Lowes Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Lowes Foods Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 454 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Lowes Foods CEO Tim Lowe (no image)
Tim Lowe
174 Ratings
  1. "Good starting job if you're wanting to get into the brewing business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Beer Den Clerk in Hickory, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to meet new people.

    Cons

    Having to learn/know a lot about beer/wine on the spot.

    Lowes Foods2019-07-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly paychecks. Co workers and Customers!

    Cons

    15 minute break only for a 7 or less hour day. The management not picks, and we are always having to sell one charity or the other. Customers are called Guests and you are yelled at if you call them customers. If you wanna be the only grown adult amongst a work force of just teenagers, be my guest. They dont wanna give any pay raise and no 30 day reviews. 5 weeks of being here so far is too many.

    Advice to Management

    Give better breaks. We are not computers or horses where we can stand around in your store for nearly 7 hours straight. 15 minutes is not even enough time to use the bathroom let alone eat a snack. You starve us.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-30
  3. "Good job to start with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Service Associate in Delran, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, friendly coworkers, helpful tools

    Cons

    No room to grow, sometimes they expect the impossible

    Lowes Foods2019-06-26
  4. "Lowes Foods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Office Clerk in Lexington, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mostly nice guest. Room to grow

    Cons

    Management. Childlike drama. Favorites are a thing.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-22
  5. "Hire me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Seeking Beer Den Position in Kernersville, NC

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time

    Pros

    To assist the community in maiming a positive shopping experience in Lowe’s Foods.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any

    Advice to Management

    Hiring me who be an asset your Business. I love working with the public and meeting new people! I have a sales experience history and would tap into these skills to do my very best for your company.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-21
  6. "My Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Southern Pines, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment with good customers

    Cons

    Employee equipment needs an upgrade and better systems of operations.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-14
  7. "Yikes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Office Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was good experience working with public and a good first job

    Cons

    Below average pay as well as some of the worst compare decisions a company could ever make.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cramming garbage down the throats of all your employees. Actually listen to the anonymous surveys you send out every year.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate is Killing Its Own Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beer Den Master in King, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowes Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lowes Foods hires great people to work in their stores, and their employee training and continued training are among some of the best I've encountered.

    Cons

    If you work in a store that seems like it might be struggling, due to competition from Walmart or some other megachain store moving in, then expect that your store will be slowly bled to death like a veal calf. Lowes operates on an algorithm that ties in the number of available work hours to the sales of that store. From a "bottom line" perspective I can understand that, yet it leaves the workers that are still... there cynical, desperate, and less likely to offer excellent customer service when their occupation gets whittled down to "hobby" hours while simultaneously having rhetoric discussing Lowes as a community store shoved in their faces. The pay at Lowes is not competitive, either. Expect to work as near to minimum wage as possible for a specialty job while other grocery stores that Lowes seeks to compete with actually manage a *living* wage for a similar position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your store employees are what make Lowes Foods worth coming to; if you treat them well and take care of them, you will reap the benefits.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-10
  9. "Better Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beer Den Host 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Meet and interact with interesting people on a daily basis. The updated stores are enjoyable to work in.

    Cons

    Part time pay and benefits are lacking. Required to work nights, weekends and holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Let Beer Den employees accept tips.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Community Table Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Table Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowes Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great support from leadership, and the ability to be creative in your role. Corporate team is MUCH friendlier and more personable than any other retailer i’ve worked for, which I definitely appreciate.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive, and it often reflects in host morale. Slow systems often make simple tasks incredibly frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Bump up those salaries! I’ve worked in leadership in three different grocery retail concepts and Lowes Foods, without a doubt, has the best people! Sadly, the majority always seem to be seeking other employment due to the low wages offered here.

    Lowes Foods2019-06-05
Found 454 reviews