Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews

Updated November 14, 2017
436 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Founder and Executive Chairman Tom Love
Tom Love
271 Ratings

436 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great benefits and friendly employees along with good management (in 33 reviews)

  • Fast paced work environment with amazing benefits and quarterly bonuses (in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • My biggest con is that some upper management treat the lower management bad (in 23 reviews)

  • low labor matrix, poor work life balance and not best culture (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Professional, friendly and family oriented."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Management Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Inventory Management Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    When I started with this company in Texas, I ended up moving due to illness in the family. Love's was more than willing to assist me in finding a location that I can transfer to to be closer to my family. And when I ended up transferring again, they never saw me as a bother but as a valuable person and helped me relocated again. They have treated me like family with the 5+ years I have been with them.

    Cons

    There is only one.
    Every manager is different, they run their stores differently. Some will have set schedules while others will put you on a sporadic schedule. So depending where you go, you may get a set schedule or not.

    Advice to Management

    Always treat your team member with respect and make them feel appreciated, and they will give that to the customer 10 fold.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Social media strategis

    We greatly value your feedback. Thank you for the kind words. Love's is proud to care for its employees!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Bennett, CO
    Former Employee - General Manager in Bennett, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Loves has a great program called Loves shares. It is not a 401k! They offer that as well. Loves shares are paid out after 7 years of employment. They also pay quarterly bonuses.

    Cons

    Minimal payroll hours. All landscaping is done by the staff. Managers are spread pretty thin between the store, Restaurant and tire shop. It is a salary position.

    Advice to Management

    Very fast paced. Spend time in all 3 areas every day and you will do fine. Organization is key. Don’t forget to make time for conference calls. This company loves them.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    We appreciate you writing this review. Our Love's Shares program is an excellent reward for long-term salaried managers. Thank you for the additional feedback about operations. We will share this... More

  3. "A decade of experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to advance, great benefit package, Love’s shares program (kind of like a profit sharing)

    Cons

    Salaries are lowered for managers because of the promise of Love’s shares. Who you are friends with can affect your level of employment.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    Thank you for the feedback. With a rapidly growing company, we have ample opportunities for career advancement.


  4. "Awesome!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This s definitely an awesome company to work for! The benefits, bonuses, and opportunities to elevate and grow are endless. I enjoy working for this company!

    Cons

    Just be aware that the truck stops are open 24/7, meaning, be expected to be available to have a flexible personal life when considering an offer of promotion.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    Thanks for the kind words! Our benefits and bonus programs really set Love's a part. We love to promote individuals from within the company, too.


  5. "Love's Corporate Office is a Great Place with a Bright Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Marketing Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very quick paced with rewarding challenges and amazing coworkers. The manager is extremely bright and forward thinking - very diplomatic with other teams and an incredible communicator.

    I had face time with the CEO, and I definitely felt like my work made a difference.

    You do good work, it is rewarded with great raises and bonuses.

    Not a lot of red tape on good ideas.

    Bureaucracy was kept to a minimum.

    Cons

    Some weeks were very long in terms of hours worked. At times I felt like my manager didn't quite know what it took to get what he was asking done. Also a pro since it meant he trusted me to do what it took.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the entrepreneurial spirit up!

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    We greatly value you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the feedback. Love's is proud to embrace the entrepreneurial spirit in the corporate office as well as in our stores!


  6. "Maintenance Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Pros

    Not a hard job. Awesome managers that are very understanding.

    Cons

    Nasty Job with lots of rude customers

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Social media strategis

    We appreciate your feedback. Love's is proud to hire and promote awesome individuals to lead our teams nationwide.


  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work in okc

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for being located in okc

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Social media strategis

    Thanks for the kind words! We're proud to employ great folks in the OKC Metro and beyond.

  8. "Sometimes good sometimes bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tire Care Shift Lead
    Current Employee - Tire Care Shift Lead
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Pros

    The concept of the company is very well rounded. Great ideas and commitment to employees from corporate level.

    Cons

    Dm's treat employees like dirt. High expectation from shop with minimum help. Shop gets treated like slaves.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect and understand. Be willing to help when needed not just scream and yell.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    Thank you for writing this review. We greatly care about our employee and will send this note about DMs to upper management.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good job if you're the right gender and lack integrity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Always something to do. Decent pay. And that's really where the pros end in my opinion. Oh the customers are a pro, too.

    Cons

    Management. You will get thrown under the bus if it makes your boss look better. Too high of expectations on cashier's, expected to run desk and clean showers at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    Females can be managers, too. And not just of the restaurants.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    Thank you for writing this review. We are thankful for all the work our employees do. From district managers to VPs, Love's has multiple women in leadership positions.


  10. "Loves travel centers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, flexible, understanding and growing

    Cons

    Leadership, follow up, organization, communication, and training

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Social media strategis

    Thanks for writing this review. We are a rapidly growing company. We will share your feedback with management.


Showing 436 of 442 reviews
Reset Filters