Loyola Academy Reviews | Glassdoor

Loyola Academy Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Loyola Academy CEO Patrick E. McGrath
Patrick E. McGrath
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Loyola Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to teach in

    Cons

    The school is big so it's tough to get to know teachers from other departments

    Loyola Academy2018-11-20
  2. "Great school spirit and community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Loyola Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun! Supportive colleagues. Wonderful students.

    Cons

    Pay is on the low end. Large teaching loads.

    Loyola Academy2019-06-20
  3. "I loved my coworkers and the Jesuit mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Loyola Academy full-time

    Pros

    Incredible and helpful coworkers, clear goals to achieve school's mission, strong Jesuit ideals, purposeful changes to improve teaching methods and promote similar strategies amongst teachers

    Cons

    Often privileged student body (which means accusatory parents), previous administrators care more about sports than academics, many teachers did less work than others and were not held to the same standards (newer teachers were often given far more work to do simply because they didn't feel they could say no)

    Advice to Management

    Work for more fair practices across the board (give equal treatment to student athletes and non-athletes, maintain the same expectations for younger and older teachers, etc.)

    Loyola Academy2018-11-13
  4. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Loyola Academy full-time

    Pros

    The community is great and they really care about educating and growing their employees

    Cons

    Direction from supervisors can be unclear/ misleading

    Loyola Academy2018-05-01
  5. "Development and Special Events Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Loyola Academy

      Pros

      Love working here! Friendly people and a great community.

      Cons

      Sometimes I wish the office space was a little different, but it is a school, so they can't do much.

      Loyola Academy2017-06-27
    • "Stay Away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Wilmette, IL
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Loyola Academy for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Other faculty and students are wonderful for the most part.

      Cons

      Dept. Chair looks out for himself and does not support the members of the dept. People are walking on eggshells.

      Advice to Management

      Evaluate dept. chairs and administration yearly.

      Loyola Academy2017-04-28
    • "Overwhelmingly wonderful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Wilmette, IL
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Loyola Academy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I loved working for LA- until I was RIF'd. I always felt like I was working incredibly hard and that was the expectation- but some of the benefits- the students, the travel, the food, etc. are unparalleled in any other school.

      Cons

      The salary is not comparable to other schools in the area. Getting let go after many years of work was very degrading. My students tried to talk to the administration, but were not denied the ability to do so.

      Loyola Academy2017-02-06
    • Helpful (3)

      "People are great but the administration sucks."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Wilmette, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Loyola Academy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Comradery of the other teachers

      Cons

      The administration doesn't back the teachers when a student makes up false accusations and parent complains.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees with respect.

      Loyola Academy2014-05-13
    • "The best work experience I have had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - College Counselor in Wilmette, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Loyola Academy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Loved the Jesuits and my coworkers!

      Cons

      Sometimes the parents had very high expectations but most were reasonable.

      Loyola Academy2013-10-21
    Found 9 reviews