Lucas Group Reviews in Los Angeles, CA | Glassdoor

Lucas Group Los Angeles Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Lucas Group CEO Andi Jennings
Andi Jennings
14 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A Very Different Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture here is amazing! Everyone is so supportive of each other which is refreshing to see compared to other companies where people just want to tear the other person down or not work collaboratively. Lucas Group has a very thorough training program that is very insightful on how to become the best in the industry. Everyone is more than willing to help you if you have a question about anything. The ability...

    Show More

    Cons

    The health insurance is rather lacking as far as how good it is. It is more expensive that any other employer I've ever had and the coverage is so-so. The only other con I can think of is that non-recruiters are not allowed the same unlimited vacation policy and only get 2 weeks of PTO that has to accrue first.

    Advice to Management

    For younger people in the company, it would be great if you offered a student loan repayment assistance program of some sort.

    Lucas Group2019-03-20

    Lucas Group Response

    March 21, 2019Manager

    Thank you for your enthusiastic review of Lucas Group and feedback! We work hard to promote both a collegial and successful work environment. It is great to see it reflected in our employees. We are happy to hear your employment here has exceeded your expectations.

  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well organised and compassionate leadership, good commission scheme,

    Cons

    As a sales environment you must hot targets but not a bad thing

    Lucas Group2019-05-21

    Lucas Group Response

    May 28, 2019Manager

    We are pleased to hear about your positive experience working at Lucas Group - thank you for sharing your feedback!

  3. "Great Place that gives you the right tools to be successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work with a really great supportive team. They have a great training program that really sets you up for success. They really allow you to manager yourself and how you spend your time and give you guidance along the way. If you have the time to put in at the front end of your career, you can truly build a network and be successful.

    Cons

    Draw salary is less than desirable but standard for the industry

    Lucas Group2019-04-01

    Lucas Group Response

    April 2, 2019Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We strive to guide our employees in the direction of success and want to provide the tools to do so. We are glad your experience working at Lucas Group aligned with your career goals.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Brutal corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, a flexibility in terms of hours.

    Cons

    Working at the Lucas Group is epitome of being a Dilbert cubicle-worker. You are micro-managed and subject to "Performance Improvement Plans" every time you owe draw, which then gets immediately cut by 50%, leaving you with virtually no take-home pay after taxes and medical deductions. Extremely high turn-over. A horrible place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your "associates" like human beings and team players, not like indentured servants.

    Lucas Group2017-11-17
  5. "Accounting Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and nice perks.

    Cons

    Work sometimes could be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Lucas Group2017-05-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sr. Executive Search Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group

    Pros

    *Good job if you like to source, you'll source for the Managing Partners/Senior Partners *Central locations generally in newer buildings *Your client may hire you if you do a great job

    Cons

    *Managing Partners/Seniors will hoard the fill-able jobs *Frequently advertises false/misleading information(Ave. employee tenure is not 7yrs.) *Employees do not start on the same pay-scale/draw (As advertised) *Paid in arrears (Not disclosed upfront) *Compete with your manager(Player/Coach structure) *Competing managers are salaried *Commissions are not disbursed until after the client pays (End of the guarantee...

    Show More
    Lucas Group2016-06-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Search Firm to be a Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lucas Group is a place where young Recruiters learn from some of the best headhunters in the industry, and experienced Recruiters thrive with one of the best compensation plans and client/candidate originating marketing departments out there. The tenure of our Recruiters surprised me when I started, and the 10, 15, 20 and 25 year anniversary award ceremonies get longer every year, as many Recruiters truly make this their...

    Show More

    Cons

    We get to take our spouses on all-expensed tropical beach destinations for our Sales Trips, so it would be great if we could go to Europe as a company someday.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to limit their hiring to people who have a passion for learning and developing themselves in this business as it as a very lucrative but challenging career.

    Lucas Group2016-02-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to source for other recruiters, not much help if you want to run your own desk..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great software for sourcing, a big name in the business opens doors, and a few key players are always looking for sources to flesh out key accounts.

    Cons

    ACD micro management, far too many meetings, no real sales support or training, cut-throat contract stealing.

    Lucas Group2015-04-07
  9. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good co workers, training programs are good. You are provided with jobs to work on right off the bat so it's sink or swim

    Cons

    Poor commission plan. Verticals markets are somewhat arbitrary and inhibit your ability two build relationships with accounts

    Advice to Management

    Beef up commissions. Re-exam vertical market strategy and look at a team that handles all recruiting in a vertical not by job function. Confuses the customer.

    Lucas Group2014-02-07
  10. "This is a firm that has produced for its clients and candidates for over 40 years - HIGH standards."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Senior Partner in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Managers are also top producers and lead from the front; they will bust their butts for you if you're actually committed to getting results; incredible amount of tenure which says a lot about the long-term opportunities. I made a lot of money here because the team, Branch Manager, and Division VP were A-Plus. Not all recruiting firms are created equal and Art Lucas established something very special in this firm. Lucas...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not for the limp, lazy or those looking to simply collect a paycheck. You will be run out of there much faster than you can pull the wool over their eyes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep leading from the front.

    Lucas Group2014-01-11
Found 19 reviews