Lower Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Headed in a Great Direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I will start by saying that I thoroughly enjoy coming to work every day! You can definitely see that management cares about your career growth and success. The company holds a monthly leadership development series where they bring in an influential speaker to talk on a variety of leadership topics to promote self-development. To me, this speaks volumes! In addition, the overall environment and culture of the company is very positive and uplifting. Everyone truly enjoys being with their colleagues and it shows! I could go on forever but this is a great company to look at when considering a career move.

    Cons

    I have been with the company for about a year and have not found any true cons to working with Lower.com. The company gives you the tools to succeed, it is all up to you how you use them!

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-06

    Lower Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving your feedback and taking advantage of our leadership development series! We enjoy seeing our employees develop their leadership skill set.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Culture of innovation with unlimited potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Any new career or job will become your 'home away from home.' It's a simple and honest fact that in our working years, we will spend a significant amount of our lives at work. This company recognizes, appreciates, and embraces that by cultivating a winning culture in the workplace that exceeds expectations in workplace satisfaction. From the design of the work space itself, to the tone of messaging from top leadership down, Lower exudes an environment conducive to innovation. Thought leadership is welcomed and encouraged from all voices within the company's walls - no matter the title or tenure of the employee. We value and appreciate what makes our employees unique and successful, and aim to amplify and celebrate those characteristics as part of our culture. You will be hard-pressed to find another team environment as fun or exciting than the one being built at this fin-tech. Leadership is never complacent with the status quo, and expects the same of their employees in providing life-changing customer experiences.

    Cons

    I have been at this company for only a few short months and have yet to identify situations or issues that I'd personally consider a con. I understand there are steep learning curves in this industry that often give young job-seekers hesitation in getting started. Our company has put in place excellent hands-on training programs taught in-house by Lower management teams to give our future sales leaders the best opportunity to create the future they desire. The personal willingness to self-motivate your career in this way is not for everyone. The company is growing rapidly with no plans to slow down. In fact, we continue to innovate and put in place new best practices and services that change the way we do work now, and will change the way we do work in the near future. Incoming employees must be change agile and able and willing to adapt and embrace the vision of the future that defines this company. Again, not so much a con as it is a recognition that this may not be the best cultural fit for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-05

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for leaving your feedback! As a growing company, we value internal promotion and training our existing employees to further advance their career. We are rapidly growing and as you mentioned, not plans to slow down any time soon.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very fun place to work with clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lending Coordinator in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time

    Pros

    they set a clear expectation and there are plenty of people here to help with whatever questions you may have

    Cons

    I dont think 10 days paid time off is enough

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-31

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for leaving a review! We aim to have a positive and supportive work environment. As you mentioned, we do provide 10 days of PTO in your 1st year of employment. However, once you reach your 2nd and 3rd years of employment, you will have 15 days of PTO. Further, in your 4th year of employment and on, you will receive 20 days of PTO. With that said, it does accrue quickly when you stay with the company!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - V P Branch Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lower.com offers employees an opportunity to not just start their career but to take charge of it and take it to the next level. There is a clear path for advancement in both the sales and operations departments, with clearly established milestones and objectives to reach the next level. Until you reach some of the highest levels there is no need to wait for someone above you to leave in order to advance, its all in your hands. Another great thing is the culture. When most people talk about culture they talk about having fun at work- yes Lower.com has that piece, but what I think is truly special is the way everyone is encouraged to share in the mission of making Lower.com the best mortgage company and the best place to work. Whether you have been here for 1 day or 3 years, regardless of what your position is, your voice will be heard and you will have the opportunity to help shape what Lower.com becomes. This is what I find truly special and exciting. No team, company, or school is ever perfect, but i believe that at Lower.com you have a stronger ability to impact and change things than anywhere else.

