Los Angeles Film School Reviews | Glassdoor

Los Angeles Film School Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles Film School CEO Diana Dercyz-Kessler
Diana Dercyz-Kessler
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "company offers low pay (significantly below market) & no raises(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management is short sighted(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Faculty in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles Film School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and facilities, hardworking students.

    Cons

    Some parts of curriculum lag behind.

    Los Angeles Film School2019-01-17
  2. "Good to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Representative 

    I have been working at Los Angeles Film School full-time

    Pros

    If you're looking for flexible full time schedule, they are willing to work with you.

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity to grow and heavy office politics.

    Los Angeles Film School2019-05-14
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Instructor in Winter Park, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Film School for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule/Remote, Good Benefits Package, Continued education, and certifications offered, Positive and friendly internal culture.

    Cons

    Younger business with room to grow processes and procedures.

    Los Angeles Film School2019-01-30
  4. "Great Working Experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peer Advisor in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Film School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at The Los Angeles Film school, I have grown in my professionalism, creativity, and leadership, I'm grateful for the opportunity to work with some amazing people. Everyone that works there is extremely smart, educated, the staff really care about the students success, and that is very important for the continued growth and success of the establishment.

    Cons

    The Con for me would be that this position was temporary, so it will be ending soon; it's definitely bittersweet that I will be leaving because I enjoyed my experience so much. However, I'm happy and ready to see want the future holds for my professional career and wish continued blessings and prosperity to The Los Angeles Film School.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Growing and Striving for Greatness!

    Los Angeles Film School2018-09-20
  5. "Career Development Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Career Development Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Los Angeles Film School part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I am able to see behind the scenes at career development events, and get the inside scoop on guest speakers.

      Cons

      The traffic in getting to work of course.

      Los Angeles Film School2018-08-20
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor 

      I have been working at Los Angeles Film School full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great company over all and great culture and benefits.

      Cons

      No real cons in my opinion.

      Los Angeles Film School2018-08-20
    • "Audio Repair Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Los Angeles Film School full-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours, decent benefits, parking.

        Cons

        Micromanagement, too many responsibilities for pay rate

        Los Angeles Film School2018-08-22
      • "Needs a lot of work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Los Angeles Film School full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Co-workers on my team were great. The students are the best. HR always made time for my questions and when she interviewed me she was very direct about how hard the role can be but that with the right management and training, she believed I would be great for the role. IT and facilities were really helpful when I started and always made sure I had what I needed. Salary was kind of low for sales but good benefits.

        Cons

        The admissions management team was sneaky. A lot of favoritism. If the manager of the dept. likes you, you get whatever you want. If she doesn’t, your life will be a nightmare. Only way to please her is to kiss up to her.

        Advice to Management

        Stop playing favorites and take some management classes.

        Los Angeles Film School2018-03-20
      • "I Love My Job!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Online Instructor in Orlando, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Los Angeles Film School full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        I can't speak for the F2F program but I'm in the online department and it's basically my dream job. Decent pay, great benefits, and fun, easy work. Get to work from home and inspire students to grow creatively. The pay is somewhat lower than a nearby state university would start you out but the work environment makes up for it. And you have some time and energy to make money on the side if you want. Because our terms...

        Show More

        Cons

        I'm an Online Instructor and an extrovert so I miss teaching F2F sometimes! It's not easy making a 'presence' as an online instructor so you have to try and connect with the students somehow in your own way. I find that they appreciate a lot of encouragement. Online learning isn't easy for everyone!

        Advice to Management

        You're understanding, supportive, and pretty chill. I've never felt micromanaged. Keep up the great work. I feel other instructors could be more appreciative, actually. Recently the head of our department left and Jenna from HQ came and got an earful of feedback from everyone and it really feels like the company listened to us. They implemented some great changes and I'm glad they're focusing on the student advisement...

        Show More
        Los Angeles Film School2018-02-07
      • "Overview"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Los Angeles Film School for more than a year

        Pros

        Been in business 20+ years Graduated thousands of students No different from CC or State Schools (all are expensive) Product is fine Most people are engaged with there work there is opportunity

        Cons

        It could be a lot worse. Honestly, happy and enjoyed the work. Most of these reviews on this site are people that got fired for something I’m assuming

        Advice to Management

        Keep an open mind and you will do fine with employees

        Los Angeles Film School2018-01-18
      Found 76 reviews