Lower Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of earning potential, amazing work environment - coming to work is fun! supportive team members and leads who are always there to support your development.

    Cons

    The 401k match at the early stages of the company.

    Lower2019-09-27

    Lower Response

    October 29, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the feedback - We have a great company culture and strive to help everyone succeed and become the best that they can be!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Work Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Concierge in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment with plenty of support all around. Your production is largely based on the effort you put in. People around the office willing to answer any questions to help you better understand any difficulties you are running into.

    Cons

    Steep learning curve - a common theme within the mortgage industry

    Lower2019-10-03

    Lower Response

    October 29, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! We aim to provide all of the tools to be successful in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "PLEASE READ- YOU WILL REGRET WORKING HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are all the same age.

    Cons

    Where to start with Lower.com… I started with the company about 2 years ago when they were still Homeside Financial, it starts off exciting because you’re with a young company who is growing and you feel that you can grow with the company because you’re starting so young. Everyone starts off as an account manager where day to day activities are making about 600-700 cold calls per day so you can transfer leads to the loan officers. In this position, your goal is to be promoted to loan officer. It can take anywhere from 2-9 months (average of 3-4) depending on the timing of everything and how quickly you can pass the SAFE Act test. Once you get promoted to a loan officer, you will actually start to make a little bit of money. It starts off great because you’re going from making 700 calls per day to talking to about 5-7 new people per day. The days as a loan officer go by slightly faster which is good but there is ZERO flexibility in the role. You NEED to be at your desk/in the morning meeting at 9am; don’t be late, but also, don’t be early because they don’t count that as time on the clock. Lunch during the week is at 1pm-2pm, as a loan officer, if you’re on a call until 1:15 because an account manager sent you a transfer right before lunch, then your lunch is now only 45 minutes. A lot of people (including myself) thought they could do that long term, but then after a few months go by and it’s the same thing every day and you don’t learn anything new, you get tired of it. Are the people there fun to work with? Absolutely. Everyone is in their 20’s and has a similar goal of making money. I promise no amount of money is worth it to work here. Now when you interview, they are going to promise you the world, 6 figures in the first year, and show you the only example of that because there has only been one person in the last 3 years (most of the time, if it’s too good to be true, that’s probably the case). Lots of people make 50k-65k but there are still a lot of people making less than 40k. I was told the saying believe none of what you hear and half of what you see; that is absolutely the case for this company, I feel like I was lied to just about everyday and if it wasn’t a lie, we were being sold on why something bad was actually good (it usually wasn’t). I would talk to people everyday about when they were going to be quitting and just about everyone has an expiration date of when they can’t take it anymore. At the end of the day, I can go on a rant for hours about Lower/homeside, but there is a reason that there are only about 20-25 people who have worked there past 2 years and probably half of them are too unmotivated to switch careers/cannot and the other half are management people because they helped start the company and even “put together the Ikea desks” that they will tell you about every 6 months. Please take this post as you will, but overall, I would not recommend working here. I can promise that even if you do stick it out for a year or however you want to convince yourself to work here, you will think of this post and you will say “man, that post was right”. Best of luck to you in your job search, YOU CAN DO BETTER! Last thing, definitely don’t work here if you don’t want to work on the weekends/after standard work hours. You will be miserable because you work one Saturday per month and borrowers will want to talk to you at any hours of the night, there have been many Friday night where I am out and have to talk a borrower back into doing a loan because they are getting cold feet. Also, the product you are selling is a little sketchy, everyone knows it at the company and Lower has had to convince the credit unions that they get the loans though to keep allowing them to sell as they are. If they did not agree, lower would lose all of their business because the rates on their loans are so high (mostly on refi). You will also realize that borrowers can just go straight to the credit union that we use and usually get a better loan because they don’t actually have to do a refinance with lower and they can just get a HELOC with the credit union and keep their 3%-4% mortgages. IN ORDER TO BE SUCCESSFUL YOU HAVE TO BE UNETHICAL.