    Cons

    Lower.com is a dynamic company and often implements improvements that can change how things are done. While in my experience those changes are always resulting in forward progress, if you don't like change this isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-31

    Lower Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    One of our core values, "Independent Thinkers, Tightly Aligned," proves that we value all ideas and opinions for the greater good of the company. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing stepping stone and character-building experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Lower for then past year and a half has been a life-changing experience. The company as a whole: - If you're between the ages of 22-30, this company has an incredible culture. I feel like I have made as many friends as Lower as I did back in college, and it has made my move to Columbus an incredibly fun experience. I know some people who fell into the post-college depression for a few years, but going to work every day with some of your best friends completely eliminates that possibility. - PTO is great. I'm in year two at the company and have 3 weeks of PTO. Next year I'll have a whole month. The Job: - The Loan Advisor role has truly been a character-building experience. Not many other entry-level type jobs give you the immense amount of responsibility and challenge that comes with being a loan advisor - but I think that's a good thing. There are so many experiences that I've had as a loan advisor that I know will blow away job recruiters whenever I decide to change careers. You feel like you serve a very important purpose, because you are helping people make one of the biggest financial decisions of their life. - If you are good at the job (which might take you a while), you can make a lot of money.

    Cons

    The company as a whole: - The 401k match isn't good The job: - It can be extremely stressful. You get to know your clients very well over the phone over the month-long origination process, and a lot of times something will come up that disqualifies them from the loan, so you have to learn how to give very bad news to people on a somewhat regular basis. It sucks, but it has thickened my skin and has really force-taught me how to communicate with people in negative situations.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-01

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! We understand that working can be stressful. To help our team be more knowledgeable about their overall health, we provide quarterly lunch-and-learns around the topic of health. Our upcoming lunch-and-learn specifically will go over how to effectively manage stress!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lower has a great culture. There's a high degree of trust throughout the office that allows employees to work with autonomy but also enough direction and incentive to provide motivation. Lower management clearly works to provide the best opportunities they can to their employees to help them succeed. Additionally, there's lots of opportunity for upwards movement.

    Cons

    The 401k match is lacking.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-28

    Lower Response

    October 29, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    As a growing company, we are very motivated to maintain a great culture and make improvements. Thank you for leaving a review!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Workplace Like I've Never Seen!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only been here a short time, but in that time I have encountered some of the most friendly and helpful co-workers and friends. Whether it was study help for the NMLS or working up a confusing loan, I received a great deal of assistance from various people. This may not be big deal for most, but I have not been fed this much free food from a job before. They're always buying lunch or breakfast to show appreciation.

    Cons

    I have yet to experience any cons to working here.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-28

    Lower Response

    October 29, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the feedback! We value our incredible, positive culture and since we've had 3 back-to-back record breaking months, we enjoy rewarding our team for all of the hard work that they have put in.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If I didn't work here then I'd leave the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training and development within the company helps to provide the tools needed and knowledge for to how to use them. This industry is like an iceberg where 10% is easy to see but 90% requires more attention.

    Cons

    The 401K match should be better.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-29

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback - As we continue to grow, we look for areas for improvement!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture; Growing but not without Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're young, energetic and have a passion and drive you will not find a better place to work in the Columbus area. Lower.com truly is a company where hard work is recognized and rewarded. If you put in the time, the sweat, and tears - give a sh!t as the CEO likes to phrase it - you will find career and financial success. The culture is friendly but competitive - definitely a sales company. You're treated as a friend and family when you join the team, getting out what you put in. With field days, company happy hours, costume contests, a modern culture initiative, Lower.com isn't just a place where you can show up to work but a place where you can show up and enjoy working.

    Cons

    If you are working outside of sales, that good culture can be diminished; you definitely have to try harder to find it. If you are in sales, long and awkward hours can be expected as you are dealing with the financial well-being of people with lives existing outside of the 9-to-5 schedule. Broad, long-term goals regarding company growth can be hard to grasp, with changes seemingly coming at the last minute. Communication and organization can be sparse when needed and overbearing when not. There are definitely growing pains to be found if you know where to look.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-31

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that you enjoy working with us! As we continue to grow as a company, we are finding process improvements along the way. We are successful in this way because our team approaches change with an optimistic mindset!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - new idea's are always welcomed - extremely rewarding position and career - strong team values - very welcoming culture - innovative ideas and always ahead of the curve

    Cons

    I do not have one bad thing to say about Lower. The upper management truly care about our success and do everything in their power to make us successful.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-09-27

    Lower Response

    October 29, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Your feedback is appreciated! Our core value, "Independent Thinkers, Tightly Aligned," is something that sets us apart. We value new, innovative ideas that help improve our company as a whole.

    Continue reading
Viewing 11 - 20 of 93 Reviews
Previous PageNext Page