Lowe's "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lowe's Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Lowe's CEO Marvin Ellison
Marvin Ellison
1,428 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay with opportunities for advancement(in 1269 reviews)

  • "Lots of good benefits stock option(in 952 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you go full time they will make you have open availability(in 612 reviews)

  • "part-time schedule could vary week to week(in 559 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lowes in Rochester, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get two breaks a day and an hour lunch

    Cons

    Hours aren't the best for a part-time postition

    Advice to Management

    More hours

    Lowe's2019-11-19
  2. "Good Place to Work if You Need a Job Now!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Loader in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management was fair. People I worked with directly did not slack off which I very much appreciated. Hours were good for a part time position.

    Cons

    The only thing that bothered me was their smoking policy. I wish I wasn't a smoker to begin with and even though I found out that the stretch of building and parking lot area was not owned by the company, it was technically against Lowe's employee policy to even go to your own vehicle across the far end of the lot and smoke on a break or lunch.

    Advice to Management

    Address any workers who are standing around and have nothing to do. The lumber yard loaders not on register could help push flat beds back into their section just like I would help them load up customer vehicles instead of looking at their phones on camera.

    Lowe's2019-11-29
  3. "Average employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MSA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits and large company.

    Cons

    Ever changing policies . Gearing to Part Time staffing.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way you want treated

    Lowe's2019-12-06
  4. "Red Vest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good part time work. Friendly co-workers. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Can be very busy at times. Concrete floors tough on the feet & knees.

    Lowe's2019-11-22
  5. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Home Decor in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Laid back place to work. Steady paycheck. Decent pay for the work. Did not enjoy working here full time (because of how the rotation works. You end up working 9 days in a row one week with only one day off. Only get one weekend off a month). But it is a great part-time job.

    Cons

    Can be super slow with no customers and no busy work to complete, left watching the clock.

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible with employees

    Lowe's2019-11-26
  6. "Lowes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good start off pay depending on experience.

    Cons

    They dont know how to manage labor ..so your full time hours are cut to part time and always new management.

    Lowe's2019-11-12
  7. "Enjoyed the people, strict scheduling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loader in Lancaster, PA

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent, time went by fast, and the work wasn't usually overwhelming.

    Cons

    Strict scheduling and you had to work a 9 hour shift every Saturday and Sunday even if you were just part time.

    Lowe's2019-11-06
  8. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet great people ... always something new going on

    Cons

    When you get hired for part time you don’t get a lot of hours because they give the full time people preference

    Lowe's2019-11-05
  9. "Used to be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pro Services Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Discount is ok, if you can get the right position and full time it's not too bad. Dental and vision are pretty good

    Cons

    Actual health insurance is pretty terrible, if you are part time you'll get no hours and I'd you are full time you'll be worried about CEO cutting your job next. Every year the bonuses and insurance get worse. Employee morale is incredibly low under current CEO. Used to recommend people apply, but no longer under new management .

    Advice to Management

    Sort yourselves out and actually listen to your employees

    Lowe's2019-11-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, flexibility, and great benefits

    Cons

    Part time hours is the only con

    Lowe's2019-10-13
Found 1123 reviews