Lowe's Reviews | Glassdoor

Lowe's Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18446 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Lowe's CEO Marvin Ellison
Marvin Ellison
1089 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay for part -time; receive holiday pay as a part-time employee(in 1204 reviews)

  • "Lots of good benefits stock option(in 917 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you go full time they will make you have open availability(in 597 reviews)

  • "Less hours if part time which sucks(in 537 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (46)

    "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great company. Great Benefits Great People Great work life balance Environment

    Cons

    Currently going through a lot of change and it could be confusing.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate all information for all changes.

    Lowe's2019-02-22
  2. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lowe's

    Pros

    Looks like a good place to work

    Cons

    There are no challenging things

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Lowe's2019-05-22
  3. "Enjoyable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Cabinet Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good supervisors, Good pay in the Cabinet department

    Cons

    Retail hours and certain customers

    Lowe's2019-08-20
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker 

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to experience different departments. Hourly paid is good for part-time workers.

    Cons

    Hours were sometimes cut short for part-timers.

    Advice to Management

    More sales and training for part-time employees to help out customers.

    Lowe's2019-08-20
  5. "Best job ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Receiver, Stocker in Sumter, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job, great pay, great co-workers.

    Cons

    Poor treatment of older employees, poor top management and age discrimination.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with the same respect that you expect from them. Appreciate the job they do and don't discriminate.

    Lowe's2019-08-19
  6. "Customer service associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA/Plumbing in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly associates, helpful management, great environment

    Cons

    Overhire, to many new employees, insufficient training, insufficient hours

    Advice to Management

    Rehire me, I feel like I was unjustly terminated.

    Lowe's2019-08-19
  7. "Ok Experience - We were the "go to" store for the well off needing help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment, the ability to learn about the hardware and home building/installation was exciting.

    Cons

    Some of the mangers have a mentality of "you could never do what I do", which is use a scan gun and come in at 6 a.m. This seems to be a remnant of the "old" Lowe's. The new managers are not like this. Stingy with compensation. The store manager offered a contractor 50,000 less than what he was already making (100,000/annum) to come and work for Lowe's, ridiculously low standards of work!

    Advice to Management

    Actually teach your mangers how to budget and compensate correctly.

    Lowe's2019-08-19
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Nacogdoches, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food Great co-workers Good discount on nonstock items Flexible schedule Tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Poor management Sunday morning store meetings at 5am

    Advice to Management

    Stay consistent with workers

    Lowe's2019-08-19
  9. "Great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers Hours Pay Good benefits Laid back

    Cons

    Employee Discount is only 10% off, at least 20% would be nice. Rotating schedule, if you're full time, you have to work a rotating schedule.

    Lowe's2019-08-18
  10. "Solid Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Great training Offer benefits to part-time employees after a year Good Company Culture (most people there care about their job) Usually pretty flexible with scheduling

    Cons

    Corporate can be overbearing There isn't much room for pay advancement The quality of your job really depends on the manager you have, which could be good or bad

    Lowe's2019-08-18
Found 18446 reviews