Lowes Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Lowes Foods Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 454 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Lowes Foods CEO Tim Lowe (no image)
Tim Lowe
176 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work if you don't care about the money!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Bagger 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, fresh foods

    Cons

    Pay is way too low compared to other places. I probably wont work here long because I am not willing to work at a place where I cannot afford to shop.

    Lowes Foods2019-08-07

    Lowes Foods Response

    August 12, 2019Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and would like to hear more about your concerns. Please reach out to us at response@lowesfoods.com. Thanks!

  2. "Mgmt. & supervisors inept, unprofessional, uncaring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southern Pines, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a paycheck. Some co-workers are nice.

    Cons

    Management does not make out schedules until the day before the work week starts. They are completely inept at managing and maintaining employees, there's constant turnover, and unhappy employees who are told "corporate is here, be on your toes" instead of encouraging staff to improve themselves regardless of who is in the building. Constantly belittling employees. Asking for vacation time is a joke. When it's... granted, they do not put it in the computer and you're paid cash, and then lose your PTO if not used by a certain time. The same PTO you've already tried to use. Work/family balance is also a joke. They falsely claimed that at least one employee gave his notice less than 2 weeks out (he gave verbal notice so could not prove otherwise - his mistake, lesson learned), and refused to pay him his PTO unless he worked until the very last day of the notice. I honestly believe they did that because they were angry that he was leaving, which is unprofessional and childish.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. You make yourselves look very unprofessional and crass, daily. Management training: it's a thing. Get some. A lot, actually.

    Lowes Foods2019-08-07

    Lowes Foods Response

    August 12, 2019Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We would like to hear more about your concerns. Please reach out to us a response@lowesfoods.com if you would like to speak with a member of our Host Experience team.

  3. "Great School Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Never a dull moment

    Cons

    Managment can be bad depending where you work

    Lowes Foods2019-08-02
  4. "Lowes Foods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good store management, neat store layout

    Cons

    Corporate cuts, low paying customer service job.

    Lowes Foods2019-08-01
  5. "Good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Lowes Foods full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working here a lot

    Cons

    Not really any cons that I can think of

    Lowes Foods2019-07-31
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Austell, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work environment, friendly staffs

    Cons

    too short employment period. need more

    Lowes Foods2019-07-25
  7. "Best chain I’ve worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods

    Pros

    Upper management completely believes in the culture of happy employees equals happy guests

    Cons

    Helping others believe and realize they can make changes and be the kind of hosts the company wants

    Advice to Management

    Continue training and looking for ways to support staff

    Lowes Foods2019-07-21
  8. "Best first job I could find at 16 with zero experience, schooling, ect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible on hours and time off for part time workers, great people work there and easy to build friendships

    Cons

    Expect a lot from employees (wanting one person to do the work of 2 sometimes), doesn’t address issues between departments (Deli not wanting to do anything for Lowe’s Foods To Go)

    Advice to Management

    Allow Lowe’s Foods To Go shoppers to accept tips on carry outs, get deli hosts to work with Lowe’s Foods To Go better

    Lowes Foods2019-07-15

    Lowes Foods Response

    July 29, 2019Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and providing feedback!

  9. "Will hire anyone off the street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods

    Pros

    Laid back and few customers

    Cons

    Managers are unorganized and are not very knowledgeable. They have favorites and will retaliate against you by decreasing your hours. The products in the bakery all come frozen and of not good quality. They allow people to let their hair hang out of their hats making it easier to come in contact with food.

    Advice to Management

    Screen your applicants better. There was too many people who brought their personal drama to work and it impacted work performance.

    Lowes Foods2019-07-11
  10. "Overall pretty good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods

    Pros

    Afforded me with opportunities find which job I liked the most in the store, and helped me to succeed from day one.

    Cons

    Never had enough people working in some departments, couldn’t find good help.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to show appreciation to dedicated employees

    Lowes Foods2019-07-10
Found 454 reviews