Lower Senior Loan Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Senior Loan Officer Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Growth Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very straight forward, detailed plan for advancement High pay compared to other lenders Large selection of programs to sell Great work environment Management is very knowledgeable, easily accessible and transparent Leading edge of industry technology and always adapting to the industry

    Cons

    Benefits could be a little better than they are A lot of change which can typically be hard to stomach at first - but this turns out to be common among the industry and to be honest typically works out in our favor

    Lower2019-08-20

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving your feedback! Since we are a newer company, we are always looking at ways to make improvements for the good of the company and our employees.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and a friendly atmosphere. Tons of quality leads come in daily, so there is a huge earning potential for any loan officer willing to work hard. Great work/life balance with flexibility and no crazy hours. Fun and competitive environment

    Cons

    The mortgage business isn't for everyone and if you're looking to clock in, clock out and just collect a paycheck, being a loan officer at Lower probably isn't for you.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-15

    Lower Response

    January 17, 2019AVP, Sales Operations

    Hi! We're so glad to hear that you are enjoying your career with Lower. You're right about the endless earning potential for those willing to work hard. You rock, thanks for being part of the team.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Loan Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their biggest benefit is access to the best leads and programs in the industry. I have worked with a few different lenders in the mortgage industry and this one is impressive. The job itself is great, most of the people I talk to need help and/or advice making a life changing decision. Management is easy to talk, they have been through almost everything I go through so they are understanding on their approach to solving problems.

    Cons

    You have the ability to work from home

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-14

    Lower Response

    January 17, 2019AVP, Sales Operations

    Hey! Thank you for bringing your talents to Lower, and we are glad to hear we are stacking up as the best in your experience! We agree that what we do here changes our client's lives, and that is the best part of our day. Our goal is to continue to build a culture that is so awesome that you'll have FOMO if you worked from home. :)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Work a Job Where You Control Your Own Destiny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After graduating from Ohio State with a degree in Finance in 2014, It was a struggle to find a company that could live up to its promises. Being able to use your talents to make as much money as you can seems like a pretty ideal goal, right? Not for typical brick and mortar companies though, especially when it came to Finance Institutions. Something wasn't adding up, in the way that those companies did job interviews to the way they treated employees and most importantly, their compensation plans. I had to leave Huntington Bank (headquartered in Columbus by the way) to become a full-time tennis instructor, because it actually paid significantly more than what Huntington paid their Fund Accountants. Luckily, I played tennis since 6 years old and had experience teaching over the summers in High School and College at a Country Club back home, so I was able to get acclimated pretty quickly and get to earning money so that I could pay the bills and be able to stay in my apartment in Columbus and not be displaced. Can you imagine what other kids in my position had to resort to? After 2 years of that grueling job, Homeside Financial, now Lower.com came calling with a chance to be a part of their growing company. For me, it was a chance to protect my body, and get into a sales role, which I had been doing anyways with Tennis, it's just that the money wasn't there, and I was sick of working 30/ 31 day months. Long story short, it has been a year and a half, and I am now a Sr. Loan Officer. It only took me 6 months to get promoted to that position. And now, I am only 3 months away from an Assistant Vice President role, and have revamped my life. Going to buy groceries no longer comes with the fear of overdrafting my account. Going into work is a blast every day. Management will listen to your goals and help you achieve them, and money that I thought wasn't possible to make, only because everyone else out there in other industries say it isn't possible, because they have never seen that kind of money, is now at my fingertips. All I wanted was a job where the employers could see my talent and work with me to help me utilize it to make the most possible income that I could while achieving goals and setting expectations along the way, and that is one thousand percent what this company has done. If you want to sit back and listen to adults in the industry say that you have to wait until something comes available and then apply at their company, even though that is lip service, or if you want to continue to believe your peers who are post grads either lie about the money they make or say that it isn't possible to make 6 figures regardless of how many years shy of age 30 you are, then this job is not for you. But if you want to control your own destiny and be put in the best possible position to succeed and make money, then you need to apply to this company. No one else out there will help you make what you want to make. Where else can you ask your manager that you want to sit down and talk about goals on how much commission to make? Probably very few, if not any. I guarantee, that if you produce, and you work at it, the goals that you set will be met, and it will be a life changing experience working at this company. Wouldn't you rather be set going into age 30, or have to pick up the pieces and figure out what's going on? Sadly, in some of the best job markets, Columbus included, employers really don't care if you get to the other side of 30 and are in trouble. But, at Lower.com, you are treated like family, and will be able to set yourself up.

    Cons

    There are no negatives to working here

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-14

    Lower Response

    November 12, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It is great to hear that you have enjoyed working with us over the last couple of years. In addition, it is great to hear your success and growth within the company!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great times at lower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture at Lower is just one reason why it is great place to work. The people you work with will become your best friends and you can genuinely enjoy your time in the office. The job itself is rewarding and can be incredibly lucrative as well.

    Cons

    The job can be stressful and is not for those who are not willing to work hard. There is also a lot to learn about the industry.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-08

    Lower Response

    November 13, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We are consistently working toward making improvements and appreciate your feedback - Thank you!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 5 reviews