Louisiana Legislative Auditor Reviews | Glassdoor

Louisiana Legislative Auditor Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Louisiana Legislative Auditor CEO Daryl G Purpera
Daryl G Purpera
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Auditor II in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great people to work with, learn lots about state government.

    Cons

    Driving downtown may be the only con.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2019-09-28
  2. "Great place to work! The Mission Statement says it best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive management and teamwork between all sections to produce quality and valuable audits for the public, legislature and stakeholders. LLA encourages personal and professional growth through continued education. Mission Statement says it best - To foster accountability and transparency in Louisiana government by providing the Legislature and others with audit services, fiscal advice, and other useful... information.

    Show More

    Cons

    More funding is needed to continue providing quality and crucially necessary audits to protect public funds. Imagine the rampant fraud and waste that could and probably would be happening if not for the diligent auditing of state agencies and required agreed upon procedures for government CPAs. Never ending need for oversight and auditing of state dollars.

    Advice to Management

    Continue expecting quality, professional work by the staff. Thanks for being supportive and appreciating the employees. Keep the open door policy so everyone's voice is heard and improvements continue to be made.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2019-07-10
  3. "Financial Audit Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Louisiana Legislative Auditor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands-on experience and developed relevant field experience

    Cons

    Not many, a little slow at first but picked up

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2018-11-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "LLA Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Auditor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay for CPE, flexible hours, good holidays, mentor program upon hire.

    Cons

    You live on a budget which is cut every year and you are supposed to never go over, you are thrown into auditing which cannot be taught and then crucified for any mistake.

    Advice to Management

    Change the evaluation process.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2018-06-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Due Diligence About LLA is Necessary!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Great place for a first job out of undergrad Decent Pay

    Cons

    Office Politics-incredibly messy Inflexible chain of command Lots of new staff auditors being told to just “go” and not being trained properly Stuffy, antiquated office culture Poor leadership overall, causing serious problems with morale LLA needs to communicate with Staff Auditors to fix their turnover problems.

    Advice to Management

    Consult with your staff auditors Consider your culture-no one who’s outgoing and fun wants to work for your organization Your management needs serious work-on every level in audit and non-audit

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2018-06-13
  6. "Staff 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff II in Baton Rouge, LA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex hours. Overtime not required.

    Cons

    Communication, technology. Management style and dress code are outdated.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more effectively.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2018-02-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Meaningful place to work but it's not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Auditor in Baton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive experience. Work life balance is great. Meaningful work.

    Cons

    Not a clear tone from the top.

    Advice to Management

    Do surveys internally to understand the agency issues/inefficiencies from all levels of the organization. And use the results.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2017-11-03
  8. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Would have been a good place to work if it was more challenging and there was not so much office politics.

    Cons

    Would be a good place to work if it was more challenging and there was not so much office politics.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2017-11-06
  9. "Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and great health benefits. I have been able to use the agency's professional development program to pay for my certification and help with the cost of completing my master's degree.

    Cons

    I have been with the agency about ten years and have enjoyed the variety of work and the staff I have worked with. I do not have a "con" that I can think of.

    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2017-08-28
  10. "Government...Enough Said"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Louisiana Legislative Auditor full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule for most of the year.

    Cons

    Lack of pay raises and missed promises. It is marketed that you will move audits regularly and get to experience new teams. The reality is you are placed on a team and can be forgotten or stuck. Due to the lack of pay raises, a lot of talent is leaving for more lucrative opportunities. Not a lot of motivation to perform the best work in a stagnant environment with less than engaging work. Most things found wrong in... audits result in little to no action for improvement.

    Show More
    Louisiana Legislative Auditor2017-07-16
Found 29 reviews