Lowes Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Lowes Foods Reviews

Updated 5 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Lowes Foods CEO Tim Lowe (no image)
Tim Lowe
178 Ratings
  1. "Lowes Foods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good store management, neat store layout

    Cons

    Corporate cuts, low paying customer service job.

    Lowes Foods2019-08-01
  2. "Best first job I could find at 16 with zero experience, schooling, ect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible on hours and time off for part time workers, great people work there and easy to build friendships

    Cons

    Expect a lot from employees (wanting one person to do the work of 2 sometimes), doesn’t address issues between departments (Deli not wanting to do anything for Lowe’s Foods To Go)

    Advice to Management

    Allow Lowe’s Foods To Go shoppers to accept tips on carry outs, get deli hosts to work with Lowe’s Foods To Go better

    Lowes Foods2019-07-15

    Lowes Foods Response

    July 29, 2019Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and providing feedback!

  3. "Overall pretty good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods

    Pros

    Afforded me with opportunities find which job I liked the most in the store, and helped me to succeed from day one.

    Cons

    Never had enough people working in some departments, couldn’t find good help.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to show appreciation to dedicated employees

    Lowes Foods2019-07-10
  4. "Good starting job if you're wanting to get into the brewing business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Beer Den Clerk in Hickory, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to meet new people.

    Cons

    Having to learn/know a lot about beer/wine on the spot.

    Lowes Foods2019-07-08
  5. "Mgmt. & supervisors inept, unprofessional, uncaring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southern Pines, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a paycheck. Some co-workers are nice.

    Cons

    Management does not make out schedules until the day before the work week starts. They are completely inept at managing and maintaining employees, there's constant turnover, and unhappy employees who are told "corporate is here, be on your toes" instead of encouraging staff to improve themselves regardless of who is in the building. Constantly belittling employees. Asking for vacation time is a joke. When it's... granted, they do not put it in the computer and you're paid cash, and then lose your PTO if not used by a certain time. The same PTO you've already tried to use. Work/family balance is also a joke. They falsely claimed that at least one employee gave his notice less than 2 weeks out (he gave verbal notice so could not prove otherwise - his mistake, lesson learned), and refused to pay him his PTO unless he worked until the very last day of the notice. I honestly believe they did that because they were angry that he was leaving, which is unprofessional and childish.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. You make yourselves look very unprofessional and crass, daily. Management training: it's a thing. Get some. A lot, actually.

    Lowes Foods2019-08-07

    Lowes Foods Response

    August 12, 2019Recruiter - HR Analyst

    We would like to hear more about your concerns. Please reach out to us a response@lowesfoods.com if you would like to speak with a member of our Host Experience team.

  6. "Good job to start with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Service Associate in Delran, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, friendly coworkers, helpful tools

    Cons

    No room to grow, sometimes they expect the impossible

    Lowes Foods2019-06-26
  7. "Hire me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Seeking Beer Den Position in Kernersville, NC

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time

    Pros

    To assist the community in maiming a positive shopping experience in Lowe’s Foods.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any

    Advice to Management

    Hiring me who be an asset your Business. I love working with the public and meeting new people! I have a sales experience history and would tap into these skills to do my very best for your company.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-21
  8. "My Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Southern Pines, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment with good customers

    Cons

    Employee equipment needs an upgrade and better systems of operations.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Community Table Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Table Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great support from leadership, and the ability to be creative in your role. Corporate team is MUCH friendlier and more personable than any other retailer i’ve worked for, which I definitely appreciate.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive, and it often reflects in host morale. Slow systems often make simple tasks incredibly frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Bump up those salaries! I’ve worked in leadership in three different grocery retail concepts and Lowes Foods, without a doubt, has the best people! Sadly, the majority always seem to be seeking other employment due to the low wages offered here.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-05
  10. "Lowes Foods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Office Clerk in Lexington, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mostly nice guest. Room to grow

    Cons

    Management. Childlike drama. Favorites are a thing.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-22
Found 459 reviews