    Lower2019-10-27

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed working with the people here at Lower.com and we agree that the employees here are wonderful and a lot of fun to work with! We would like to address some of your statements regarding your experience with Lower.com. Account Manger Position: In this position you are training to be a Loan Advisor. The position is set up to be a 30-45 day tenure position. If an Account Manager fails the Safe exam, that can extend the tenure in this position for an additional 30 days. To prepare for the Safe test, we provide over 40 hours of proctored study time, practice test and all the study material needed to adequately prepare. Our Account Manager’s make a minimum of $40K per year plus bonus. Since this is an entry level sales position, it’s the starting point in terms of income. As you get promoted to higher level positions, you receive a higher level of compensation. Flexibility in the Loan Advisor Position: It is true that you need to be at work at 9am, but most of our employees don’t view this as a negative because we hire driven and motivated individuals. Our clients start calling us at 9am so it is necessary to have our Loan Advisors here to take these calls. Our Loan Advisors are afforded copious amounts of autonomy to determine what they are doing during the day. Management is here as a resource to guide, support, and field questions, not to micromanage. Opportunity: This year alone we have promoted over 30% of our staff and we pride ourselves on promoting from within for leadership positions. As a fast-growing financial technology company, there continues to be many opportunities for advancement. It's true that much of our staff is less than 2 years with our company. We are a very fast growing start-up that has only been in existence for a short amount of time, by default the vast majority of our employees have joined us in the last 12 months. Work Schedule/Hours: Once a month our Loan Advisors work Saturday but they also get the following Friday off, so they get a 3-day weekend once a month. This was a suggestion by one of our employees to have the ability to connect with more clients. We thought it was a great idea and implemented it. Our Products: All our products are compliant with government regulatory standards. Our Loan Advisors provide beneficial products at competitive rates and prices along with amazing customer service. There are thousands of 5 star reviews posted by satisfied clients on Google, Facebook, Zillow.com, etc. Additionally, Lower was just recently ranked #1 in Customer Satisfaction by LendingTree.com out of 350+ finance companies nationally. We are disappointed that your experience seems less than positive and we wish you had come to us when you were still here to talk to us about your concerns. We are always open to employee feedback and looking to improve. We will pass your review onto our employee run Culture Committee and management so we can continuously improve all aspects of our employee experience.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment with solutions for all people.

    Cons

    It can be fast pace.

    Lower2019-10-01

    Lower Response

    October 7, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your response and we are happy to hear that you feel that this is a great company, we agree! The fast paced, high energy, and stimulating work environment is something that most employees see as a positive vs. a slow paced, low energy, repetitive work environment. It's not for everyone though which is why we try to be as transparent as possible in our interview process regarding what the responsibilities of the position require and fully disclose that a working for one of the fastest growing companies in Ohio is going to be fast paced. If you are having difficulty with the pace, reach out to HR or one of our management staff and we would be glad to provide some training, workshops, tips, and mentorship to help you acclimate.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Very high energy culture and opportunity to learn bout the financial industry at the same time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers you work with make going to work actually enjoyable.

    Cons

    Hitting numbers is important, but its a business so its expected. Also, there is a lack of bathrooms.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the feedback - We are happy to know that you enjoy coming to work!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people in management asked me what my goals were right off the bat- from the first time we met. Even if you don't know what you want to do, this is a culture that feeds creativity. There are lots of employee competitions, such as best tagline or most active on social media. All of the people I work with are receptive and willing to answer my questions, and there are a lot. The new position they have added to streamline the transition to licensed loan advisor is a great addition to the company. I loved the month I spent learning, practicing and watching my mentor help people get the loans they need.

    Cons

    The 401k leaves some to be wanted. That being said, they have said they want to improve it, but they are so new that they haven't been able to yet.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for the review! We value all feedback to make improvements company wide.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best environment I have ever been a part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve absolutely loved coming in to work here at Lower. Everyone who is involved is very supportive of one another, which helps build individuals up. This promotes growth as a professional and the management love to see unique individual approaches to new concepts and ideas. Overall, when you’re working with Lower, you feel less like coworkers and more like a family. One of the best places I’ve ever worked in my life.

    Cons

    401k policy isn’t the best. Other than that there isn’t any downside.

    Lower2019-08-20

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving a review! We take pride in having a great company culture. Our HR team is always looking at making improvements to our benefits so be on the lookout for those updates.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lower.com - Place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and energetic company job with great people

    Cons

    Lots of information to learn about industry

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Since there is a lot of information to learn, we have an on-site training team that sets aside time to meet with you to prepare you to pass the NMLS exam and become successful in the mortgage industry. Our team sets aside time to meet with you to study and answer any questions!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lower is a special place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment! I enjoy coming to work because I work with peers that I get along with and the company has fostered an amazing culture. Everyone has a voice and upper management always has their door open. Not your typical office job

    Cons

    Occasionally have to work a Saturday, but you get the following Friday off.

    Lower2019-08-21

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We appreciate the feedback and enjoy maintaining a great culture!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Growth Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very straight forward, detailed plan for advancement High pay compared to other lenders Large selection of programs to sell Great work environment Management is very knowledgeable, easily accessible and transparent Leading edge of industry technology and always adapting to the industry

    Cons

    Benefits could be a little better than they are A lot of change which can typically be hard to stomach at first - but this turns out to be common among the industry and to be honest typically works out in our favor

    Lower2019-08-20

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving your feedback! Since we are a newer company, we are always looking at ways to make improvements for the good of the company and our employees.

    Continue reading
Found 93 reviews