Lucas Group Reviews in Houston, TX | Glassdoor

Lucas Group Houston Reviews

Updated May 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Lucas Group CEO Andi Jennings
Andi Jennings
14 Ratings
  1. "This is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment and culture are very friendly and make it very easy to succeed.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons. If there are any issues all you have to do is speak up and everyone is willing to work with you.

    Lucas Group2019-05-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong culture of mentor-ship, transparent about how to achieve success and what it takes to reach your goals. Unlimited vacation and flexible work schedule (however expectation is 8:30am-5pm at min)

    Cons

    Takes least 1-1.5 years to build book of business

    Lucas Group2019-04-18

    Lucas Group Response

    May 28, 2019Manager

    We are pleased to hear that your experience at Lucas Group is going well. We are always striving to build out our mentorship programs and best in class training opportunities. If you have any additional suggestions, we would love to hear them at help@lucasgroup.com!

  3. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - N/A in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lucas Group for less than a year

      Pros

      Great company to work with.

      Cons

      More communication with employees while on assignments.

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Lucas Group2019-03-29
    • Helpful (4)

      "Have a career and work/life balance too!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Partner in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      As a recruiter, I cringe when my candidates say they want a lot of opportunity to grow their career but they also want work/life balance. Those two things don't normally go together. But at Lucas Group, they do. I've worked at another larger well-known recruiting firm (10 years) and can say that the two experiences could not be more different. The culture at Lucas Group is very positive. The CEO is fabulous.

      Cons

      There could be a little more competitiveness / accountability within my team but that is a personal preference.

      Lucas Group2018-11-28
    • "Temp Accountant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Accountant - Temp in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucas Group for less than a year

      Pros

      Recruiter seeked me for a temp job.

      Cons

      Set up a phone interview with me and never called. I adjusted my schedule and prepared for our phone call. Then I emailed her giving the benefit of the doubt, she replies that she simply forgot and rescheduled. The next day is when she sets the appointment and I prepare again and she never calls. Shes a senior partner. i don't understand how they treat people like that.

      Advice to Management

      Check their staff to see if they are acting professional and treat people like professionals.

      Lucas Group2018-05-01
    • "The BEST Recruiting firm Nationally!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Partner in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Fair and Supportive Leadership. A company that invests in its people and the tools for them to be successful. Fun - First Class Trips! Great people throughout the entire organization. Best "work family" ever!

      Cons

      Acclementing new hires them to the team is not always successful. The timing of the trips is too long. You qualify in one year and the trip is still 10 months away.

      Advice to Management

      Look at ways to improve the mentoring program to retain new hires. Shorten the length between the trip qualifications and when the trip is taken.

      Lucas Group2017-11-04
    • "Best culture and unlimited commission potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Culture. I worked at 2 firms previously. Both managed with a stick whereas Lucas Group manages with a carrot. They recognize performance, people and contribution.

      Cons

      Systems could be better and they are working on them.

      Lucas Group2017-02-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Culture collapse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Training has improves although our corporate Trainer has lost sight of the desk level. marketing tools slowly improving systems love my team.

      Cons

      The culture has become very matrix driven , tense, micro manager like a sweat shop

      Advice to Management

      Remember what used to make us great

      Lucas Group2017-01-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Managing Partner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Managing Partner in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucas Group

      Pros

      Great leadership, awesome tenure, excellent comp plan. Collaborative environment with people who genuinely care

      Cons

      Technology needs updating but it's being worked on. As in any executive search firm there is turnover but much less than most

      Advice to Management

      Continue to provide a collaborative environment with healthy competition

      Lucas Group2016-09-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "AMAZING COMPANY FOR TOP PERFORMERS!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Executive Search Consultant in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      1. Paid Well 2. Appreciated 3. Listened to 4. Promotion Opportunities 5. Involved Management 6. Mentored 7. Challenged 8. Work/Life Balance 9. Continuous Training 10. Great colleagues

      Cons

      Anyone who has complained about the Lucas Group probably did not have good work ethic and was not able to run a full desk.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing a great job! There's a reason why we have the most tenured recruiters!

      Lucas Group2016-08-30
    Found 16 reviews