Lorna Jane Reviews | Glassdoor

Lorna Jane Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 202 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Bill Clarkson
117 Ratings
  1. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount , friendly customers

    Cons

    poor training, if any, poor communication between stores and upper management have to deal with online exchanges

    Advice to Management

    Don’t mislead the people you hire therefore you won’t have such high turnover!

    Lorna Jane2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "DO NOT work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Eagle Farm
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Global brand with lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Poor management, bullying tactics and staff made to cry regularly.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your leadership and treat people better

    Lorna Jane2019-07-28
  3. "Great if you love selling and having no life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The girls I worked with were wonderful

    Cons

    The selling techniques they use here to force products on customers are awful, super pushy and head office and management call constantly to push you to sell more, and find ways to blame you for low daily sales even if customers are not coming through the doors. Also the hours required are awful if you like having any sort of life, for a brand that preaches "move, nourish, believe", they really don't care if their staff...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put the well being of your employees first, and take a look at your sales techniques. Ive had multiple people tell me they won't shop at Lorna Jane as staff will not stop hounding them from the moment they walk in.

    Lorna Jane2019-07-18
  4. "Product Varies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Supervisor in Brea, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount , some flexibility

    Cons

    Meeting sales goals with current inventory and late shipments. Increasing prices.

    Advice to Management

    Take Inventory, stop penalizing employees for exchanges. Ship out items to outlets faster.

    Lorna Jane2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Turbulent and toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a great group of women and making life long friends.

    Cons

    Too reactive, unsupported, understaffed and underpaid. Even if you are doing well there, you are constantly having to prove yourself. If you are stressed or unhappy, don't bother telling HR or management because they frankly don't care and will ostracise you. It is Stockholm Syndrome.

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff more and stop treating them like they are disposable. Make change!

    Lorna Jane2019-07-02
  6. "Wouldn't work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly none besides getting paid

    Cons

    Management is far to profit oriented and lose sight of employee satisfaction. They do not care about their employees other than them hitting unreasonable targets. Benefits of working there are terrible - 20% off full price - this is the same benefit that customers regularly receive. When compared to competitor Lululemon at 70%, 20% of is shocking.

    Advice to Management

    Place more importance of caring for employees.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-21
  7. "It’s about the money not the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Inspiring customers and love hearing their fitness journeys.

    Cons

    Senior management is disorganized. They expect a lot for little pay. They try to run everything out of their Australian office which sets up USA for failure. No growth opportunties, lack of respect and acknowledgement for hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Be accountable, don’t be a hypocrite and lead by example. Treat your employees with trust and respect.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-17
  8. "Not for the faint hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learnt and grew so much both as a person and career wise. The support was incredible and found that if there was something I wanted to learn, I would! Made some amazing friends for life here.

    Cons

    Definitely not for the faint hearted, pressure sometimes got to me. Extremely fast paced so need great time management.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-06
  9. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product training knowledge that’s it. It honestly all depends on your team and state manager

    Cons

    They put the emphasis on managers to get customers in the store even when you’ve exhausted options they expect you to run events ect. Too much pressure on managers for the stores to reach kpi’s

    Lorna Jane2019-05-05
  10. "Entreprenuerial Thinking Encouraged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Great company philosophy promoting healthy lifestyle, physically and mentally, and women supporting and encouraging each other. Obtainable growth opportunities from store level to corporate. Company promotes entrepreneurial thinking in individual roles to own your part in the business.

    Cons

    Last minute changes in strategy from Head Office has challenging effect on field team members No 401(k) benefit

    Lorna Jane2019-04-22
Found 202 reviews