Lowes Foods Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Lowes Foods Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Tim Lowe
14 Ratings
  1. "Deli Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Orientation is thorough. Training is provided and you hit the ground running. Very busy and hours are flexible. Manager is easy to work with.

    Cons

    None so far...I look for good in everything and make it work for me. Like anything it takes time to see the cons in any new job.

    Advice to Management

    I like what I see so far.

    Lowes Foods2016-08-04
  2. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Since it's corporate they have their stuff together, you know what to expect and they do make an effort to take care of their employees. There is opportunity for advancement if remaining in retail is your goal.

    Cons

    Again, since it's corporate, you have about 20 bosses going up the chain and sometimes the things they say contradict each other.

    Advice to Management

    Consider peer interviews. There is sometimes an interesting mix of personalities and peer interviews might help keep everyone happier and thereby reduce turnover

    Lowes Foods2016-07-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Deli Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Jacksonville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere, lots of training, great managers, supportive of education, worked with my college schedule

    Cons

    Requires a lot of standing

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work !

    Lowes Foods2016-05-21
  4. "Good work, poor Corporate structure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Boone, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, easy job duties, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Constantly changing corporate mandates. The company changed its 'culture' 3 times while I was working there and the employees were forced to adapt every time.

    Advice to Management

    If its not broke don't fix it. Change can be a bad thing.

    Lowes Foods2015-12-21
  5. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Advance, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods

    Pros

    Great first job to get you going on your feet. Great working environment and co workers are friendly

    Cons

    The chicken dance can get a little annoying at times

    Advice to Management

    Management does a great job and they care about the workers

    Lowes Foods2015-10-12
  6. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Clayton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lowes Foods for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close to home Years of deli experience

    Cons

    Deli drama Rules not enforced Get rid of dead weight, they just bring everyone down, and set a bad example for new and good workers

    Advice to Management

    Communicate Appreciate good employee Show you expect and respect good working employees Terminate non productive employees before they create virus that will run thru the store

    Lowes Foods2015-08-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "The manger isn't very nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Claremont, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and great customers

    Cons

    Not worth the drama and getting treated like a child

    Advice to Management

    Don't matt what mood your in you still need to treat your employees with respect

    Lowes Foods2015-03-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A sufficient pay raise would be nice..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am only available to work certain hours Monday through Friday and Lowe's Foods has been very accommodating to that schedule. Co-workers are friendly and management is easy to approach. Any days off requested are usually given with no problems at all.

    Cons

    Insufficient pay raises to say the least. I only make sixty cent more an hour now than I did 5 years ago when I first started. Deli clerks on average are given 18-24 hours a week with no positive outlook of ever being offered a full time position. Lowe's Foods has been only hiring part time help in the deli (only the manager and assistant manager are getting 40 hours a week).

    Advice to Management

    Give good employees the pay raises they deserve!!!

    Lowes Foods2013-07-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "you would be better off getting a job else where"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some of your co workers are nice, can learn alot

    Cons

    everything, horrible pay,way to much to do,awful management,no growth within,you will never get full time,you get no hours,treated like sh*t

    Advice to Management

    horrible management they suck and had no respect for anyone they personally dont like i would never work for this company agian

    Lowes Foods2013-07-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "please stop over-hiring..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    laid back and friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    The hours are spread into 4 hr shifts especially in the deli. It's terrible when you can only avg.20hrs at the most and must go to work 5 days a week to get those hours. There are zero discounts for employees and the prices are often double what Walmart or the Dollar Tree charges for simple things like Cambell's soup.

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, stop over-hiring for departments that have less hours available for employees. And please, why not two 8hr shifts vs 4 four-hour shifts?

    Lowes Foods2013-01-07
Found 20 reviews