Lower "account manager" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Employee Reviews about "account manager"

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great work environment with the best people(in 11 reviews)

  • "I could go on forever but this is a great company to look at when considering a career move(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "account manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The sky is truly the limit with this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent commission scale. Very rewarding if you are great at your job and work hard. Everyone here seems to love their job. That says a lot!

    Cons

    You start out as an Account Manager for a month or so. This really isn't a con though... The account manager role really helps you set yourself up for the Loan advisor role

    Lower2019-08-06

    Lower Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    This is great to hear - Thanks for your review!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "PLEASE READ- YOU WILL REGRET WORKING HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are all the same age.

    Cons

    Where to start with Lower.com… I started with the company about 2 years ago when they were still Homeside Financial, it starts off exciting because you’re with a young company who is growing and you feel that you can grow with the company because you’re starting so young. Everyone starts off as an account manager where day to day activities are making about 600-700 cold calls per day so you can transfer leads to the loan officers. In this position, your goal is to be promoted to loan officer. It can take anywhere from 2-9 months (average of 3-4) depending on the timing of everything and how quickly you can pass the SAFE Act test. Once you get promoted to a loan officer, you will actually start to make a little bit of money. It starts off great because you’re going from making 700 calls per day to talking to about 5-7 new people per day. The days as a loan officer go by slightly faster which is good but there is ZERO flexibility in the role. You NEED to be at your desk/in the morning meeting at 9am; don’t be late, but also, don’t be early because they don’t count that as time on the clock. Lunch during the week is at 1pm-2pm, as a loan officer, if you’re on a call until 1:15 because an account manager sent you a transfer right before lunch, then your lunch is now only 45 minutes. A lot of people (including myself) thought they could do that long term, but then after a few months go by and it’s the same thing every day and you don’t learn anything new, you get tired of it. Are the people there fun to work with? Absolutely. Everyone is in their 20’s and has a similar goal of making money. I promise no amount of money is worth it to work here. Now when you interview, they are going to promise you the world, 6 figures in the first year, and show you the only example of that because there has only been one person in the last 3 years (most of the time, if it’s too good to be true, that’s probably the case). Lots of people make 50k-65k but there are still a lot of people making less than 40k. I was told the saying believe none of what you hear and half of what you see; that is absolutely the case for this company, I feel like I was lied to just about everyday and if it wasn’t a lie, we were being sold on why something bad was actually good (it usually wasn’t). I would talk to people everyday about when they were going to be quitting and just about everyone has an expiration date of when they can’t take it anymore. At the end of the day, I can go on a rant for hours about Lower/homeside, but there is a reason that there are only about 20-25 people who have worked there past 2 years and probably half of them are too unmotivated to switch careers/cannot and the other half are management people because they helped start the company and even “put together the Ikea desks” that they will tell you about every 6 months. Please take this post as you will, but overall, I would not recommend working here. I can promise that even if you do stick it out for a year or however you want to convince yourself to work here, you will think of this post and you will say “man, that post was right”. Best of luck to you in your job search, YOU CAN DO BETTER! Last thing, definitely don’t work here if you don’t want to work on the weekends/after standard work hours. You will be miserable because you work one Saturday per month and borrowers will want to talk to you at any hours of the night, there have been many Friday night where I am out and have to talk a borrower back into doing a loan because they are getting cold feet. Also, the product you are selling is a little sketchy, everyone knows it at the company and Lower has had to convince the credit unions that they get the loans though to keep allowing them to sell as they are. If they did not agree, lower would lose all of their business because the rates on their loans are so high (mostly on refi). You will also realize that borrowers can just go straight to the credit union that we use and usually get a better loan because they don’t actually have to do a refinance with lower and they can just get a HELOC with the credit union and keep their 3%-4% mortgages. IN ORDER TO BE SUCCESSFUL YOU HAVE TO BE UNETHICAL.

