Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews

Updated May 21, 2017
69 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Founder and Executive Chairman Tom Love
Tom Love
45 Ratings

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Pay is good & employees under me are great & benefits are good (in 19 reviews)

  • Great benefits and friendly employees along with good management (in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • No one in upper management would respond to my emails or attempts to contact (in 18 reviews)

  • Long hours at times but the payoff in the long run is well worth it (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AA/Supervisor in Richmond Hill, GA
    Former Employee - AA/Supervisor in Richmond Hill, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have had many opportunities of growth in the 9 years that I was employed with Loves Travel Stop.

    Cons

    It was hard to find a good manager to run the location I was assigned to. This is why I have decided to become a manager by taking a business degree course.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your team and treat them accordingly. Tried to have a professional relationship with your team so that they would want to work for you and with you.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 22, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate the feedback and the positive score. Thank you.


  2. "Cashier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emerson, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emerson, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The customers are awesome! Great benefits as far as health, dental, vision and 401k.

    Cons

    No overtime. No advancement offers regardless of work ethic.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you so much for posting your review. We really appreciate the feedback, and we would encourage you to work with management to make your career goals known, if you haven't already. Love's has ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great development possible with the proper training"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant General Manager/Retail Shift Leader in Shelby, IA
    Former Employee - Restaurant General Manager/Retail Shift Leader in Shelby, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Upbeat friendly place with lots of encouragement to succeed and do your best. Flexible scheduling with lots of perks for employees.

    Cons

    At my particular store there was a lack of proper training by management which created a lot of tension between co-workers and unnecessary stress in my opinion.

    Advice to Management

    Success starts with the foundation. You can't build a person or business to greatness without proper training. In my opinion if you don't put in the effort to train then your setting the outcome to automatic failure.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate the constructive feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "arbys side"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Ormond Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Team Member in Ormond Beach, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good hour, fun people, very easy job

    Cons

    bad management, no facial hair is aloud

    Advice to Management

    stop micro managing

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We appreciate the kind words, and we also appreciate the constructive feedback. Thank you!!


  6. "Loves Restaurants"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwhich Artist in Rolla, MO
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwhich Artist in Rolla, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay. Easy raises. Good company to work for. Clean environment. Many hours to work most of the time.

    Cons

    Coworkers can be horrible at most places. This is a company you can move up in quickly so everyone is constantly in competition. People get very ignorant.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the managers could really learn to treat their staff better.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    We really appreciate you posting a review, and we take your feedback very seriously! Thank you for taking the time to post.


  7. "Nice folks, labor intense"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tire Technician in Ocala, FL
    Former Employee - Tire Technician in Ocala, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice people and constant stream of customers

    Cons

    Labor intense with low wages.

    Advice to Management

    Pay is way too low to retain long term employee

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate the constructive feedback.


  8. "General Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - General Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Well compensated, structured environment.

    Cons

    They expect a lot out of you. Much more than most companies. You will get your hands dirty as your management style will need to be hands on most of the time. Senior management can and will belligerent on some store visits.

    Advice to Management

    Great company if you can stay with it.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We read each and every one of these, and we value the feedback. Very much so. Thanks for all you do in Nashville!!


  9. "Operations manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They take care of their employees and good pay.

    Cons

    Didn't spend enough time with family around the holidays.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Dec 16, 2016 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the work you put in for us in Albuquerque!! We genuinely appreciate it!


  10. "Cashier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Cashier in Anderson, SC
    Current Employee - Cashier in Anderson, SC
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Always meeting new people even though you have a regular routine to follow you still are always doing something different an its not repetive never bored

    Cons

    Pay needs to be better high employee turnover rate an never enough people scheduled for the amount of customers that our store serves

    Advice to Management

    Schedule more people on an average day we serve over 600 customers through the week on gas side an saturday an sunday ive had class to 1000 an even though deisel is a large part of our buisness we need to show more apprecation for the hard working people that choose to give us their buisness because most of the truckers we cater to have big corporations paying for their fuel an our customers on gas side are taking money from their own pockets an we offer them no incentives for this so my suggeation is show all your customers that Loves cares about them an offer them all a loves cards

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We genuinely appreciate the feedback. Thank you for all you do at Love's 387!


  11. "not bad"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shiftlead/Stock/Cashier in Lenoir City, TN
    Former Employee - Shiftlead/Stock/Cashier in Lenoir City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    fast paced, room for advancement, great benefits, team work is a must

    Cons

    long shifts, never a set schedule, did not accommodate for emergencies.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the little man more often

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Dec 1, 2016 – External Communications Manager

    Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and posting your review. We particularly like your advice to management and genuinely appreciate hearing from all our employees (and former employees!).


Showing 69 of 371 reviews
Reset Filters