Lower Loan Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Lower Loan Advisor Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a fast and simple path when it comes to career advancement. The training process is quick and simple as well but also continues for anyone who may need extra coaching to get the hang of things. Nobody is left in the dust to succeed or fail on their own. Management consistently commends hard work and performance. There are high expectations for all employees and Management does a great job leading from the front to achieve those goals. Very fun and positive work environment. Everyone is happy and friendly throughout every department of the company. The CEO and upper level management always make themselves seen and included as part of the over all team. They do a great job of expressing the goals for the company and making it feel like a team effort to achieve them. Core values of the company are great and always a high priority topic.

    Cons

    I personally haven't experienced any cons.

    Continue reading
    Lower2020-02-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I LOVE MY JOB!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is unlike ANY other - there is a young, motivated, and happy vibe that you will pick up from a walk through our office! The management genuinely cares about each employee's well being and success. There is also constant transparency about our company's goals and where we want to be in the future from everyone in management all the way up to the CEO. My coworkers make coming into work fun and I know that I ALWAYS have a support system behind me. Lower hosts multiple social gatherings for different teams to get to know one another and they're always a blast! I LOVE working at Lower and could not see myself happy anywhere else!!

    Cons

    The only con I have is that I wish the retirement match was more competitive.

    Continue reading
    Lower2020-02-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't want to work anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture, great programs to sell and the ability to make a lot of money right out of college are just a few examples of things that make this place great.

    Cons

    Due to the addition of new employees, the bathroom is usually so full that a lot of the time you have no where to go which forces you to wait an unreasonable amount of time. Hopefully this is addressed as we continue to grow.

    Continue reading
    Lower2020-02-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing stepping stone and character-building experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Lower for then past year and a half has been a life-changing experience. The company as a whole: - If you're between the ages of 22-30, this company has an incredible culture. I feel like I have made as many friends as Lower as I did back in college, and it has made my move to Columbus an incredibly fun experience. I know some people who fell into the post-college depression for a few years, but going to work every day with some of your best friends completely eliminates that possibility. - PTO is great. I'm in year two at the company and have 3 weeks of PTO. Next year I'll have a whole month. The Job: - The Loan Advisor role has truly been a character-building experience. Not many other entry-level type jobs give you the immense amount of responsibility and challenge that comes with being a loan advisor - but I think that's a good thing. There are so many experiences that I've had as a loan advisor that I know will blow away job recruiters whenever I decide to change careers. You feel like you serve a very important purpose, because you are helping people make one of the biggest financial decisions of their life. - If you are good at the job (which might take you a while), you can make a lot of money.

    Cons

    The company as a whole: - The 401k match isn't good The job: - It can be extremely stressful. You get to know your clients very well over the phone over the month-long origination process, and a lot of times something will come up that disqualifies them from the loan, so you have to learn how to give very bad news to people on a somewhat regular basis. It sucks, but it has thickened my skin and has really force-taught me how to communicate with people in negative situations.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-01

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! We understand that working can be stressful. To help our team be more knowledgeable about their overall health, we provide quarterly lunch-and-learns around the topic of health. Our upcoming lunch-and-learn specifically will go over how to effectively manage stress!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture; Growing but not without Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're young, energetic and have a passion and drive you will not find a better place to work in the Columbus area. Lower.com truly is a company where hard work is recognized and rewarded. If you put in the time, the sweat, and tears - give a sh!t as the CEO likes to phrase it - you will find career and financial success. The culture is friendly but competitive - definitely a sales company. You're treated as a friend and family when you join the team, getting out what you put in. With field days, company happy hours, costume contests, a modern culture initiative, Lower.com isn't just a place where you can show up to work but a place where you can show up and enjoy working.

    Cons

    If you are working outside of sales, that good culture can be diminished; you definitely have to try harder to find it. If you are in sales, long and awkward hours can be expected as you are dealing with the financial well-being of people with lives existing outside of the 9-to-5 schedule. Broad, long-term goals regarding company growth can be hard to grasp, with changes seemingly coming at the last minute. Communication and organization can be sparse when needed and overbearing when not. There are definitely growing pains to be found if you know where to look.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-31

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that you enjoy working with us! As we continue to grow as a company, we are finding process improvements along the way. We are successful in this way because our team approaches change with an optimistic mindset!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of earning potential, amazing work environment - coming to work is fun! supportive team members and leads who are always there to support your development.

    Cons

    The 401k match at the early stages of the company.

    Lower2019-09-27

    Lower Response

    October 29, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the feedback - We have a great company culture and strive to help everyone succeed and become the best that they can be!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Very high energy culture and opportunity to learn bout the financial industry at the same time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers you work with make going to work actually enjoyable.

    Cons

    Hitting numbers is important, but its a business so its expected. Also, there is a lack of bathrooms.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the feedback - We are happy to know that you enjoy coming to work!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people in management asked me what my goals were right off the bat- from the first time we met. Even if you don't know what you want to do, this is a culture that feeds creativity. There are lots of employee competitions, such as best tagline or most active on social media. All of the people I work with are receptive and willing to answer my questions, and there are a lot. The new position they have added to streamline the transition to licensed loan advisor is a great addition to the company. I loved the month I spent learning, practicing and watching my mentor help people get the loans they need.

    Cons

    The 401k leaves some to be wanted. That being said, they have said they want to improve it, but they are so new that they haven't been able to yet.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for the review! We value all feedback to make improvements company wide.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lower.com - Place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and energetic company job with great people

    Cons

    Lots of information to learn about industry

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Since there is a lot of information to learn, we have an on-site training team that sets aside time to meet with you to prepare you to pass the NMLS exam and become successful in the mortgage industry. Our team sets aside time to meet with you to study and answer any questions!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lower is a special place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment! I enjoy coming to work because I work with peers that I get along with and the company has fostered an amazing culture. Everyone has a voice and upper management always has their door open. Not your typical office job

    Cons

    Occasionally have to work a Saturday, but you get the following Friday off.

    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We appreciate the feedback and enjoy maintaining a great culture!

    Continue reading
Found 32 reviews