Loyola University New Orleans Reviews | Glassdoor

Loyola University New Orleans Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Loyola University New Orleans CEO Rev Kevin W. Wildes (no image)
Rev Kevin W. Wildes
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is a lack of job security(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellence in Higher Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Loyola University New Orleans full-time

    Pros

    Small. Good student/teacher ratio. Critical thinking. Jesuit values. Social justice oriented.

    Cons

    Brain drain - faculty and staff.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the faculty and staff. They’re what make Loyola special.

    Loyola University New Orleans2018-01-17
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A large majority of the people I interacted with were welcoming and nice to work with.

    Cons

    The pay and resources, but that’s education unfortunately.

    Loyola University New Orleans2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are absolutely fantastic. Working with them was the only pro to my experience at Loyola University.

    Cons

    Absolutely no chance for advancement; faculty and staff are underappreciated and underpaid; no follow-up on multiple complaints about an abusive supervisor; overworking employees; not sticking to Jesuit mission at all; terrible facilities

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when they tell you there is a problem in their department and actually follow up.

    Loyola University New Orleans2019-03-05
  4. "Desk Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Loyola University New Orleans part-time

    Pros

    -independent -not hard -good for your first job

    Cons

    - minimum wage -long hours

    Loyola University New Orleans2018-11-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Social Justice is preached but not shown with respect to compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Students and staff and many faculty are great to be with.

    Cons

    lack of job security, management still needs to change to make this a good place for staff to be, no opportunity for growth

    Advice to Management

    stop playing favorites and paying people less than their worth. Should be automatic raises for people who are here longer and do their work. It is disheartening to train new people who make more money than you do and when this is pointed out no one seems to help the employee who is here a long time, who has institutional knowledge and who deserves a promotion. You allow the person "in charge" to act like a king... and whatever they say goes even if it is clearly unfair treatment. This environment is not healthy for Loyola in the long run. It will come back to bite them.

    Show More
    Loyola University New Orleans2018-11-09
  6. "Troubled organization with leadership challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Loyola University New Orleans full-time

    Pros

    - Casual environment - Ok benefits

    Cons

    - Low pay - Poor leadership - Lack of vision

    Advice to Management

    Your lack of leadership is destroying the university

    Loyola University New Orleans2018-09-25
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA

    I worked at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's located in a great area.

    Cons

    Salaries are too low .

    Loyola University New Orleans2018-08-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely Institution, Major Budget Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Students are a fantastic bunch. Overall mission of the University is truly great. Great benefits, time off, retirement plans.

    Cons

    Budget issues made it really challenging. Faculty and administration get very well paid but support staff do not.

    Loyola University New Orleans2018-05-30
  9. "Poor University Administration Destroying Previously Excellent Workplace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large amounts of paid time off.

    Cons

    Low pay. Untenable and unsustainable work loads that continue to increase despite stagnant and sometimes decreased pay. Very little advancement opportunities. Poor leadership. Lack of support from university administration. Total lack of transparency from university administration. Unethical business practices. Huge lay-offs performed poorly and immorally. Poor-quality Human Resources department that seems... unable to keep up with the needs of the employees. Extremely expensive on-site food and supplies. Raising the price of services such as healthcare and childcare, despite stagnant and falling wages.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The issues currently facing Loyola University are certainly top-down. There are people within the highest levels of administration and other management departments whom are creating an atmosphere of a sinking ship with their poor, inept and short-sighted day-to-day running of the university. All pay to the board, the President's Office and the Provost's Office should be frozen until such a time as the leadership... is able to make the company solvent again. Freezing pay for those who work for the university whilst forcing us to perform the jobs of 3-5 people each is not realistic and not sustainable. The administration needs to accept that their poor management of the university is going to lead to a decreased ability to provide support and perform core job roles. This is going to lead to a mass exodus if not addressed very soon.

    Show More
    Loyola University New Orleans2018-05-10
  10. "Beautiful in the bubble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Loyola University New Orleans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are great, it is a beautiful campus, and I love my peers. It is a job I genuinely enjoy going to until I need to work with someone above the department level.

    Cons

    The upper management is terrible. No leadership ability and we are always in financial straights. I worry that the priority isn't on academics or if it is, there is a gap in judgment. There is very limited opportunity to grow and pay is not reasonable for the city in which we reside.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring consultants and hire people who will actually do their jobs. Remember we are an academic institution first. You have to invest to grow. It is ethically challenging to recruit students when you aren't sure you will be able to afford what you promised.

    Loyola University New Orleans2018-04-05
Found 69 reviews