but not in a cutthroat way, everyone wants each other to do better. The people are genuinely great.

    Cons

    Parts of the sales process as formally endorsed by management can be slow to change and adjust. However, this is not a con on the individual level, you just have to have absolute belief in everything you do. Sometimes it can be discouraging as the rejections/hangups can come hard and fast with cold-calling. However, you have to keep your chin up and never take no for an answer!

    Continue reading
    LoopUp2016-05-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "BDA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoopUp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is wonderful with helpful, encouraging management and team members. There is a positive atmosphere that motivates and supports everyone. Career progression is clear and attainable. Pay is great for entry level with no cap on commission.

    Cons

    Its a small, but fast growing company so there are a lot of trial and error and changes in processes so sometimes it gets confusing. There are ups and downs and you have good months and bad months, but the people here will keep you up!

    LoopUp2015-06-03
Found 67 reviews