Los Angeles Times Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
48%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles Times Executive Editor Norman Pearlstine (no image)
Norman Pearlstine
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dying newspaper advertising insertion business, low morale, no raises and very low pay for wearing many extra hats(in 11 reviews)

  • "Due to their well documented bankruptcy, there were major structural changes happening during that time(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome first Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 

    I worked at Los Angeles Times full-time

    Pros

    Hard work, growth and good environment

    Cons

    Work by Commission and not payment monthly

    Los Angeles Times Response

    September 27, 2019Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We’re glad to hear that working for the Los Angeles Times was such a great first experience. Currently, all sales employees, including inside sales, receive a base salary, paid bi-weekly, as well as incentive payments.

  2. "loved the job"

    5.0
    Former Employee - News Reporter 

    I worked at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    low pay, had to work 3 jobs, tough life


  3. "Growing pains"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, autonomy, ability to have an impact. Dedicated and mission-driven colleagues

    Cons

    Lean operation therefor working here can be overwhelming and projects can be rushed.

    Continue reading

    Los Angeles Times Response

    August 3, 2020Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience interning at the Los Angeles Times. We agree that different employees are motivated by different approaches. We try to remain mindful of that as we create our internship and employee programs, as well as our overall organizational culture. We hope that if you return as an employee someday you’ll be encouraged to do your best work.

  4. "stable place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles Times part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable work environment and helpful managers

    Cons

    Only work couple of times a month

    Los Angeles Times Response

    July 31, 2020Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences working at Los Angeles Times. We're glad to hear your managers were supportive.

  5. "Brand on the up and up"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a great team with a can-do attitude and wanted to take good risks to innovate.

    Cons

    Downside was that it took time for things to happen and there were multiple layers between sales and editorial that sometimes clogged the pipeline with prospects

  6. "Great people, struggling to find new directions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice people and everybody is trying to do the best for the company

    Cons

    Senior management not good at communications

    Los Angeles Times Response

    October 7, 2019Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Los Angeles Times. We agree we are fortunate to work with some amazing people. We appreciate the comments about what’s not working. As we continue with our transformation as a locally-owned, privately-held company, we will continue working to improve how our organization runs and the culture for our employees.

  7. "Great Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good leadership

    Cons

    Lots of competition, product prices not the cheapest.

    Continue reading

    Los Angeles Times Response

    October 7, 2019Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the leadership and compensation while you were here. We appreciate the comments about expectations and understand it is challenging for everybody as we remain keenly focused on building a sustainable business for the future.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Karma Is a Drag, Ain't It?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Walk ... no, run away from this place!

    Cons

    The reason why the Times is such a mess is because management never foresaw the next wave. It's like when people live in earthquake country and are shocked and surprised when one hits. "WHAT JUST HAPPENED? WHY IS MY HOUSE DESTROYED?!" It's because you live in earthquake country, dummy!

    Continue reading

    Los Angeles Times Response

    September 27, 2019Sr. Director Talent Management

    We’re sorry that your experience working at the company wasn’t more positive. The Los Angeles Times was returned to local ownership last year and is now a privately-held company. This has allowed for a period of investment, particularly in our journalism and in technology, and the management team is keenly focused on building a sustainable business.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's near the ocean and the building is new.

    Cons

    Often no parking, no real drinking water, no culture, no structure, no organization, irresponsible finances, misogyny, bigotry, sexism, racism, cultural appropriation, poor pay, overworked.

    Continue reading

    Los Angeles Times Response

    September 27, 2019Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. If you are currently an employee, please consider bringing these concerns to HR or, if applicable, your union representative so that they may be addressed. Many projects are underway to address items you have mentioned. Free parking is available to all employees and a new, convenient parking structure is under construction. Filtered drinking water, coffee and tea are also provided to employees. We have received hundreds of insightful responses to the two all-employee surveys conducted this year, and managers and HR have been collaborating over the summer on a comprehensive pay review. We’re concerned to hear about the cultural issues you have highlighted and would like to be able to work with you directly to address these. Please be assured that your HR Partner is always available to support you with any concerns you have and, if you’re not sure who to contact, details are available on the HR page of the Intranet.

  10. "Not a bad place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Data Engineer in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great coworkers - challenging technical problems

    Cons

    - politically motivated management - poor direction

    Continue reading

    Los Angeles Times Response

    September 9, 2019Sr. Director Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences as an employee at the Los Angeles Times. You may be glad to know that the company was returned to local ownership. There’s been significant investment in technology, with a new CMS and website that launched recently, and a focus on digital subscriptions.

Found 134 reviews