    Lower2019-10-27

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed working with the people here at Lower.com and we agree that the employees here are wonderful and a lot of fun to work with! We would like to address some of your statements regarding your experience with Lower.com. Account Manger Position: In this position you are training to be a Loan Advisor. The position is set up to be a 30-45 day tenure position. If an Account Manager fails the Safe exam, that can extend the tenure in this position for an additional 30 days. To prepare for the Safe test, we provide over 40 hours of proctored study time, practice test and all the study material needed to adequately prepare. Our Account Manager’s make a minimum of $40K per year plus bonus. Since this is an entry level sales position, it’s the starting point in terms of income. As you get promoted to higher level positions, you receive a higher level of compensation. Flexibility in the Loan Advisor Position: It is true that you need to be at work at 9am, but most of our employees don’t view this as a negative because we hire driven and motivated individuals. Our clients start calling us at 9am so it is necessary to have our Loan Advisors here to take these calls. Our Loan Advisors are afforded copious amounts of autonomy to determine what they are doing during the day. Management is here as a resource to guide, support, and field questions, not to micromanage. Opportunity: This year alone we have promoted over 30% of our staff and we pride ourselves on promoting from within for leadership positions. As a fast-growing financial technology company, there continues to be many opportunities for advancement. It's true that much of our staff is less than 2 years with our company. We are a very fast growing start-up that has only been in existence for a short amount of time, by default the vast majority of our employees have joined us in the last 12 months. Work Schedule/Hours: Once a month our Loan Advisors work Saturday but they also get the following Friday off, so they get a 3-day weekend once a month. This was a suggestion by one of our employees to have the ability to connect with more clients. We thought it was a great idea and implemented it. Our Products: All our products are compliant with government regulatory standards. Our Loan Advisors provide beneficial products at competitive rates and prices along with amazing customer service. There are thousands of 5 star reviews posted by satisfied clients on Google, Facebook, Zillow.com, etc. Additionally, Lower was just recently ranked #1 in Customer Satisfaction by LendingTree.com out of 350+ finance companies nationally. We are disappointed that your experience seems less than positive and we wish you had come to us when you were still here to talk to us about your concerns. We are always open to employee feedback and looking to improve. We will pass your review onto our employee run Culture Committee and management so we can continuously improve all aspects of our employee experience.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work, type of work leaves much to be desired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Accounts Manager in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and management. Great track to success up the company for becoming a Loan Adviser.

    Cons

    Glorified call center as an account manager.

    Lower2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Upper Management is incredibly transparent about the direction of the company. There is a culture of open communication to the rest of the company. This is often over looked but incredibly valuable when hiring great people -Upper management is also incredibly open to honest feedback, willing to improve based on constructive criticism instead of masking pain points within the company. There will never be a perfect company but the closest you can get to it is when the culture from the top is one to look deeply at the companies worst qualities and systematically improve upon them -Committees are another great thing Lower.com has done. Committees of 5-10 mid-level managers and employees are on various committees, putting more responsibility into the hands of the group and giving the power to implement real strategies to employees. -The office culture itself is fantastic. Employees are energetic, we are growing quickly and recruiting straight out of colleges so the atmosphere is attractive to recent college grads looking to make an impact and money right out of the gate as well as people more experienced in the industry looking to make a move. -Hours are solid. A work life balance is easy to find here, although there is no shortage of opportunity if you want to put in extra hours and time to earn more money by closing more deals. -There is a high earning potential here, many employees in 6 figures, the biggest differentiator is the number of hours one is willing to work. The highest performers are working the most hours and it is reflected int their compensation. -As there is a lot to learn to be a fully functioning Loan Advisor, the training program is systematic and intense, allowing you to step into the job with confidence Overall, the culture here is fantastic, the earning potential is great, and the job is fun! Especially for a first job out of college, it is one of the best I've seen.

    Cons

    -The internship program, in my eyes, could use some improvement to attract the highest level candidates. -The entry level job, Account Manager, is unattractive to high level candidates. As this job is training intensive in the beginning as well as the need to get licensed after passing a rigorous exam, it is seemingly necessary. Although, if this was a 2nd or 3rd job out of school and I was looking to grow in my career, I would hesitate to take a step back as an account manager if I was a high-level employee somewhere else previously.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-05-28

    Lower Response

    May 29, 2019HR Manager

    We're proud of our culture and hiring top talent allows us to keep building a best in class culture. Thank you for providing an in-depth review of actionable pros, cons and advice!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Viewing 1 - 4 of 4 Reviews