Lower Colorado River Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Colorado River Authority Reviews

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Lower Colorado River Authority CEO Phil Wilson (no image)
Phil Wilson
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay increases are not enough to keep up with Austins rapidly rising cost of living(in 5 reviews)

  • "Little to no incentive to go beyond the expected, regular employees do receive this benefit(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A public service organization - you feel like the work you do matters!

    Cons

    Some promotions from within suggest nepotism. The board of directors serve at the leisure of the Governor of Texas.

    Continue reading
    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-10-15
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CyberSecurity Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management will listen and strong talent on the Cybersecurity team

    Cons

    Poor bonus structures compared to energy sector. Poor work life balance

    Continue reading
    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-11-27
  3. "Enjoy educating children and learning about nature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Cedar Creek, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great hours, fun job , dynamic environment. Supervisors are very supportive.

    Cons

    Days can be hectic and dealing with parents is not always easy.

    Continue reading
    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-09-04
  4. "LCRA is a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good time off policy Match 401k up to 8% Not super stressful

    Cons

    Pay can be low compared to private firms Job enjoyment varies from one department to another.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-07-23
  5. "Not the Worst Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible, usually a good work life balance, great mission, most of the people are wonderful.

    Cons

    Little to no opportunities for advancement, lots of outside "friends" brought on. Job postings are misleading. If you apply, don't be surprised if you don't even get acknowledged.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-07-08
  6. "Category Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Buyer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    None, I love working for Lower Colorado River Authority.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-07-05
  7. "Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The working people are great.

    Cons

    The current management team is really bad. It’s all about them, not about the people that do the work.

    Continue reading
    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-08-05
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Power Plant Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good employees, no drama

    Cons

    lots of rules policies and procedures to follow of course

    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-06-06
  9. "Be very careful at LCRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Technician in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice. Office is clean. Gym/kitchen area's are nice. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    If you are a contract person, you will not be hired on after your contract. LCRA has this messed up policy about hiring people after the contract is done, blame HR. HR has TOO MUCH POWER, I have heard a lot of bad news about HR. when I was a contractor my background was handed to HR from the start and they were ok with it. I had some minor things from 6 or 7 years back. I was offered a position there, after being there 10 months. When HR ran my background check they got the same info the first time around then then fired me and cancelled my contract afterwards.

    Continue reading
    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-06-26
  10. "Environmental Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time

    Pros

    you work outside which is nice

    Cons

    can be boring, a lot of driving

    Lower Colorado River Authority2019-05-20
Found 91 reviews