Lorna Jane Reviews | Glassdoor

Lorna Jane Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Bill Clarkson
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "IN conclusion I would recommend a career with Lorna Jane as i Thoroughly enjoyed my time as a LEADER and it Grew me as a PERSON and a LEADER(in 26 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of smart and energetic girls in Lorna Jane(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "I strongly recommend to anyone wanting to start a career, join a retail chain, further their career prospects not to choose Lorna Jane(in 30 reviews)

  • "Last minute changes in strategy from Head Office has challenging effect on field team members(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Entreprenuerial Thinking Encouraged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time

      Pros

      Great company philosophy promoting healthy lifestyle, physically and mentally, and women supporting and encouraging each other. Obtainable growth opportunities from store level to corporate. Company promotes entrepreneurial thinking in individual roles to own your part in the business.

      Cons

      Last minute changes in strategy from Head Office has challenging effect on field team members No 401(k) benefit

      Lorna Jane2019-04-22
    • Helpful (3)

      "Save your Time/Energy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Being around health and wellness.

      Cons

      I worked at Lorna Jane for 3 years and put so much time, dedication, and love into this job with horrible pay especially in a city where cost of living is pricey. I worked at 3 different locations. One being high volume which was great when I started as an Assistant Manager with a great manager and district leader training me. I wanted the opportunity to move to a different state which I interviewed so I could transfer....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stay in Australia. Too many competitors and better product in the US aka Lululemon. Clear indication when your CEO has to borrow $$ from your Australian market to keep stores afloat here.

      Lorna Jane2019-03-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Toxic work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Team members were the best !

      Cons

      I took this position because my location was a lower volume store . I knew I had to put in the extra work to keep it running but I never thought “extra work” would be me working 7-14 days consecutively. No work life balance at all . In general hiring someone takes a week entirely then training them and getting them on board is another story . I put In a longer notice because my location was under staffed most of my new...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat others fairly , hire someone who’s well equipped to run 2 different districts not just one . Plus no one works for free , in California anyone who is salary is compensated OT after the 40 hours . Know your laws .

      Lorna Jane2019-03-07
    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Shop Supervisor in Honolulu, HI
        Recommends

        I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        40% off discount, higher than minimum wage, good team.

        Cons

        Honestly not too many. It’s not a well known brand so it can be a little boring.

        Lorna Jane2019-01-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Store Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Lorna Jane part-time

        Pros

        all THE FREEDOM in the world and no-one cares about you just perform number

        Cons

        bad management they don't and won't care about you staff quits rapidly and sometimes you may be left alone

        Advice to Management

        CARE about your employee stop chasing money.. your employees well make it happen through customer service happiness ect.

        Lorna Jane2018-11-30
      • "It's Okay...."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

        Pros

        I enjoy the creative aspect of merchandising and such.

        Cons

        Management needs work. So much miscommunications between corporate, management, and store level.

        Lorna Jane2018-11-07
      • "Advancement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Management in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        You get to wear active wear daily! You work along side amazing women who have have the same values as you and believe in a healthy lifestyle. With hard work you have the opportunity to grow your career. Lorna Jane challenges you in different ways than any other company and if you are open to thinking outside the box you can have a lot of fun and success.

        Cons

        Australia runs the business and are clueless when it comes to the US market. Stock! We don’t have enough and lose sales daily because we can’t service our customers.

        Advice to Management

        Put someone in corporate who understands the US business. Give the US as much attention as Australia.

        Lorna Jane2018-10-31
      • Helpful (5)

        "Toxic environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in San Diego, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        What the company represents from the outside. The product is comparable to nothing else in quality and design

        Cons

        Ethically this company is at the bottom in its market. Employee relations does not exist. HR presence is minimal, offering employees to feel as if they have no support or resources. Laws don’t apply to the operations of this company. There is no structure for the upper management so they do things in an unethical manner with no consequences. It’s almost as if they run the company simply bc they have stayed and put up...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Operate and conduct yourselves in the manner of which you try to portray to the public. Honestly it will create happy and healthy employees .

        Lorna Jane2018-10-05
      • "Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

        Pros

        Fun environment with fun customers. It’s nice to help them try on clothes.

        Cons

        Bad management, no work life balance, they did not care about their employees

        Lorna Jane2018-08-16
      • "Acknowledge Excellence"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Shop Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        With the right leadership you have to potential to grow and excel in this company, at the end of the day it comes down to having a great manager. Open communication is the key to drive this business. In store you have the freedom to own your business, contribute your ideas, and influence your customer on a higher level -- that most companies are unable to do. The work atmosphere is comfortable and team members...

        Show More

        Cons

        Miscommunication or not enough information before promotions roll out. It seems like offers and policy's are just thrown into perspective without deep thought. Turnover rate: stop promoting just to promote some people are not ready for certain roles. It speaks volumes when stores become understaffed due to an associate leaving because they were overwhelmed by the work load.

        Advice to Management

        You're doing better.

        Lorna Jane2018-07-29
      Found 198 reviews