Lower "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great work environment with the best people(in 11 reviews)

  • "I could go on forever but this is a great company to look at when considering a career move(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Headed in a Great Direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I will start by saying that I thoroughly enjoy coming to work every day! You can definitely see that management cares about your career growth and success. The company holds a monthly leadership development series where they bring in an influential speaker to talk on a variety of leadership topics to promote self-development. To me, this speaks volumes! In addition, the overall environment and culture of the company is very positive and uplifting. Everyone truly enjoys being with their colleagues and it shows! I could go on forever but this is a great company to look at when considering a career move.

    Cons

    I have been with the company for about a year and have not found any true cons to working with Lower.com. The company gives you the tools to succeed, it is all up to you how you use them!

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-06

    Lower Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving your feedback and taking advantage of our leadership development series! We enjoy seeing our employees develop their leadership skill set.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Account Manager in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lower for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone there was very willing to help me out. I was able to learn new skills to interact with customers and make their process simple and easy. The environment is great. Everyone is hard-working and positive. Overall great company.

    Cons

    Making hundreds of cold calls everyday can get tiring and pretty boring. The job isn't for everyone. The people there make up for this since they're all nice and willing to talk and help out.

    Lower2019-12-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company atmosphere and culture. Good starting pay for new graduates

    Cons

    Not much i can think of

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-06-13

    Lower Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We love going to college recruiting events to meet potential new team members and share why we love Lower.com so much. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome culture, fun job, great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My favorite part about working at lower is the environment. The mortgage industry can be stressful at times, but at lower even when the days get stressful the environment is so fun the stress goes away. At any job your boss is a big factor on whether or not you like the job, and at lower all the managers are great! I currently have two manager, and I consider both of them my friends. They both have my back when the job gets tricky, and are constantly helping me get better so I can keep making more money. Also they teach you everything on the job. When I started working at lower.com my only job experience was bartending, and now i'm 23 years old and a mortgage expert. Lower is a great company to work for!

    Cons

    The only downside isn't really the companies fault, but with mortgage sales in general. It can be stressful at times. When you have deadlines and trying to get everything together in time it gets a little stressful.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-30

    Lower Response

    November 12, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for your review! Coming up on November 14, we have a company paid lunch and learn focusing on stress management. This will teach you techniques on managing and reducing stress levels - Feel free to RSVP!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Scaled too Quickly, Backpedaled and Sacrificed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Advisor in New Albany, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lower was a great company to work for in many respects. Culture was great, and for the most part it was fun to go to work every day. Training was a top priority and almost every day of the week there was some type of employee development, whether it was industry-related or just personal/professional.

    Cons

    You are in the office 9-6 most days, which doesn't leave much time for family life. And of course, clients call you 24/7, which would be fine if you could clock those hours while you're fielding those calls, but you're advised not to by some managers. If you are young and don't have a family, this might be a good fit for you. My pay structure changed 4 times in the 1.5 years I worked at the company, which to me, says the company was a little lost. I hope that it has since figured things out and will give its employees better expectations of their compensation. I was also extremely bored the last 5 months of my time there. The company seemed to have stopped buying us leads (they stated that they still were, but that because of external factors, our clientele just weren't as interested in refinancing or purchasing at that time, which can happen in the industry). There also seemed to be a lot of favoritism and slight nepotism (in the sense that they favored those who had been with the company the longest, and not necessarily basing their favoritism on merit) and even at times veterans were given cherry-picked leads while the "newer" (those there less than 2 years, say) ones were hoping and waiting for new business to come through. The company seemed to try to grow too quickly and had to backpedal when low conversion on leads meant they had to change pay structure from base plus commission to commission only, thus weeding out anyone who was just starting out or had lower volume in sales.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-02-06

    Lower Response

    November 12, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! We are continuously looking for areas of improvement. Although there are changes within the company, it is crucial in order for company growth. Since we allow our employees to clock their own hours manually, it is highly encouraged to enter in all time that is worked so that you are paid properly. In addition, we operate on a draw, which means that you receive your base rate or commission, whichever is the greater amount. This means that if you exceed your base amount in commissions for pay period, you will receive your commissions. Overall, we are very open to receiving feedback on business operations. If you have any additional feedback or areas of improvement, please let us know!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Best Mortgage Products & Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Sales in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most quality leads in the industry. Never a shortage of leads as company invests heavily in feeding LOs. Niche mortgage products that other lenders can not compete with. Great company culture. Flexible work hours. Great Commission structure that does not change like other companies in industry.

    Cons

    Rates in the mortgage industry as a whole are up right now.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-17

    Lower Response

    November 12, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your review - We appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Next Best Step in Your Career!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lower has an amazing, high-energy dynamic culture, the people here are incredibly kind and fun to work with! They focus on building excellent professionals, while providing the work-life balance to mold even better individuals. They ensure that their employees are set up for upward mobility and stability, while providing them with the opportunity to thrive professionally, feel appreciated and receive recognition for their individual contributions, as well as their efforts as a team player! It's great to know that you are a part of a team of people who would help you in an instant, the learning opportunities are incredible and rewarding! It has been such a great experience so far and honestly such a great company to be a part of as they continue to grow!

    Cons

    401K match could be better.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-08

    Lower Response

    November 25, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for leaving your feedback with us! We are glad to hear that our training is effective and positively reflected upon. If you have any recommendations for further improvements, please let us know!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lower: Where YOU need to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Company Culture: Couldn't imagine a better collection of people! There are so many great people at this company; very friendly, caring, supportive - you will find life long friends here! - Help people with their biggest investment, manage the confusion to generate the most benefit in accomplishing the goals of our clients - Innovative: Working with technology to be the most forward thinking company in the industry - Work/Life balance

    Cons

    - Brand awareness: Need to push heavy on this to get the name known. Find many ways to spread the Lower Brand.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-01-21

    Lower Response

    November 12, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We are happy that you enjoy working with us. As we grow, we are seeing more company recognition - especially with the help of our awesome marketing team! Thanks for leaving your feedback with us.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews