LowerMyBills Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LowerMyBills President Steve Krenzer
Steve Krenzer
8 Ratings
  1. "An amazing company with strong leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - California in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company fosters a creative and cohesive culture. The motto "powered by people who come to win" is actually true. These offices ooze with talent and leadership works hand-in-hand with you to drive revenue and we all share in the rewards.

    Cons

    None come to mind.

    Continue reading
    LowerMyBills2015-06-12
  2. "Product Manager"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hermosa Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LowerMyBills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with an awesome culture and strong leadership

    Cons

    At the time I was there, compensation was slightly below market value

    LowerMyBills2015-07-08
  3. "Great place to work for managers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills

    Pros

    Great location, profitable business, work place fun activities and events are good, good group of people overall. If you are a good manager of people with some programming experience this is the right place.Data driven. Good place to work if you just want a job, not necessarily a career.

    Cons

    Nothing to offer from career perspective for programmer or engineer. 70% admin tasks, 30% coding. QA dept is in-competent. Technology leadership lacks direction, business changes rapidly and as a programer you need to keep up with those changes, which means more rapid work and tight deadlines. Low retention in product department, which means there are always new product managers who are learning themselves. Data driven, to the extent that they measure your code quality by the number of bugs, which in my view is a poor poor way to measure quality. Off shore team is poor.

    LowerMyBills2015-01-14
  4. "HR team rocks"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LowerMyBills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Time off was favorable Hr team was great place to develop and grow career

    Cons

    Lots of change in short amounts of time, but all was well communicated

    Continue reading
    LowerMyBills2014-10-13
  5. "Great People Working on Awful Products Really Well"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture of openness, comradarie and encouraged curiosity. Most everyone is friends with one another and this friendship transcends company walls. The company has an open bar box at the Staples Center too which is a lot of fun. Lots of great company activities too. The management team has honestly cares about the employees growth and development -- even Steve! (the CEO). Very open and collaborative in this sense. All ideas are valued and vetted.

    Cons

    The monitors are way too small. dual 19"s. Seriously this isn't 1999 anymore... Also, unnecessary IT restrictions (can't install CounterStrike or iTunes) make me feel like I'm in the 5th grade (that said, the game room is excellent). Super heavy clock-watch culture also. In at 9 and out by 7 (granted, there is an opaque unlimited vacation policy).

    Continue reading
    LowerMyBills2014-01-19
  6. "Good benefits, experience really depends on who/where you are in the company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good, fun work environment.

    Cons

    Many managers chosen by being good at what they do and not being good at managing people. , lack of transparency, company use to be very flat and has gone the opposite way. This has a created a very Top down company. Number of VPs went from 2 to over 8 in 6 months time.

    Continue reading
    LowerMyBills2013-09-15
  7. "LowerMyBills.com is a great company to work for. It is a fun, dynamic, and fast paced environment to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At LowerMyBills.com, managers do not micromanage their employees. I feel like a strong asset to my team and am encouraged by a constant positive vibe and energy around the office. There is a lot of room for growth within this company. It is a serious work environment but it also allows a lot of fun things to happen. We have Friday carts once a month that give out fun treats, we have a game room with a ping pong table and other games, a lot of tea bags to choose from, and two amazing coffee machines. These machines will make you lattes, other espresso drinks like mochas, and regular coffee.

    Cons

    They have vending machines for sodas, sports drinks, juices, and snacks. The cost of these items range from 30 cents to 1 dollar. I know that's fairly cheap but it would be nice if it was free like the coffee and tea.

    LowerMyBills2013-01-17
  8. "Great place to start your career; focus is strong on growth and development."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, ever evolving environment. Great people! A lot of money is dedicated to training and developing their employees. Community Service program is definitely a pro.

    Cons

    Management is weak on skill training - ie how to manage people. Lack of clear communication from the top down. Too much secrecy for a company whose credo includes "Transparency". Favoritism is strong; if you don't follow the traditonal path and are seen as 'different' it's a tough place to work.

    LowerMyBills2012-11-29
  9. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LowerMyBills

    Pros

    Great culture, great benefits, smart people. This is a group of people who work hard and dont settle for average. Very analytical group of employees.

    Cons

    The org is a bit flat. While the strong survive sometimes the average can linger

    LowerMyBills2012-05-10
  10. "Early company yeah! Experian...not so much"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LowerMyBills

    Pros

    Had the best manager, and worked in the best vertical (Home Lending) while I worked there. Everyone really knew what they were doing and was extremely helpful. I would quit my job now and go back to work for them in a heartbeat if it were the same company.

    Cons

    Sadly, after Matt left and Experian moved in, I am not sure that they know how to run a company or provide leadership. Combine that with 2 completely botched layoffs... Now they are only a shell of the company that they once were.

    Continue reading
    LowerMyBills2010-10-19
Found 14 reviews