Lorna Jane Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Lorna Jane Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Bill Clarkson
3 Ratings
  1. "Wouldn't work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly none besides getting paid

    Cons

    Management is far to profit oriented and lose sight of employee satisfaction. They do not care about their employees other than them hitting unreasonable targets. Benefits of working there are terrible - 20% off full price - this is the same benefit that customers regularly receive. When compared to competitor Lululemon at 70%, 20% of is shocking.

    Advice to Management

    Place more importance of caring for employees.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "My time as a casual at Lorna Jane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Hobart
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fellow employees Stock Customers Decent hourly rate & weekend pay Occasional sales incentives & rare discount

    Cons

    No support from management High unachievable sales target for our store High staff turn over (management) Little care for floor staff Minimal discount Bullying in higher management Money driven

    Advice to Management

    Care more about staff

    Lorna Jane2018-07-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible company! High turnover for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing is good about working here

    Cons

    Bullying is rife, especially area and store managers. They play favourites and only give shifts and promotion opportunities to their friends. No wonder this brand isn’t popular anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Need to start from the top and squeeze out all the bag eggs. Maybe some training or even better re-hiring.

    Lorna Jane2018-07-23
  4. "Lorna Jane employment review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, friendly staff, good benefits

    Cons

    Where I worked was often quite, sometimes a bit boring, but that was my only complaint

    Advice to Management

    n.a

    Lorna Jane2017-11-27
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Coffs Harbour
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane for more than a year

    Pros

    you have a job i suppose.

    Cons

    - You get "25% off" wow... personal trainers and anyone in the industry get 20% off.... would rather be a pt and get 20% than deal with anyone from lorna jane again - incentive vouchers are a nightmare to track down... if you sell $500 worth of clothing you get a $25 voucher... still owed from november-still calling regional managers and head office which can't even have the decency to return my calls or texts -kilometres...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    think about how you treat your staff. A little something a christmas as a gift to each member of staff or random appreciation would be nice. not just a 160g packet of allens lollies for christmas for the store.

    Lorna Jane2017-07-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Initial 40% staff discount (only on full priced items though) Some good incentives and competitions Meet a few good colleagues

    Cons

    -Poor staff discount 25% -Shift roster was unorganised and written in a diary where other girls or the manager felt they could white/cross out and write in whoever else to take a shift when they wanted to and not give any notice, then call at that time and ask why aren't you at work. -Managers were biased with shifts and even if I performed well and worked hard they gave more hours to the girls they are friends with....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees fairly and equally Organise rosters and pay better

    Lorna Jane2017-05-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Shameful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lorna Jane

    Pros

    The overall aesthetics and feel of the brand (from a shallow perspective) inspire you to pursue a healthier life.

    Cons

    -Terrible and archaical higher management; -Sad employee discount (25%); -Few and strictly trimmed incentives (making it near impossible to ever qualify); -Overnight Casuals were suddenly only allowed 3h shifts (lunch covers) without any communication or notice; -No effort to rectify errors or dissatisfaction, they would rather force you to quit and have to hire + train someone new rather than guarantee staffs needs/requests.

    Advice to Management

    Overall: Happy managers/assistant managers/sales assistants = success for the company. Falling do meet basic standards simply results in staff turnover and inconsistency within the company.

    Lorna Jane2017-04-18
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time

    Pros

    I complained about minor things at the time, but having worked for four different 'big' retail companies now I can see that Lorna Jane was definitely the best. Head Office is in regular contact with you (even the small stores) and all of the girls were encouraging and really bubbly, nice people. I never really got reprimanded if I made a mistake or our store didn't perform, I simply got more training and an opportunity...

    Show More

    Cons

    I did also have a couple of dud managers that didn't even last more than a few months. The staff discount is a bit low considering the high price point of the products. The recruitment process needs work as some of the employees and a mangers I met simply did not suit the role - they didn't even like the brand or product, had no interest in what the company stands for etc.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing but maybe look into refining your recruitment process so as to avoid hiring people who do not reflect LJ's core values

    Lorna Jane2016-04-04
Found 8 reviews