Loyola University Maryland Reviews | Glassdoor

Loyola University Maryland Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Rev. Brian F. Linnane, S.J.
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, good work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, but worth the experience(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Equipment Room Attendant in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Loyola University Maryland part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Easy, Calm environment, can do homework

      Cons

      boring, long hours, gross towels

      Advice to Management

      Nothing

      Loyola University Maryland2019-05-14
    • "I am a current student at Loyola"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Student 

        I have been working at Loyola University Maryland full-time

        Pros

        Class Size is small, under 30 average

        Cons

        Baltimore has a limited public transportation system

        Loyola University Maryland2019-04-10
      • "Solid place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Baltimore, MD
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Loyola University Maryland full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great Community, good benefits, nice place

        Cons

        little room to move up

        Loyola University Maryland2019-03-11
      • "Work Study Office Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Loyola University Maryland part-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Flexible hours, team focused work environment

          Cons

          Scheduling system , filing system outdated

          Loyola University Maryland2019-03-05
        • "Cura personalis-less. A review from a 10+ year veteran and former student."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Administrator/Management in Baltimore, MD
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Loyola University Maryland full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          Good community. Good benefits. Good people in the trenches. Used to be a special place to be.

          Cons

          Old leadership has been chased out and culture changing for the worst. Mid-level management completely clueless and concerned only with self-preservation. Politics are sickening. I had 5 bosses in the last 5 years. Ultimately, I was fired without severance weeks before having a new baby and over the phone after 10+ years of service. What does that tell you about their leadership??

          Advice to Management

          Loyola is going downhill. Fast. Look at the numbers (like the tuition discount rate and alumni giving). Return to traditional values and stop trying to be like everyone else. Use job as a stepping stone to (jhu) get out before it gets worse. Hold leaders accountable for failures of their subordinates and don’t espouse scapegoating.

          Loyola University Maryland2019-03-17
        • "Terrible pay. Look elsewhere"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Project Manager 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Loyola University Maryland full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Days off around the holidays

          Cons

          Really intense work environment. Extremely low pay. Terrible benefits. Poor 401k plan. Employees pay to park.

          Advice to Management

          Pay your employees better. We make very little and making us pay for parking only adds insult to injury.

          Loyola University Maryland2019-03-08
        • Helpful (1)

          "Found my forever job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - CMA in Baltimore, MD
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Loyola University Maryland full-time for more than 9 years

          Pros

          Being employed at Loyola for ten years now is a big deal. I truly enjoy the atmosphere here and appreciate all of the benefits offered. I am allotted ample PTO, no weekends or evenings, and the healthcare package is very affordable.

          Cons

          I wish I could get off at 4 pm on Fridays.

          Loyola University Maryland2019-01-23
        • "Friendly and welcoming place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator Intern 
          Recommends

          I worked at Loyola University Maryland for more than a year

          Pros

          I worked in the admissions office and it was a really inviting place to work

          Cons

          Office space was small and cramped, though I was only an intern so I wasn't complaining

          Loyola University Maryland2019-01-16
        • "Not for a working adulut"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Loyola University Maryland full-time

          Pros

          Location is good and close to lots of things

          Cons

          pay is very low. very cut throat for a Jesuit university. High stress and low pay.

          Loyola University Maryland2018-11-30
        • Helpful (1)

          "Loved the Jesuit way but some fundamental red flags"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Campus Life in Baltimore, MD
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Loyola University Maryland full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Loved the staff across campus, great co-workers all committed to helping students, great benefits if you were planning on being there for the long haul.

          Cons

          The pay didn't reflect the cost of living. As i was leaving, there were starting lay people off. I thought the leadership became out of touch...especially at the executive level. HR is probably the worst out of the universities i have worked at. The diversity piece was a huge red flag. I know this was a predominately white school but I think there is a great opportunity to connect a little more with the community.

          Advice to Management

          I know there were some advisory teams on campus but there could be a big need for specifically a Staff Advisory Committee so they can have a voice that can get to the higher ups.

          Loyola University Maryland2018-11-23
        Found 81 reviews