Loudoun County Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Loudoun County Public Schools Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Eric Williams
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, including awesome schedule for a working mother with school aged children, also summers off if desired(in 9 reviews)

  • "It is a very large school system that provides the opportunity for teachers to pursue different facets of the career that interest them(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The teacher pay "sag" for mid-career teachers makes it hard for LCPS to compete with neighboring school systems like Fairfax and Arlington(in 8 reviews)

  • "No benefits - as a part time employee there are(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The benefits are good. Having summers off

      Cons

      I really don't have any complaints about working in the School system

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-05-19
    • "Rewarding job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Sterling, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Wonderful staff and fantastic students

      Cons

      No health benefits for Substitute Teachers

      Advice to Management

      Consider 40 hour weeks full time employment

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-05-21
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 

      I worked at Loudoun County Public Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Salary and benefits were good and PDs.

      Cons

      Time spent there was a lot hence no personal life.

      Advice to Management

      Fairness to all employees and appreciation to the work of teachers

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-05-10
    • "Loved my job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Purcellville, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I loved working for LCPS. I worked at Woodgrove HS most of the time. The staff is amazing! Always felt welcomed. Students are amazing there! I found that in all the HS in LCHS. Loved the flexibility I had with this job. Pay was great!

      Cons

      None! I can’t say a bad thing .

      Advice to Management

      Awesome!

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-04-20
    • "Great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools full-time

      Pros

      Kids, colleagues, resources are amazing

      Cons

      Salary is low for hours worked. Tons of overtime required.

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-04-03
    • "Good people not as good benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Schools are all nice with good teachers and good enviroments

      Cons

      working many years in the county doesn't increase your salary retirement is very complicated

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-04-11
    • "Great Administration"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Job Coach in Ashburn, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      My administration is phenomenal! They are genuine in their concern for their people.

      Cons

      Although the job is quite personally rewarding, there are times it is quite boring. That said, it is a purposeful trait of the position, as students will be more and more independent if you are doing your job correctly.

      Advice to Management

      Keep being invested in your people at a professionally personal level. It is working great.

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-03-18
    • "Abusive leaders stick around. Competent, kind teachers tend to quit after a few years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Ashburn, VA

      I worked at Loudoun County Public Schools full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Most of the school buildings are in great shape. There are many wonderful students.

      Cons

      Both the higher administration and the school-level administrators have the same fault. Their blindness makes them try to keep limiting and controlling what they can't see. When they actually do understand something a teacher is doing and when it seems like a newer method of teaching (when in fact it may have been around for decades), then they try to make all teachers (regardless of the subject) adopt the same method....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Either permit real 360-degree feedback (explained on Wikipedia for any who don't know what it is) that is both anonymous and confidential, or keep believing your own story. You might not be the stellar administrator that you believe yourself to be.

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-03-16
    • "Coaching forLCPS"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Head Coach in Ashburn, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools part-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Quality athletes, solid academic performance, high standards, strong administration support in most schools.

      Cons

      As with all athletic programs, there is no shortage of advice from people who believe they know the games better than the coaches do. This is a wealthy county and money has a voice.

      Loudoun County Public Schools2019-02-02
    • "Safety and Security"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Broadlands, VA

        I have been working at Loudoun County Public Schools part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great system to be a part of.

        Cons

        No negative comments at the moment.

        Loudoun County Public Schools2019-01-16
      Found 139 reviews