Lower Colorado River Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Colorado River Authority Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Lower Colorado River Authority General Manager Phil Wilson (no image)
Phil Wilson
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "LCRA is my employer of choice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Although I have been proud to work at LCRA since I was hired in 2003, I have never been more proud than I am at this time. The main reason for that enhanced sense of pride comes from the strong executive leadership team we currently have in place. They focus on running a smart business, doing the right things and genuinely caring for the safety and well-being of employees. I can honestly say that I have learned a lot from them and have become a better leader myself because of their influence. Our mission has always been at the forefront of everything we do and that continues to be a key part of our culture. We have high expectations for ourselves and hold each other accountable to meet those high expectations. I have been fortunate to serve in many different roles at LCRA over the years and appreciate the development opportunities that the organization has provided to me. LCRA does a really good job analyzing compensation and benefits on a regular basis to ensure we are competitive. Additionally, I thoroughly enjoy working with my direct team, but also other teams across LCRA. The people at LCRA are fantastic!

    Show More

    Cons

    Comprehensive improvement takes time and some processes are still inefficient. However, employees are dedicated to doing their best and we continue to make strides toward being as efficient and effective as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing! Continue to develop strong teams, reward top performance and keep safety as the highest priority.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-08-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Administrative Officer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at LCRA. The people are smart, capable, and dependable. Our team is motivated by our public service mission and the desire to improve the lives of Texans. We are as innovative as our heritage (LCRA was the first organization to bring electricity to rural Central Texas). We provide water, energy, and community services to some of the most vibrant and fast-growing communities in the state. I'm continually learning, challenged, and interested in this job. I love the people here. They have high integrity, high standards, and a lot of spirit. Safety is our top priority, and we really "walk the walk." And after 80 years, LCRA are still just getting started!

    Show More

    Cons

    Look, LCRA jobs are tough jobs. Some of our jobs -- especially in law enforcement -- will put you on the front lines of keeping the public safe from floods and natural disasters. LCRA supports flood evacuations and protects critical infrastructure. We protect the parts power grid from cyber and physical attacks. We operate public safety websites and radio networks that most be 100% reliable. We run 44 parks, often busiest on the holidays, which can mean daily contact with the public. These are tough jobs in which our people really put themselves on the line. A healthy sense of adventure and a sense of humor are essential. While I'm motivated by that challenge, LCRA's tough jobs are not for the faint of heart!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In full disclosure, I'm in management. So I'll skip this one. ;-)

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-07-26
  3. "Park Program Coordinator 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Park Program Coordinator I in Bastrop, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to use your own personal telescope to show the patrons the night sky.

    Cons

    When it's cloudy, the entire function is canceled.

    Advice to Management

    Communication needs to be maintained.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-07-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lower Colorado River Authority

    Pros

    they have good benefits and hard working employees. It's a shame that they never get recognized.

    Cons

    management has no clue to what is going on. Benefits have started to get more expensive and no raises. No career advancement opportunities.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-08-22
  5. "Stable company, but don't expect to get rich here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Associate I in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are genuinely great.

    Cons

    Benefits seem to be decreasing year by year. Phil is looking to make raises strictly merit based (not necessarily a con, but no longer a sure thing)

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-05-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, large enough company to move around in, with good potential for advancement.

    Cons

    Sometimes very slow moving with change, and frequently meetings are ineffective.

    Advice to Management

    Get more creative with the way you reward employees and the way you ensure your employees have fun at work. There's a distinct lack of fun in this environment.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-04-24
  7. "Trying to Crawl Into The Modern World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent co-workers and direct supervisor/managers in the current department. Depends on what area of the company you work. Love 4/10 shifts.

    Cons

    Heavily relying on contractors instead of hiring full-time employees. Sub par compensation and not increasing workforce until employees are extremely overworked. Advancement is more tailored to who you know rather than what you can do.

    Advice to Management

    A tendency to promote engineers into management roles when a P.E. is not necessary. Hiring someone with more relevant skills would be a better fit. Many qualified candidates are passed over for jobs because of some notion those two letters make you qualified for doing something more than stamping a piece of paper. Need to hire and train workers before the older workforce retires and take their knowledge with them.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-03-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Top heavy organization with industrial challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work Life balance and a decent wellness program

    Cons

    Salary, career advancement, bureaucracy

    Lower Colorado River Authority2017-02-03
  9. "Strategic Communications Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be a stable environment for skilled engineers and project managers. Good people.

    Cons

    Somewhat a govt type beaucracy. Senior leadership is political and thereby has tendency to chang and with that change subordinate leadership will follow.

    Advice to Management

    Improve senior managemwnt leadership with subordinate staff.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2016-11-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lower Colorado River Authority full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule for most employees

    Cons

    Sometimes internal politics gets the best of people.

    Lower Colorado River Authority2016-10-20
Found 91 reviews