Lucas Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Lucas Group Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Lucas Group CEO Andi Jennings
Andi Jennings
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people throughout the entire organization(in 15 reviews)

  • "As a recruiter, I cringe when my candidates say they want a lot of opportunity to grow their career but they also want work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Example to watch out for: If you're new to recruiting, the wrong managing partner may influence you to assume the risk of working on bad job orders(in 9 reviews)

  • "work life balance could be better(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A Very Different Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture here is amazing! Everyone is so supportive of each other which is refreshing to see compared to other companies where people just want to tear the other person down or not work collaboratively. Lucas Group has a very thorough training program that is very insightful on how to become the best in the industry. Everyone is more than willing to help you if you have a question about anything. The ability...

    Show More

    Cons

    The health insurance is rather lacking as far as how good it is. It is more expensive that any other employer I've ever had and the coverage is so-so. The only other con I can think of is that non-recruiters are not allowed the same unlimited vacation policy and only get 2 weeks of PTO that has to accrue first.

    Advice to Management

    For younger people in the company, it would be great if you offered a student loan repayment assistance program of some sort.

    Lucas Group2019-03-20

    Lucas Group Response

    March 21, 2019Manager

    Thank you for your enthusiastic review of Lucas Group and feedback! We work hard to promote both a collegial and successful work environment. It is great to see it reflected in our employees. We are happy to hear your employment here has exceeded your expectations.

  2. "This company gets it right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance, great culture very collaborative and helpful. This is a sales driven business and the bottom line is important BUT they also believe in creating the right culture and atmosphere that makes you want to work harder. Harvard should do a case study on this company, they have it figured out. Female CEO and Female CFO, now that is cool

    Cons

    My commute - but that's not the company's fault. Honestly, can't think of any other cons.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep up the great work, you are doing all the right things.

    Lucas Group2019-05-31

    Lucas Group Response

    June 3, 2019Manager

    Thanks for the feedback! Creating the best atmosphere and culture for success is so important to us, and we are glad your experience has been great!

  3. "Stick to the fundamentals and you'll do great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Partner in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time

    Pros

    Commission structure is strong at higher promotion levels. With strong billing, you won't be managed very closely.

    Cons

    You'll have to work your local market only and might have to declare an area of specialization within your niche and stick to it.

    Advice to Management

    Monitor Managing Partners. There are some disasters.

    Lucas Group2019-06-17
  4. "Troubled Times..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time

    Pros

    The people, good commission structure, overall culture among employees.

    Cons

    No across the company standard for employees. If you’re a part of the “cool kids” rules do not apply to you. It’s all about fraternizing with colleagues at company functions and management partakes in this as well. I’ve seen some pretty embarrassing behavior from people that like to call themselves “upper management,”

    Advice to Management

    Hold every single employee to the same time expectations, not just the ones you like. Ensure the people leading your organization set a good example.

    Lucas Group2019-06-06

    Lucas Group Response

    June 7, 2019Manager

    We are glad that you had a positive experience overall with the people and culture here at Lucas Group, and are sorry to hear of your other concerns. We pride ourselves in ensuring the leadership of our company promotes both successful and equal standards for all employees while ...

    Show More
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well organised and compassionate leadership, good commission scheme,

    Cons

    As a sales environment you must hot targets but not a bad thing

    Lucas Group2019-05-21

    Lucas Group Response

    May 28, 2019Manager

    We are pleased to hear about your positive experience working at Lucas Group - thank you for sharing your feedback!

  6. "This is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment and culture are very friendly and make it very easy to succeed.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons. If there are any issues all you have to do is speak up and everyone is willing to work with you.

    Lucas Group2019-05-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Lucas Group Military Senior Partners: Cutthroats with their junior talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time

    Pros

    1) Partying was awesome. Like "Wolf Of Wall Street" at the Dallas end-of-year meeting... total debauchery and hooking-up. 2) The office was friendly and an exciting bunch on a daily basis. No dull moments. 3) If you are single, there are PLENTY of the opposite sex to party with... and good looking too! 4) Better shape up your drinking game to work here. You will not succeed if you don't party and get to know...

    Show More

    Cons

    1) Honestly, the military division (not as much the civilian volume recruiting verticles, since they are still profitable) is in sad shape business-wise. Lucas Military provides only a job to candidates and offers no ability to help educate JMOs/NCOs on getting meaningful career fields for people that have never been in the real world. Their candidate jobs are mediocre, at best, because with huge volume comes lack of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Stop killing-off your up and coming talent pool. Honestly, I think the company doesn't care if the military division is 5 people or 30+ people strong... they want people to attrit in order to stay profitable against the other LG civilian verticles (A&F, IT, Sales, etc) that are slowly growing in profitability. 2) Civilians with career experience know what they want in a job, so volume recruiting is helpful...

    Show More
    Lucas Group2019-06-14
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucas Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no micromanagement, unlimited PTO, decent initial training program

    Cons

    terrible environment/culture, sub par management

    Lucas Group2019-05-14

    Lucas Group Response

    May 28, 2019Manager

    We are glad the training and benefits were a good experience for you. If there is any additional feedback you would like to share regarding your negative experiences, please send it to help@lucasgroup.com so we can look into any issue and address as needed.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucas Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong culture of mentor-ship, transparent about how to achieve success and what it takes to reach your goals. Unlimited vacation and flexible work schedule (however expectation is 8:30am-5pm at min)

    Cons

    Takes least 1-1.5 years to build book of business

    Lucas Group2019-04-18

    Lucas Group Response

    May 28, 2019Manager

    We are pleased to hear that your experience at Lucas Group is going well. We are always striving to build out our mentorship programs and best in class training opportunities. If you have any additional suggestions, we would love to hear them at help@lucasgroup.com!

  10. "Overall a place to do well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Executive Recruiter 

      I worked at Lucas Group full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity to do well. Friendly environment

      Cons

      Micro Managed from management not in the location

      Lucas Group2019-05-02
    Found 235 reviews