Lowes Foods Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Deli Clerk

Lowes Foods Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Tim Lowe
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very competitive pay with yearly raises, great benefits for part-time workers, down-to-earth management that has your back, helpful and friendly co-workers, lots opportunities for cross-training and growth.

    Cons

    Only one thing: Food for Thought every month! Used to be a pain in my butt having to click through a video meant for cashiers when I'm in the middle of production!

    Advice to Management

    Keep valuing your employees like you do!

    Lowes Foods2019-03-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Turnover Rate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Summerville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers are the best part of being employed there.

    Cons

    The management turn over is nothing like I have ever seen. Store Manager, Two Co-Managers, Produce manager, Bakery Manager. The loss of many more. This is really hard on the hosts that are left behind. No communication.

    Advice to Management

    There is so much but first hold individuals accountable. And have upper management come and talk to the hosts. Not just when things are wrong. No positive reinforcement.You should be show ready everyday not just when the DM is coming.

    Lowes Foods2019-01-31

    Lowes Foods Response

    February 11, 2019Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We appreciate all feedback. If you would like to reach out to discuss further please leave us a message at response@lowesfoods.com.

  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hiring staff was great. They welcomed me and made me feel part of the team. I love everyone who works there and they are a joy to be around. Deli manager is excellent and she is a loving caring person. We all work together to get things done

    Cons

    Have not had any cons.

    Lowes Foods2018-10-10

    Lowes Foods Response

    October 12, 2018Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We're glad to hear you've had a good experience. Thanks for sharing your feedback!

  4. "Great summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Banner Elk, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours during the busy season, cool co workers, great store management

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits for part timers

    Advice to Management

    Give pt folks benefits.

    Lowes Foods2018-10-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Deli"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Summerville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People I work with are good. Work is simple.

    Cons

    Managers do not communicate. They do not communicate to low level employees. Some people do whatever they want and other people get in trouble over nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Monitor your employees. Monitor the store manager. When someone is doing something wrong call them out on it.

    Lowes Foods2018-03-27
  6. "I loved it!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Mount Airy, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone of my associates were super friendly and always ready to help if i had a question.

    Cons

    They had a hard time keeping employees and couldnt seem to hire quick enough to fill the gaps when needed.

    Advice to Management

    Promote your loyal part time employees, before you lose them to your competition

    Lowes Foods2018-01-24

    Lowes Foods Response

    April 26, 2018

    Thanks for the review. Glad you loved your time with us. We appreciate the comments!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Run for the hills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Clayton, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No good reason to work at lowes foods

    Cons

    Management SUCKS, to many favorites, no benefits or discounts,l not enough hours to go around.

    Advice to Management

    Play fair

    Lowes Foods2017-09-23

    Lowes Foods Response

    September 26, 2017Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We appreciate feedback from our Hosts. Please send us a message at response@lowesfoods.com so we can learn more about your concerns.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall respectful honest employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros: Work with many different ages of coworkers, fellow coworkers are decently honest enough, coworkers in different departments willing to help you and show you the ropes, and help give you a look into what it's like to work in different departments, store management team seems pretty nice and always willing to work with the employees that show interest in doing their jobs well.

    Cons

    Cons: uniforms - mostly just a company-provided t-shirt, apron, hat and name tag, your own dark bluejeans, strict rules as to when and how breaks are taken (you have to clock out for any and all breaks/meals)

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to provide the monthly 'Food for Thought' continuing education videos to stay up on safety/best practices, rules, guidelines, and warnings... including how all team members SHOULD be interacting with guests and fielding questions/dealing with difficult customers. Please also continue to give employees opportunities to interview to move up in the company. Eventually many opportunities like this get posted...

    Show More
    Lowes Foods2017-02-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Revolving Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Shallotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides a regular paycheck; offers good vacation (but terrible insurance) for full-time employees; frequent opportunities to relocate to other towns

    Cons

    Very little respect for employees Bait and switch tactics with employees and customers Hire new employees at same pay that it takes current employees years to achieve Life-crushing scheduling Egregiously under-staffed Horrible managers: alcoholics, anger issues, affairs with regular staff, discuss female customers in sexual ways

    Advice to Management

    Hire more women in upper management; stop trying to be every other store - decide who you are and commit to it; realize the great asset of your regular employees; effectively staff your depts to keep your promise to your customers

    Lowes Foods2016-09-18

    Lowes Foods Response

    September 22, 2016Recruiter-Staffing Analyst

    We appreciate your feedback and would like to learn more about your comments. Please contact us at response@lowesfoods.com so we can discuss further.

  10. "Best job ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Clemmons West, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods full-time

    Pros

    Awsome working environment. Great co-workers

    Cons

    Very difficult for advancement or dept. transfer.

    Lowes Foods2016-08-06
Found 20 reviews