Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews

Updated February 22, 2017
347 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Founder and Executive Chairman Tom Love
Tom Love
209 Ratings

347 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Pay is good & employees under me are great & benefits are good (in 18 reviews)

  • Matthew balak, that I have ever worked for, caring fast paced team (in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • You are talk to like your something on the bottom of upper management shoe (in 17 reviews)

  • Absolutely no work life balance (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "arbys side"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Ormond Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Team Member in Ormond Beach, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good hour, fun people, very easy job

    Cons

    bad management, no facial hair is aloud

    Advice to Management

    stop micro managing

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We appreciate the kind words, and we also appreciate the constructive feedback. Thank you!!


  2. "It's either for you or not."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Keader
    Current Employee - Shift Keader
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good hours, benefits, great place to get expierence. Ok pay, great people (co workers), give you time off

    Cons

    Hard work, lots of cleaning, truckers, fast pace, lots of rude customers, no personal growth, females are hard to advance in company

    Advice to Management

    Spend a week in our shoes! You give us rules to how things should be, but they are untlrealistic. Good on paper not in real world. Try it out before pushing it out. Also, more female managers and general manager

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review and provide your feedback! We appreciate everything our employees do to serve our Customers, and we would encourage you to talk to your GM about ... More


  3. "Great development possible with the proper training"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant General Manager/Retail Shift Leader in Shelby, IA
    Former Employee - Restaurant General Manager/Retail Shift Leader in Shelby, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Upbeat friendly place with lots of encouragement to succeed and do your best. Flexible scheduling with lots of perks for employees.

    Cons

    At my particular store there was a lack of proper training by management which created a lot of tension between co-workers and unnecessary stress in my opinion.

    Advice to Management

    Success starts with the foundation. You can't build a person or business to greatness without proper training. In my opinion if you don't put in the effort to train then your setting the outcome to automatic failure.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate the constructive feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Loves Restaurants"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwhich Artist in Rolla, MO
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwhich Artist in Rolla, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay. Easy raises. Good company to work for. Clean environment. Many hours to work most of the time.

    Cons

    Coworkers can be horrible at most places. This is a company you can move up in quickly so everyone is constantly in competition. People get very ignorant.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the managers could really learn to treat their staff better.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    We really appreciate you posting a review, and we take your feedback very seriously! Thank you for taking the time to post.


  6. "Business Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Pay, Benefits, Love's Family is very generous.Lack of diversity in upper management.

    Cons

    Need training managers. Some do not know how to communicate with employees.

    Advice to Management

    Training and more diversity.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We read and appreciate all the feedback we get from our employees.


  7. "Cashier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Max Meadows, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Max Meadows, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly faces clean very cheerful environment and a great company to work for

    Cons

    Being short handed at the wrong time and employees not giving enough notice when calling out

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We read each of these reviews, and we're grateful you'd share yours with us.


  8. "Nice folks, labor intense"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tire Technician in Ocala, FL
    Former Employee - Tire Technician in Ocala, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice people and constant stream of customers

    Cons

    Labor intense with low wages.

    Advice to Management

    Pay is way too low to retain long term employee

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate the constructive feedback.


  9. "GReat people who care"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Columbia, TN
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Columbia, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You will work with great people who care. W\e want people who care about the store and the company. They care about us so they pay very well. They try to give you plenty of time off with scheduled days and vacation rime. They want us well rested and not worn out. Plus the benefits are wonderful.

    Cons

    It can be hard to find people who will care so there are times that we are short handed. That make ir a little harder on us to get the side work done.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review - and for pointing out the awesome benefits!


  10. "General Manager in Training"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager In Training in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - General Manager In Training in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Compensation; 1 week paid vacation after 6 months

    Cons

    Schedules are supposed to be posted 2 weeks out, good luck on that happening. Workers are typically unreliable, because it is a truck stop; customers are typically awful, because it is a truck stop.

    Advice to Management

    Look at increasing wages for everyday workers, to improve quality of hires. This could lead to folks actually wanting to be there and being more pleasant to customers.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate the feedback and the advice to management. We love our Customers, both the professional drivers and our four-wheel motorists -- but we thank you for ... More


  11. "screwed over!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Made some good friends 401k

    Cons

    Slave drivers. Favoritism. Drama. Untrustworthy. Back stabbers. Fraud!!

    Advice to Management

    Mind your own business. You get paid to work not gossip!! Stop brown nosing it's a damn gas station.



Showing 347 of 349 reviews
Reset Filters